Aviation Investigation Report A18P0108

About the investigation

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducted a limited-scope, fact-gathering investigation into this occurrence to advance transportation safety through greater awareness of potential safety issues. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Loss of control and collision with water
Fort Langley Air Ltd.
Cessna 180H, C-FCDQ
Tyaughton Lake, British Columbia

This report is also available in English.

View document in PDF

History of the flight

On 01 August 2018, following a local flight in the morning, the float-equipped Cessna 180H aircraft (registration C-FCDQ, serial number 18052166) (Figure 1) operated by Fort Langley Air Ltd. was refuelled. At approximately 1254,Footnote 1 the aircraft departed from Tyax Lodge on Tyaughton Lake, British Columbia, for a local sightseeing flight to take photographs, with 3 people on board. The pilot-in-command (the pilot) was seated in the front left seat, a passenger was seated in the front right seat, and another company pilot was seated in the rear left seat to provide local geographical knowledge.

Figure 1. Occurrence aircraft (Source: Ray Barber)
Occurrence aircraft

Shortly after takeoff, while the plane was climbing through approximately 300 feet, the other company pilot observed fuel leaking from the left wing and communicated that information to the pilot. The other company pilot reportedly told the pilot to turn around and return to land on the lake. Given the local terrain, the pilot reduced the airspeed and banked the aircraft steeply to the right, turning back toward the lake. The aircraft then abruptly rolled further to the right and struck the lake in a near-vertical attitude at approximately 1255 (Figure 2). The aircraft was substantially damaged on impact and sank.

Figure 2. The occurrence aircraft's flight path (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
The occurrence aircraft's flight path

The investigation was unable to determine whether the emergency locator transmitter activated; however, even if it had activated, it is unlikely that the signal would have been detected because the transmitter was immersed in water. A local resident on the shore called 911 and initiated the rescue operation. The company pilot in the rear seat and the passenger were fatally injured,Footnote 2 and the pilot-in-command sustained serious injuries.

The pilot-in-command and the passenger had been wearing the available lap belt and shoulder harness. The other company pilot had been wearing the available lap belt; no shoulder harness was available in the rear seat. Although personal flotation devices were available in the aircraft during the occurrence flight, none of the occupants were wearing them, nor were they required to by regulation. The aircraft was not equipped with exits that allowed for rapid egress, nor were such exits required by regulation.

Weather information

The Environment and Climate Change Canada weather observation station closest to Tyaughton Lake is located at Pemberton Airport (CYPS), British Columbia, 38 nautical miles to the south. The conditions recorded at 1300 were a temperature of 32.3 °C and a dew point of 14.1 °C.

A local report described the weather conditions at Tyaughton Lake at the time of the accident as clear skies, wind between 9 and 11 km/h from the south-southeast, temperature 24.8 °C, dew point 12.2 °C, and a pressure setting of 30.03 inHg.

The operating density altitude at Tyaughton Lake was calculated at 5250 feet above sea level, based on the temperature, dew point, and pressure setting.

Density altitude

An aircraft operating at a higher density altitude, as opposed to at sea level, travels at a higher true airspeed while maintaining the same indicated airspeed. A higher true airspeed increases the aircraft's turn radius. Therefore, the aircraft's true airspeed and turn radius are directly proportional to density altitude. In a level, coordinated turn, there would be about a 15% larger turn radius at a density altitude of 5250 feet above sea level, compared to a turn at sea level in standard-day conditions, when flown at the same indicated airspeed and bank angle.

Pilot information

Pilot-in-command

Records indicate that the pilot-in-command was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had received a seaplane rating on 22 April 2018, obtained a commercial pilot licence – aeroplane on 26 June 2018, and held a valid Category 1 medical certificate. The pilot had accumulated a total of 287.9 flight-time hours, including 98.4 hours on floatplanes. Of the total flight-time hours, 132.7 hours were as pilot-in-command, including 60.7 hours as pilot-in-command on the Cessna 180H.

Based on a review of the pilot's work–rest schedule, fatigue was not considered a factor in the accident.

The pilot had not received egress training, nor was it required by regulation.

The other company pilot

The other company pilot had obtained a commercial pilot licence – aeroplane on 26 May 2016 and received a seaplane rating on 29 January 2017. He had accumulated a total of approximately 800 flight-time hours, including an estimated 360 hours on floatplanes. He was hired by the company as a charter pilot and seaplane instructor on 01 May 2017. He had provided the pilot-in-command of the occurrence aircraft approximately 20 hours of instruction toward his seaplane rating.

