Air transportation safety investigation report A18W0111

View document in PDF [508 KB]

Collision with obstacle on takeoff
Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II, C-GVZJ
Black Diamond, Alberta

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability. This report is not created for use in the context of legal, disciplinary or other proceedings. See Ownership and use of content.

History of the flight

At approximately 1300Footnote 1 on , the Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II aircraft (registration C-GVZJ, serial number 28-8316092) departed from Claresholm Industrial Airport (CEJ4), Alberta, on a visual flight rules flight with 2 people on board, both of whom were licensed pilots. The aircraft was bound for a mixed-hay field approximately 2 nautical miles (nm) east of Black Diamond, Alberta. At approximately 1330, the aircraft landed along the southern edge of the hay field, which was normally used as the landing area.Footnote 2 The aircraft occupants proceeded to work in the field for the rest of the afternoon. At 1900, they prepared to depart for the return trip to Claresholm. At approximately 1915, the take-off run was conducted heading east, beginning from the southwest corner of the field (Figure 1).

Figure 1. View of hay field and landing area (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
View of hay field and landing area (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

The aircraft failed to climb sufficiently to clear some hay bales that had been stacked in the southeast corner of the field, and struck them. The left-wing fuel tank ruptured on impact, and the resulting post-impact fire destroyed the aircraft (Figure 2).

Figure 2. Accident site, looking west
Accident site, looking west

The investigation determined that neither occupant was wearing the available shoulder harness; however, both occupants were wearing their lap belts. Both occupants received head injuries. One managed to escape the aircraft, but the other did not and was fatally injured. No emergency locator transmitter (ELT) signal was detected, and the ELT was destroyed in the post-impact fire.

Personnel information

The investigation was unable to determine who was acting as pilot-in-command on the occurrence flight; however, both occupants were licensed pilots and had acted as pilot-in-command on previous flights.

Records indicate that, at the time of the occurrence, one of the occupants was not certified to act as pilot-in-command of an aircraft in accordance with existing regulations. His private pilot licence was invalid because his Category 3 medical certificate had expired. Based on a review of that occupant's work and rest schedule, fatigue was not considered a factor.

The other occupant held a valid private pilot licence, with a current Category 3 medical certificate. The investigation was unable to determine whether fatigue was a factor for him.

Aircraft information

The Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II is a low-wing, all-aluminum, single-engine, fixed landing gear, 4-seat aircraft. It is powered by a 160 hp Lycoming O-320-D3G direct-drive reciprocating engine and a fixed-pitch aluminum propeller. The occurrence aircraft was manufactured in 1983. At the last annual inspection (May 2018), it was reported as having accumulated 8421.5 hours total time airframe. The engine had 250.1 hours time since overhaul. Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The aircraft was registered to the current owner in February 2014 and had been used for both recreational and business purposes by the registered owner and his family.

The aircraft was being operated within its weight-and-balance and centre-of-gravity limits.

Weather information

There is no aviation weather information specific to the accident location. The closest airport is the Calgary International Airport (CYYC), Alberta, which is approximately 27 nm northeast. The aviation routine weather report (METAR) at the time of the occurrence for CYYC was as follows:

  • winds: 140° true (T), varying from 020°T to 170°T, at 3 knots
  • visibility: 10 statute miles
  • clouds: few at 21 000 feet
  • temperature: 27 °C
  • dew point: 4 °C

An Environment and Climate Change Canada weather reporting station is located in Black Diamond. The temperature reported there at the time of the occurrence was 23 °C. Density altitude at the location and time of the occurrence was then calculated at 5285 feet above sea level (ASL). Weather was not considered a factor in this occurrence.

Aircraft performance

The aircraft's journey logbook was in the aircraft at the time of the occurrence and was destroyed in the post-impact fire; therefore, a precise empty weight for the aircraft was not available to the investigation. However, an approximate take-off weight for the aircraft was calculated to be 2059 pounds and, based on the performance charts published in the Warrior II PA-28-161 Pilot's Operating Handbook (POH),Footnote 3 ground roll distance calculations were completed (Table 1). The calculations were made using a take-off weight of 2050 pounds, an outside air temperature of 23 °C, and a headwind component of 3 knots, on a paved, level, dry runway. The POH states in part, “Effects of conditions not considered on the charts must be evaluated by the pilot, such as the effect of soft or grass runway surface on takeoff and landing performance [...]”.Footnote 4

Table 1. Ground roll distance calculations for the occurrence aircraft
Flaps Ground roll (feet) Lift-off speed (knots indicated airspeed)
1350 47
25° 1200 47

In section 4 of the aircraft's POH, the soft field, obstacle clearance take-off procedure states the following:

Flaps……………………………………………………………………………………………………….25° (second notch)

Accelerate and lift off nose gear as soon as possible. Lift off at lowest possible airspeed. Accelerate just above ground to 52 KIAS [knots indicated airspeed] to climb past obstacle height. Continue climbing while accelerating to best rate of climb speed, 79 KIAS.

