Aviation Investigation Report A18W0081

About the investigation

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Error processing SSI file

Baggage compartment fire
WestJet
Boeing 737-700, C-GWJT
Calgary, Alberta

This report is also available in English.

History of the flight

The Boeing 737-700 (registration C-GWJT, serial number 40338), operated by WestJet as flight 113 (WJA113), was on a day instrument flight rules flight from Calgary International Airport (CYYC), Alberta, to Vancouver International Airport (CYVR), British Columbia, with 2 flight crew members, 3 cabin crew members, and 53 passengers on board. The aircraft departed from Runway 35L at CYYC at approximately 0639.Footnote 1 The captain was the pilot flying, and the first officer was the pilot monitoring.

While the aircraft was climbing through 9000 feet above sea level, at 0641:10, a lower aft cargo fire warning light illuminated. The flight crew immediately followed the CARGO FIRE procedures published in the company's 737NG Quick Reference Handbook (QRH). The CARGO FIRE DISCH switch was activated, and 1 cargo fire extinguishing bottle was discharged.

At 0646, the flight crew declared a MAYDAY emergency and initiated a return to CYYC. Ten minutes later, the aircraft landed on Runway 35R at CYYC and exited onto Taxiway Delta. After clearing the active runway, the aircraft stopped on the taxiway and was inspected by airport rescue and firefighting (ARFF) services. No visual signs of fire were noted, and no hot spots were detected by infrared camera imaging.

In accordance with the QRH, the flight crew informed ground personnel not to open any cargo doors until all passengers and crew had exited the aircraft.Footnote 2 The aircraft was cleared to taxi back to the gate, where the passengers and crew were deplaned. After all passengers were off the aircraft, ARFF and WestJet ground handling personnel opened the lower aft baggage compartment.

One passenger bag, found face-down near the cargo compartment door opening, showed signs of fire damage (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Passenger bag showing fire damage

Cargo hold damage

The fire damage was isolated to the individual bag. Minor thermal damage was found to the cargo compartment's fire-resistant liner near the bag. The fire did not penetrate the cargo liner or aluminum floor structure and was contained to an area of approximately 24 inches by 24 inches (Figure 2). There was no additional damage to any of the surrounding bags. The burnt bag was offloaded and segregated, and then all other passenger baggage were offloaded.

Figure 2. Fire damage to lower aft cargo compartment

Cockpit voice recorder and flight data recorder

As per regulations, the aircraft was equipped with a cockpit voice recorder and a flight data recorder, which were removed and sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario. The data indicated that, other than the lower aft cargo fire warning, the crew did not receive any additional warnings or alarms. The crew's actions were carried out in accordance with the QRH and company standard operating procedures.

Aircraft information

Records indicate that the aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. The Boeing 737-700 (also referred to as 737-7CT) was manufactured by Boeing Commercial Airplanes in 2011. It is a twin-engine, medium-range, turbofan airliner with 140 passenger seats and a cruise speed of about 430 knots.

Passenger bag

The passenger whose bag caught fire flew frequently for business purposes and was aware of WestJet's policies with respect to restricted items in checked baggage. The passenger packed his bag, a tactical-style nylon backpack, on the evening of 13 June 2018 and inadvertently packed 2 spare lithium-ion batteries for his e-cigarette,Footnote 3 in the charger, in the front pocket of the bag. The pocket also contained a dry herb vaporizer, a portable speaker, and USB cables.

On the morning of 14 June 2018, the passenger arrived at the airport and checked his bag in. He took his e-cigarette and 2 other lithium-ion batteries into the passenger cabin, as required by WestJet's policy on e-cigarettes.Footnote 4,Footnote 5

The checked bag proceeded through the passenger baggage security screening and was loaded into the aircraft's lower aft baggage compartment, while still containing the 2 spare lithium-ion batteries.

Restricted items

Air carriers in Canada are responsible for complying with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDGR) with respect to checked baggage. In February 2016, Transport Canada issued a Transportation of Dangerous Goods Safety AdvisoryFootnote 6 alerting air operators, passengers and crew of the safety risks associated with e-cigarettes and recommended that e-cigarettes, including any associated lithium-ion batteries, only be carried in the cabin.

The information on WestJet's website relating to restricted items states that e-cigarettes, including associated lithium-ion batteries, “Must be carried in carry-on baggage only,”Footnote 7 and operator approval is required. The website details the restrictions as follows:

E-Cigarettes.