Aircraft information

The Cessna 180H float-equipped aircraft has a maximum take-off weight of 1338 kg (2950 pounds). The occurrence aircraft was certified, equipped, and maintained in accordance with existing regulations and approved procedures. It had no known deficiencies and was being operated within its weight and balance and centre-of-gravity limits. The aircraft was not equipped with a flight data recorder, nor was it required to be by regulation.

Accident site and wreckage information

Tyaughton Lake is approximately 3300 feet above sea level. The aircraft struck the lake in a near-vertical attitude and came to rest inverted, in 10 to 15 feet of water about 50 feet from shore, with the floats partially above the water (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Accident site (Source: Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
Accident site

The majority of the wreckage was located near the fuselage. Both floats had severe damage to the tips and showed impact damage resulting from the contact with the water. All of the control surfaces were accounted for. An examination of the flap system indicated that the flaps were in the 20° position at the time of impact. All damage to the airframe was attributable to impact forces. The fuel selector was found to be set to both tanks, which contained sufficient fuel for the remainder of the flight. The left fuel cap had not been replaced after refuelling and was found hanging from its chain. Damage to the engine and propeller were consistent with a high power setting at the time of impact.

The aircraft's flight instruments were severely damaged. The global positioning system (GPS) and SPOT Satellite GPS Messenger were removed from the aircraft and sent to the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa, Ontario, for further examination. The GPS unit did not provide any usable flight profile data.

Accelerated stall

The airspeed at which a stall occurs is related to the load factor of the manoeuvre being performed. In straight and level flight, lift is equal to weight, and the load factor is 1g. However, in a banked level turn, greater lift is required. One way to achieve lift is by increasing the angle of attack (by pulling back on the elevator control), which increases the load factor. As the load factor increases with bank angle, there is a corresponding increase in the speed at which the stall occurs. As a result, steep turns are often accomplished with the addition of engine power to maintain or increase airspeed.

A stall that occurs as a result of a high load factor, such as bank angle greater than 30°, is called an accelerated stall. Accelerated stalls, which occur at higher airspeeds due to the increased load factor on the wing, are usually more severe than unaccelerated stalls and are often unexpected. For example, a stall from a 60° to 70° bank angle will result in rapid departure from controlled flight and a significant loss of altitude before recovery is possible.

The occurrence aircraft was equipped with a stall warning system, but no warning was heard during the flight. The functionality of the system could not be tested due to the damage to the aircraft.

The occurrence aircraft had a Horton STOL-CraftFootnote 3 kit installed, which included the following modifications to the aircraft: full Camber-Lift leading edges on both wings, stall fences on the top of the wings, droop wing tips, and aileron gap seals. Although Horton does not publish actual demonstrated stall speeds, the supplemental type certificate does indicate that the “stall speeds, takeoff performance and landing performance are equal to or better than the performance of the unmodified airplane.”Footnote 4 According to the manufacturer, when the Horton STOL kit is installed, “on average you can expect to get a 4-7 knot reduction in stall speeds.”Footnote 5

In this occurrence, after reportedly being told by the other company pilot to turn and land on the lake, the pilot-in-command began a tight turn, which resulted in a loss of control and the impact with the water.

TSB recommendations relating to seaplanes

The TSB has issued several recommendations with respect to seaplane operations to eliminate or reduce safety deficiencies that pose significant risks. The following sections provide highlights of some of those recommendations.

Recommendation on rapid egress exits

During the investigation into an accident involving a DHC-2 departing Lyall Harbour, British Columbia, in 2009,Footnote 6 the TSB recognized the importance of having exits available from which persons inside a sinking aircraft can escape, and recommended that

the Department of Transport require that all new and existing commercial seaplanes be fitted with regular and emergency exits that allow rapid egress following a survivable collision with water.
TSB Recommendation A11-05

In January 2017, Transport Canada (TC) responded to Recommendation A11-05 by indicating that, in 2006, it had conducted an evaluation of egress from submerged seaplanes, which included suggestions to enhance safety, but concluded that there was no readily identifiable design solution that would have a major impact on the existing level of floatplane safety. TC indicated that it would therefore focus on regulatory requirements for egress training and other enhancements on floatplane safety, and would not devote further activity to Recommendation A11-05.