Flaps……………………………………………………………………………………………….………retract slowlyFootnote 5

The occurrence pilots typically selected the flaps in the first notch (10°) on takeoff, because they felt it helped the aircraft get out of the grass more easily. The target airspeed for rotation was 55 KIAS. There is no procedure or performance chart in the aircraft's POH for flaps placed in the first notch. No performance calculations had been completed before takeoff.

Accident location

The accident occurred in the southeast corner of a mixed-hay field located approximately 2 nm east of the town of Black Diamond. The rectangular field—approximately 2350 feet long and 1440 feet wide—is at an elevation of approximately 3820 feet ASL. The long side of the field is oriented in a north-south direction. The southern edge of the field was used as the landing area, and the elevation there varied between 3801 feet ASL and 3807 feet ASL (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Elevation variations on the landing area (Source: Google Earth)
Elevation variations on the landing area (Source: Google Earth)

The portion of the field being used as the landing area was not a prepared surface; however, at the time of the occurrence, the field had been cut and the remaining hay was approximately 3 to 4 inches high. A field-boundary fence (wood posts and wire) ran the width of the southern edge of the field, and a windsock had been installed at the approximate mid-field position. The available length for takeoff or landing was approximately 1320 feet in an east–west direction.

The aircraft had been flown into and out of this particular field for approximately 2 years. Due to the location and nature of the field, no radar, communications, or air traffic control services were available.

As there had been strong winds in the area, 4 hay balesFootnote 6 had been stacked, 2 wide by 2 high, in the southeast corner of the field to protect the aircraft from being damaged by the winds while it was parked. The bales had been in position for approximately 7 to 10 days and the pilots had flown into and out of the field with the hay bales in position approximately 5 times. Because the aircraft's journey logbook was destroyed in the post-impact fire, the precise number and dates of previous flights could not be definitively determined.

Aircraft examination

The aircraft was examined at the accident site. The left-wing fuel tank was found ruptured. The right-wing fuel tank was found intact and still containing approximately 10 U.S. gallons of avgas. The flap handle was found in the flaps-retracted position. Because the aircraft had been almost completely destroyed by the crash and post-impact fire, it could not be determined whether any pre-impact failure or system malfunction contributed to this accident. The aircraft systems were examined to the degree possible, and no indication of a malfunction was found.

The engine was transported to the TSB regional facility in Edmonton, Alberta, for examination. No anomalies were found that would have inhibited the engine from being able to produce full power. As a result of the post-impact fire, some components were destroyed and could not be tested or verified. A review of the aircraft's historical maintenance records was completed. No discrepancies were noted that could have contributed to the accident.

Safety messages

Operating recommendations issued by the aircraft manufacturer ensure that optimum aircraft performance is achieved and that the aircraft is operated within acceptable safety margins.

Aircraft performance calculations should be completed before flight to ensure that the actual or anticipated aircraft performance is at the level expected by the flight crew.

Shoulder harnesses are an important part of the safety equipment installed in the aircraft that, when worn, can reduce the risk of injury or death in an accident.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on . It was officially released on .

Date de modification :

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18W0111

À propos de l'enquête

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

 Voir le document en PDF [235 KB]

Collision avec un obstacle au décollage
Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II (C-GVZJ)
Black Diamond (Alberta)

This report is also available in English.

Déroulement du vol

Vers 13 hNote de bas de page 1 le 29 juillet 2018, l'aéronef Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II (immatriculation C-GVZJ, numéro de série 28-8316092) a quitté l'aéroport industriel de Claresholm (CEJ4) (Alberta) pour effectuer un vol selon les règles de vol à vue avec 2 personnes à bord. Les 2 étaient des pilotes brevetés. L'aéronef se dirigeait vers un champ de foin mélangé situé à quelque 2 milles marins (nm) à l'est de Black Diamond (Alberta). Vers 13 h 30, l'aéronef a atterri le long du côté sud du champ, qui servait normalement de zone d'atterrissageNote de bas de page 2. Les occupants de l'aéronef ont passé le reste de l'après-midi à travailler dans le champ. À 19 h, ils se sont préparés à partir pour rentrer à Claresholm. Vers 19 h 15, le la course au décollage a été effectuée en direction est, à partir du coin sud-ouest du champ (figure 1).

Figure 1. Vue du champ et de la zone d'atterrissage (Source : Google Earth avec annotations du BST)
Vue du champ et de la zone d'atterrissage (Source : Google Earth avec annotations du BST)

L'aéronef n'a pas réussi à monter suffisamment pour franchir des balles de foin empilées dans le coin sud-est du champ, et les a percutées. Le réservoir de carburant de l'aile gauche a été perforé au moment de l'impact, et l'incendie qui a suivi a détruit l'aéronef (figure 2).