  • E-Cigarettes are permitted in carry-on baggage but not for use on board the aircraft due to the high temperatures they generate.
  • Batteries must be removed to eliminate the risk of unintentional activation and individually protected so as to prevent short circuits.Footnote 8

To protect batteries, exposed terminals can be taped over, each individual battery can be in a protective pouch or separate plastic bag, or batteries can be in their original retail packaging.

Checked-baggage screening

All passenger baggage is subject to security screening, which is conducted by the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA). However, this screening is designed to detect explosive materials that are a threat to aviation safety rather than batteries and other dangerous goods.

CATSA's checked-baggage screening machines do not automatically detect dangerous goods; however, if possible dangerous goods are discovered during the screening process, CATSA will perform additional checks and follow up with air carriers. For example, if CATSA screening officers are presented with an X-ray image of a container that could contain dangerous goods, they are required to send the bag for a physical search. If a dangerous good is discovered during the search, CATSA requires the screening officers to inform an air carrier representative, who will determine if the goods can be transported on the aircraft.

Lithium-ion battery

The proliferation of lithium-ion batteries in personal electronic devices has resulted in an increase in aviation cargo and passenger baggage events involving smoke, fire, extreme heat, or explosion. As at 02 May 2018, the United States Federal Aviation Administration has recorded 206 air/airport incidents involving lithium-ion batteries carried as cargo or baggage since 20 March 1991.Footnote 9

The TSB Engineering Laboratory conducted an analysis of the lithium batteries and electrical components contained in the passenger baggage.Footnote 10

The engineering report concluded that 1 battery in the charger experienced a thermal runaway and the interior material of the battery was completely burnt out. The thermal runaway was likely caused by external damage. The investigation could not determine if the damage occurred before the battery arrived at the airport or during baggage handling.

Safety messages

Lithium-ion batteries are subject to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations. Transport Canada's safety advisory on the transportation of electronic cigarettes on aircraft exists to prevent the transportation of lithium-ion batteries in checked baggage, which can pose a hazard to the safety of aircraft.

In this occurrence, even though the passenger was aware of the restrictions on lithium-ion batteries, the checked baggage was not identified as containing dangerous goods before being loaded into the cargo hold. When this type of responsibility is shared among passengers, air carriers, and security screening authorities, no one agency or individual is in a position to ensure that the contents of baggage comply with an air carrier's requirements related to restricted items.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on 28 December 2018. It was officially released on 18 January 2019.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

All times are Mountain Daylight Time (Coordinated Universal Time minus 6 hours).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

WestJet, 737NG Flight Operations Manual: 737NG Quick Reference Handbook, Revision 3 (31 August 2017), p. 8.11.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

E-cigarettes comprise a lithium-ion battery, an electronic cigarette cartridge, and an atomizer.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

WestJet, “Guest Information About Baggage and Carry-on: Heat Producing Items,” at http://www.channelgroup.org/wjpassengers/ (last accessed on 15 January 2019).

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

WestJet's policy on e-cigarettes complies with Transport Canada's Transportation of Dangerous Goods Safety Advisory: Fire Risk of Electronic Cigarettes in Checked Baggage on Board an Aircraft (February 2016), at https://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/tdg/publications-alerts-menu-1223.html (last accessed on 15 January 2019).

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Transport Canada, Transportation of Dangerous Goods Safety Advisory: Fire Risk of Electronic Cigarettes in Checked Baggage on Board an Aircraft (February 2016).

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Ibid.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

WestJet, “Guest Information About Baggage and Carry-on: Heat Producing Items,” at http://www.channelgroup.org/wjpassengers/ (last accessed on 15 January 2019).

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Federal Aviation Administration, Office of Security and Hazardous Materials Safety, Lithium Batteries & Lithium Battery-Powered Devices (February 2018).

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

TSB Laboratory Report LP152/2018 – Baggage and Electrical Components Analysis.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18W0081

À propos de l'enquête

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

 Voir le document en PDF [235 KB]

Incendie de soute à bagages
WestJet
Boeing 737-700 (C-GWJT)
Calgary (Alberta)

This report is also available in English.

Déroulement du vol

Le Boeing 737-700 (immatriculation C-GWJT, numéro de série 40338), exploité par WestJet, effectuait le vol 113 (WJA113) de jour en régime de vol aux instruments de l'aéroport international de Calgary (CYYC, Alberta) à l'aéroport international de Vancouver (CYVR, Colombie-Britannique). Il avait à son bord 2 membres d'équipage de conduite, 3 membres d'équipage de cabine et 53 passagers. L'aéronef a décollé de la piste 35L à CYYC vers 6 h 39Note de bas de page 1. Le commandant de bord était le pilote aux commandes, et le premier officier était le pilote surveillant.