The March 2017 reassessment of TC's response states that the intent of the TSB recommendation is to reduce the risk of occupants being trapped when some or all exits are jammed, as a result of an accident.

Emergency door release mechanisms, better door handles, and push-out windows have been developed for certain types of floatplanes. Although some floatplane operators have installed these modifications, many have not.

Regulatory requirements for mandatory egress training for commercial floatplane pilots may result in some improvement in emergency egress from commercial seaplanes. However, if the regulator does not mandate or promote voluntary modifications to normal exits, seaplanes will continue to operate with exits that could become unusable following an impact, diminishing the occupants' chances to exit the aircraft following a survivable accident.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A11-05 was last assessed as Satisfactory in Part.

Recommendations on personal flotation devices and egress training

Following the Lyall Harbour accident in 2009, the TSB also recognized that if a personal flotation device is not worn, and in the absence of other rescue capabilities, there is a higher risk that survivors of water impact will drown.

The TSB recommended that

the Department of Transport require that occupants of commercial seaplanes wear a device that provides personal flotation following emergency egress.
TSB Recommendation A11-06

In addition, the TSB has recognized, after many seaplane accidents, that pilots who receive underwater egress training have a greater chance of escaping the aircraft and surviving an accident. Those pilots can then help passengers to safety. In 2013, following a DHC-2 floatplane accident in Lillabelle Lake, Ontario,Footnote 7 the TSB recommended that

the Department of Transport require underwater egress training for all flight crews engaged in commercial seaplane operations.
TSB Recommendation A13-02

Both of these recommendations (A11-06 and A13-02) have led to proposed regulatory changes that were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on 21 May 2016. With regard to Recommendation A11-06, the regulations would require all commercial seaplane occupants to wear a flotation device while boarding the seaplane, and while it is operated on or above water. The regulatory changes would also introduce mandatory underwater egress training for pilots of commercially operated seaplanes, with recurrent training every 3 years, which addresses Recommendation A13-02.

While TC had initially indicated that the proposed regulatory changes would be published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, in 2017, TC's latest response now states that it anticipates the changes to be published in Part II in fall 2018. As of the date of publication of this report, no proposed regulatory changes have been published. The Board is concerned about the additional delay of the publication of these amendments in the Canada Gazette, Part II. Although these amendments will, if published as currently proposed, substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency identified in recommendations A11-06 and A13-02, until they are fully implemented, the risks to transportation safety remain.

Therefore, the responses to recommendations A11-06 and A13-02 were assessed as showing Satisfactory Intent.

Safety messages

Pilots must pay particular attention to the aircraft's airspeed and bank angle when manoeuvring at low altitudes. When pilots manoeuvre at high bank angles, the airspeed at which an aircraft will stall is higher than in wings-level flight, and the pilot may not expect the early onset of the accelerated stall.

As density altitude increases, so does the radius of a turn. Pilots must recognize that an increased density altitude affects aircraft performance and turning radius.

Pilots-in-command are ultimately responsible for aircraft handling.

None of the aircraft's occupants were wearing a personal flotation device, the pilot did not have underwater egress training, and the aircraft was not equipped with exits that allowed for rapid egress, nor were any of these required by regulation. In this occurrence, the close proximity of the accident site to the shoreline enabled a quick response and the rescue of the pilot.

Safety action taken

Following this accident, Fort Langley Air Ltd. made several changes to its training program. These changes included the following:

  • increased awareness and training on fuelling procedures and the importance of confirming that fuel caps are replaced after fuelling;
  • increased awareness and training on procedures and action to be taken if a fuel cap is found to have been left off while the aircraft is in flight; and
  • awareness and understanding of cockpit distraction.

This concludes the TSB's limited-scope investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this investigation report on . It was officially released on .

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18P0108

À propos de l'enquête

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

 Voir le document en PDF [235 KB]

Perte de maîtrise et collision avec un plan d’eau
Fort Langley Air Ltd.
Cessna 180H, C-FCDQ
Lac Tyaughton (Colombie-Britannique)

This report is also available in English.