Figure 2. Lieu de l'accident en direction ouest
Lieu de l'accident en direction ouest

L'enquête a permis de déterminer qu'aucun occupant ne portait la ceinture-baudrier installée à bord; par contre, les 2 occupants portaient la ceinture abdominale. Les 2 occupants ont subi des blessures à la tête. L'un d'eux a réussi à évacuer l'épave, mais le second non, et a été mortellement blessé. Aucun signal de radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) n'a été détecté, et l'incendie après impact a détruit l'ELT à bord.

Renseignements sur le personnel

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer lequel des 2 occupants était le commandant de bord durant le vol à l'étude. Toutefois, les 2 occupants étaient des pilotes brevetés et avaient assumé le rôle de commandant de bord durant des vols précédents.

Les dossiers indiquent qu'au moment de l'événement, l'un des occupants n'avait pas les qualifications requises pour piloter à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef selon la réglementation en vigueur. Sa licence de pilote privé n'était pas valide parce que son certificat médical de catégorie 3 était expiré. L'examen de son horaire de travail et de repos a permis d'écarter la fatigue comme facteur.

L'autre occupant était titulaire d'une licence de pilote privé valide et d'un certificat médical de catégorie 3 en règle. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si la fatigue était un facteur dans le cas de ce dernier.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Le Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II est un monomoteur à aile basse et à train d'atterrissage fixe, entièrement fait d'aluminium, qui compte 4 places. Il est propulsé par un moteur à pistons à entraînement direct de 160 HP Lycoming O-320-D3G, muni d'une hélice à pas fixe en aluminium. L'aéronef à l'étude a été construit en 1983. Lors de sa dernière inspection annuelle (mai 2018), on a noté qu'il avait accumulé un total de 8421,5 heures de vol cellule. Le moteur comptait 250,1 heures de vol depuis sa dernière révision. Les dossiers indiquent que l'aéronef était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément aux règlements en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. L'aéronef avait été immatriculé au nom de son propriétaire actuel en février 2014, et le propriétaire enregistré et sa famille s'en servaient à des fins récréatives et commerciales.

L'aéronef était exploité en deçà des limites de masse et de centrage et de centre de gravité.

Renseignements météorologiques

Il n'y avait pas de renseignements météorologiques pour l'aviation propres aux lieux de l'accident. L'aéroport le plus proche est l'aéroport international de Calgary (CYYC) (Alberta), situé à quelque 27 nm au nord-est. Le message d'observation météorologique régulière pour l'aviation (METAR) en vigueur pour CYYC au moment de l'événement faisait état des conditions suivantes :

  • vents : 140° vrai (V), variables de 20 °V à 170 °V, soufflant à 3 nœuds;
  • visibilité : 10 milles terrestres;
  • nuages : clairsemés à 21 000 pieds;
  • température : 27 °C;
  • point de rosée : 4 °C.

Il y a une station de compte rendu météorologique d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada à Black Diamond. À cet endroit, au moment de l'événement, la température enregistrée était de 23 °C, et l'altitude-densité était de 5285 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). Les conditions météorologiques n'ont pas été considérées comme un facteur contributif à l'événement à l'étude.

Performance de l'aéronef

Le carnet de route d'aéronef se trouvait à bord au moment de l'événement et a été détruit par l'incendie après impact; par conséquent, les enquêteurs n'ont pu déterminer précisément la masse à vide de l'aéronef. Toutefois, on a pu déterminer que la masse au décollage approximative de l'aéronef était de 2059 livres et calculer la distance de la course au sol (tableau 1) à partir des données de performance publiées dans le Warrior II PA-28-161 Pilot's Operating Handbook (POH, ou manuel d'utilisation aéronefNote de bas de page 3). Les données utilisées dans ces calculs ont été les suivantes : une masse au décollage de 2050 livres, une température extérieure de 23 °C et une composante de vent de face de 3 nœuds, sur une piste asphaltée, plane et sèche. Le manuel d'utilisation aéronef stipule notamment que [traduction] : « Les effets de conditions non prises en considération sur les graphiques, tels que celui d'une surface de piste meuble ou en herbe sur les performances de décollage et d'atterrissage, doivent être évalués par le piloteNote de bas de page 4 ».

Tableau 1. Calculs de la course au sol pour l'aéronef à l'étude
Volets Course au sol (en pieds) Vitesse de décollage (vitesse indiquée en nœuds)
1350 47
25° 1200 47

Dans la section 4 du manuel d'utilisation aéronef, la procédure de décollage sur terrain meuble avec franchissement d'obstacle énonce ce qui suit [traduction] :

Volets……………………………………………………………………………………………………… 25° (deuxième cran)

Laisser l'avion accélérer et décoller la roue avant aussitôt que possible, puis décoller à la vitesse la plus faible possible. Accélérer juste au-dessus du sol jusqu'à 52 KIAS [vitesse indiquée en nœuds] afin de monter à l'altitude de franchissement de l'obstacle. Poursuivre la montée tout en accélérant jusqu'à la vitesse de taux de montée optimal de 79 KIAS.