Tandis que l'aéronef franchissait en montée 9000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer, un voyant d'alarme d'incendie dans la soute inférieure arrière s'est allumé à 6 h 41 min 10 s. L'équipage de conduite a aussitôt exécuté la procédure « CARGO FIRE » [incendie de soute] publiée dans le manuel de référence rapide (QRH) 737NG Quick Reference Handbook de la compagnie. L'équipage de conduite a actionné l'interrupteur « CARGO FIRE DISCH » [extincteur incendie de soute], ce qui a déclenché la décharge de 1 extincteur.

À 6 h 46, l'équipage de conduite a déclaré une situation d'urgence (MAYDAY) et a entrepris de retourner à CYYC. Dix minutes plus tard, l'aéronef s'est posé sur la piste 35R à CYYC et a quitté celle-ci par la voie de circulation Delta. Après qu'il eut dégagé la piste en service, l'aéronef s'est immobilisé sur la voie de circulation, où les services de sauvetage et lutte contre les incendies d'aéronefs (SLIA) l'ont inspecté. On n'a relevé aucune indication visuelle d'incendie et un examen à la caméra infrarouge n'a détecté aucun point chaud.

Conformément au QRH, l'équipage de conduite a indiqué au personnel au sol de n'ouvrir aucune porte de soute tant que tous les passagers et membres d'équipage n'étaient pas descendus de l'aéronefNote de bas de page 2. L'aéronef a été autorisé à circuler jusqu'à la porte d'embarquement et les passagers et l'équipage ont quitté l'aéronef. Une fois tous les passagers débarqués, les SLIA et le personnel de manutention au sol de WestJet ont ouvert la soute inférieure arrière.

Un bagage, retrouvé face à plat au sol près de la porte de soute, était visiblement endommagé par le feu (figure 1).

Figure 1. Bagage endommagé par les flammes
Bagage endommagé par les flammes

Avaries à la soute

Les dommages causés par les flammes se sont limités à ce bagage. La doublure ignifuge de la soute, située près du bagage en cause, avait subi des dommages thermiques mineurs. L'incendie n'a pénétré ni la doublure de la soute ni la structure du plancher en aluminium; il a été limité à une surface d'environ 24 pouces carrés (figure 2). Aucun bagage à proximité n'a été endommagé. On a retiré et mis à l'écart le bagage en cause avant de décharger tous les autres bagages.

Figure 2. Dommages causés par les flammes dans la soute inférieure arrière
Dommages causés par les flammes dans la soute inférieure arrièr

Enregistreur de conversations de poste de pilotage et enregistreur de données de vol

Comme l'exige la réglementation, l'aéronef était muni d'un enregistreur de conversations de poste de pilotage et d'un enregistreur de données de vol. Ces 2 appareils ont été retirés de l'aéronef et envoyés au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST à Ottawa (Ontario). D'après les données récupérées, outre l'avertissement d'incendie de la soute inférieure arrière, l'équipage de conduite n'a reçu aucun autre avertissement et aucune autre alarme. L'équipage a réagi conformément au QRH et aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées de la compagnie.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

Les dossiers indiquent que l'aéronef était homologué, équipé et entretenu conformément à la réglementation en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Le Boeing 737-700 (également appelé 737-7CT) a été construit par Boeing Commercial Airplanes en 2011. Il s'agit d'un aéronef de ligne moyen-courrier propulsé par 2 turboréacteurs à double flux, capable de transporter 140 passagers à une vitesse de croisière d'environ 430 nœuds.

Bagage de passager

Le passager dont le bagage a pris feu se déplaçait souvent par affaires et était au courant des politiques de WestJet sur les articles contrôlés dans les bagages enregistrés. Le passager a fait son bagage, un sac à dos en nylon de style tactique, durant la soirée du 13 juin 2018 en plaçant par inadvertance dans la poche avant, un chargeur avec 2 piles ion-lithium de rechange pour sa cigarette électroniqueNote de bas de page 3. Cette poche contenait également un vaporisateur pour herbes sèches, un haut-parleur portable et des câbles USB.

Le matin du 14 juin 2018, le passager s'est présenté à l'aéroport et a enregistré son bagage. Il a gardé sa cigarette électronique et 2 autres piles ion-lithium avec lui dans la cabine, comme l'exige la politique de WestJet sur les cigarettes électroniquesNote de bas de page 4,Note de bas de page 5.