Volets……………………………………………………………………………………………………… Rentrer lentementNote de bas de page 5

Les pilotes en cause dans l'événement sélectionnaient habituellement les volets au premier cran (10°) au décollage, parce qu'ils estimaient que cela aidait l'aéronef à décoller plus facilement sur une surface gazonnée. La vitesse anémométrique ciblée pour le cabrage était de 55 KIAS. Le manuel d'utilisation aéronef ne contient aucune procédure ni aucun graphique de performance pour les volets réglés au premier cran. Aucun calcul de performance n'a été réalisé avant le décollage.

Lieu de l'accident

L'accident s'est produit dans le coin sud-est d'un champ de foin mélangé situé à quelque 2 nm à l'est du village de Black Diamond. Le champ rectangulaire est d'une longueur d'environ 2350 pieds et d'une largeur d'environ 1440 pieds, et son altitude est d'environ 3820 pieds asl. Le côté long du champ est orienté dans l'axe nord-sud. Le côté sud du champ servait de zone d'atterrissage, et l'altitude de ce côté varie de 3801 pieds asl à 3807 pieds asl (figure 3).

Figure 3. Variations d'altitude dans la zone d'atterrissage (Source : Google Earth)
Variations d'altitude dans la zone d'atterrissage (Source :  Google Earth)

La surface de la partie du champ qui servait de zone d'atterrissage n'était pas aménagée; toutefois, au moment de l'événement, le champ avait été fauché, et le foin qui restait mesurait de 3 à 4 pouces de hauteur. Une clôture délimitant les limites de l'aérodrome (poteaux en bois et fil de fer) longeait le côté sud du champ, et on avait installé un indicateur de direction du vent environ au centre du champ. La distance disponible pour décoller et atterrir était d'environ 1320 pieds, dans l'axe est-ouest.

Le propriétaire de l'aéronef à l'étude effectuait des vols à destination et en provenance de ce champ depuis environ 2 ans. Étant donné l'emplacement et la nature du champ, aucun service de radar, de communications ou de contrôle de la circulation aérienne n'était disponible.

De forts vents avaient balayé la région; on avait donc empilé 4 balles de foinNote de bas de page 6, 2 de large et 2 de haut, dans le coin sud-est du champ pour protéger l'aéronef contre tout dommage causé par les vents pendant qu'il était au sol. On avait installé ces balles environ 7 à 10 jours plus tôt, et les pilotes avaient effectué des vols à destination et en provenance de ce champ, les balles de foin en place, à environ 5 reprises. Comme l'incendie après impact a détruit le carnet de route d'aéronef, on n'a pu déterminer avec certitude le nombre précis de vols précédents et leurs dates.

Examen de l'aéronef

On a examiné l'aéronef sur les lieux de l'accident. On a constaté que le réservoir de carburant de l'aile gauche avait été perforé. Le réservoir de carburant de l'aile droite a été retrouvé intact, et il contenait toujours environ 10 gallons américains d'essence d'aviation. On a retrouvé le levier volets en position volets rentrés. Comme l'écrasement et l'incendie après impact ont presque entièrement détruit l'aéronef, on n'a pu déterminer si une défaillance avant impact ou le mauvais fonctionnement d'un système a contribué à cet accident. Les systèmes de bord ont été examinés dans la mesure du possible, et aucun signe de défectuosité n'a été découvert.

Le moteur a été transporté à une installation régionale du BST à Edmonton (Alberta) aux fins d'examen. Aucune anomalie qui aurait pu empêcher le moteur de produire sa pleine puissance n'a été constatée. L'incendie après impact a détruit certains composants, qui n'ont pas pu être mis à l'essai ni vérifiés. On a examiné l'historique des dossiers de maintenance de l'aéronef, et on n'a relevé aucun écart qui aurait pu contribuer à l'accident.

Messages de sécurité

Les recommandations d'exploitation émises par les avionneurs visent à assurer la performance optimale des aéronefs ainsi que l'exploitation de ceux-ci en deçà des marges de sécurité acceptables.

On doit effectuer les calculs de performance de l'aéronef avant le vol pour s'assurer que la performance réelle ou prévue de l'aéronef correspond aux attentes de l'équipage de conduite.

Les ceintures-baudriers sont un élément important de l'équipement de sécurité installé à bord d'un aéronef : en les portant, on peut réduire les risques de blessure ou de mort en cas d'accident.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 12 décembre 2018. Il a été officiellement publié le 4 janvier 2019.

Date de modification :