Le bagage enregistré a passé le contrôle de sécurité des bagages avant d'être chargé dans la soute inférieure arrière de l'aéronef, avec les 2 piles ion-lithium de rechange toujours à l'intérieur.

Articles contrôlés

Il incombe aux transporteurs aériens au Canada de se conformer au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) en égard aux bagages enregistrés. En février 2016, Transports Canada a émis un Avis de sécurité sur le transport des marchandises dangereusesNote de bas de page 6 pour aviser les exploitants aériens, les passagers et les membres d'équipage, des risques de sécurité des cigarettes électroniques. Cet avis recommandait de transporter les cigarettes électroniques et leurs piles ion-lithium uniquement en cabine.

D'après l'information sur le site Web de WestJet relative aux articles contrôlés, les cigarettes électroniques, de même que les piles ion-lithium [traduction] « doivent être transportées dans les bagages de cabine seulementNote de bas de page 7 », et avec l'approbation du transporteur. Concernant ces restrictions, le site Web offre les précisions suivantes :

Cigarettes électroniques

  • Les cigarettes électroniques sont autorisées en bagage de cabine mais ne doivent pas être utilisées à bord à cause des hautes températures qu'elles dégagent.
  • Les piles doivent être enlevées afin de prévenir la mise en marche involontaire et doivent être protégées individuellement afin d'éviter les courts-circuitsNote de bas de page 8.

Pour protéger les piles, on peut couvrir leurs bornes de ruban adhésif, emballer chaque pile individuellement dans une pochette protectrice ou un sac de plastique, ou les conserver dans leur emballage original.

Contrôle des bagages enregistrés

L'Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien (ACSTA) soumet tous les bagages de passagers à un contrôle de sécurité. Toutefois, ce contrôle est conçu pour détecter les matières explosives, qui sont une menace pour la sécurité aérienne, plutôt que des piles et d'autres marchandises dangereuses.

Les machines de contrôle des bagages enregistrés de l'ACSTA ne détectent pas automatiquement les marchandises dangereuses; par contre, lorsque des marchandises potentiellement dangereuses sont détectées durant le contrôle, l'ACSTA procède à des vérifications additionnelles et fait un suivi auprès des transporteurs aériens. Par exemple, si des agents de contrôle de l'ACSTA voient une image radiologique d'un contenant qui pourrait contenir des marchandises dangereuses, ils sont tenus d'envoyer le bagage à la fouille manuelle. Si la fouille met au jour une marchandise dangereuse, il incombe aux agents de contrôle de l'ACSTA d'informer un représentant du transporteur aérien qui déterminera si la marchandise peut être transportée à bord de l'aéronef.

Pile ion-lithium

La prolifération des piles ion-lithium dans les appareils électroniques personnels a entraîné une hausse du nombre d'événements (fumée, feu, chaleur extrême ou explosion) compromettant le fret aérien et les bagages de passagers. Au 2 mai 2018, la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis a enregistré 206 incidents aériens et aéroportuaires mettant en cause des piles ion-lithium transportées en soute ou en cabine depuis le 20 mars 1991Note de bas de page 9.

Le Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST a analysé les piles au lithium et les composants électriques qui se trouvaient dans le bagage du passager en causeNote de bas de page 10.

Le rapport technique a permis de déterminer que 1 pile dans le chargeur avait subi un emballement thermique et que le matériel à l'intérieur de la pile était complètement consumé. Des dommages externes étaient probablement à l'origine de l'emballement thermique. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si les dommages se sont produits avant l'arrivée de la pile à l'aéroport ou durant la manutention du bagage.

Messages de sécurité

Les piles ion-lithium sont assujetties au Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses. L'avis de sécurité de Transports Canada sur le transport de cigarettes électroniques à bord d'aéronefs vise à prévenir le transport de piles ion-lithium dans les bagages enregistrés, ce qui peut poser un danger pour la sécurité de l'aéronef.

Dans l'événement à l'étude, même si le passager était au courant des restrictions sur les piles ion-lithium, on n'a pas identifié le bagage enregistré comme contenant des marchandises dangereuses avant qu'il ne soit chargé dans la soute. Quand les passagers, les transporteurs aériens et les administrations de contrôle de sécurité partagent ce type de responsabilité, aucune agence ou personne ne peut à elle seule s'assurer que le contenu des bagages respecte les exigences du transporteur aérien sur les articles contrôlés.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 28 décembre 2018. Il a été officiellement publié le 18 janvier 2019.

Date de modification :