Déroulement du vol

Le 1er août 2018, après un vol local dans la matinée, le Cessna 180H sur flotteurs (immatriculation C-FCDQ, numéro de série 18052166) (figure 1) exploité par Fort Langley Air Ltd. a été ravitaillé en carburant. Vers 12 h 54Note de bas de page 1, l'aéronef est parti de Tyax Lodge, sur le lac Tyaughton (Colombie-Britannique) avec 3 personnes à bord, pour un vol touristique local afin de prendre des photos. Le commandant de bord (le pilote) était assis dans le siège avant gauche; un passager occupait le siège avant droit, et un autre pilote de l'entreprise était assis sur le siège arrière gauche pour partager ses connaissances de la géographie locale.

Figure 1. Aéronef à l'étude (Source : Ray Barber)
Aéronef à l'étude

Peu après le décollage, tandis que l'avion franchissait en montée quelque 300 pieds d'altitude, l'autre pilote de l'entreprise a remarqué que du carburant fuyait de l'aile gauche et l'a fait savoir au pilote. L'autre pilote de l'entreprise aurait alors dit au pilote de faire demi-tour et d'amerrir sur le lac. Étant donné le relief local, le pilote a réduit la vitesse anémométrique et incliné fortement l'avion à droite pour retourner au lac. L'aéronef a alors brusquement roulé à droite, puis est entré en collision avec la surface du lac dans une assiette quasi verticale vers 12 h 55 (figure 2). L'aéronef a subi d'importants dommages au moment de l'impact et a coulé.

Figure 2. Trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef à l'étude (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
Trajectoire de vol de l'aéronef à l'étude

L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si la radiobalise de repérage d'urgence s'était déclenchée, mais même si c'était le cas, il est peu probable que le signal aurait été détecté puisqu'elle était immergée. Un résident qui se trouvait sur la rive a appelé le 911 et lancé les opérations de sauvetage. Le pilote de l'entreprise qui était assis à l'arrière et le passager ont subi des blessures mortellesNote de bas de page 2, tandis que le commandant de bord a été gravement blessé.

Le commandant de bord et le passager portaient les ceinture sous-abdominale et ceinture-baudrier disponibles. L'autre pilote de l'entreprise portait la ceinture sous-abdominale disponible; le siège arrière n'était pas muni d'une ceinture-baudrier. Des vêtements de flottaison individuels se trouvaient à bord de l'aéronef lors du vol à l'étude, mais aucun des occupants n'en portait, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas. L'aéronef n'avait pas d'issue permettant une évacuation rapide, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas.

Renseignements météorologiques

La station d'observation météorologique d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada la plus proche du lac Tyaughton se trouve à l'aéroport de Pemberton (CYPS) (Colombie-Britannique), à 38 milles marins au sud. Les conditions enregistrées à 13 h indiquaient une température de 32,3 °C et un point de rosée de 14,1 °C.

Un bulletin d'information météorologique local décrivait les conditions au lac Tyaughton au moment de l'accident comme suit : ciel dégagé; vents du sud-sud-est soufflant à 9 à 11 km/h; température, 24,8 °C; point de rosée, 12,2 °C; et calage altimétrique, 30,03 inHg.

L'altitude-densité au lac Tyaughton calculée à partir des données de température, de point de rosée et de pression était de 5250 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Altitude-densité

Un aéronef volant à une altitude-densité plus élevée par rapport au niveau de la mer se déplace à une vitesse vraie plus grande pour une même vitesse anémométrique. Lorsque la vitesse vraie est plus grande, le rayon de virage de l'aéronef augmente. Par conséquent, la vitesse vraie et le rayon de virage d'un aéronef sont directement proportionnels à l'altitude-densité. Au cours d'un virage coordonné en palier, le rayon de virage serait d'environ 15 % plus grand à une altitude-densité de 5250 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer qu'au niveau de la mer pour un aéronef volant à la même vitesse anémométriqueet au même angle d'inclinaison dans des conditions d'atmosphère standard.

Renseignements sur le pilote

Commandant de bord

Les dossiers indiquent que le commandant de bord avait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Le pilote avait obtenu sa qualification sur hydravion le 22 avril 2018 et une licence de pilote professionnel – avion le 26 juin 2018; il était aussi titulaire d'un certificat médical valide de catégorie 1. Le pilote avait accumulé 287,9 heures de vol en tout, dont 98,4 heures de vol sur hydravions. Ce temps de vol total comprenait 132,7 heures en tant que commandant de bord, dont 60,7 heures comme commandant à bord du Cessna 180H.

L'examen de l'horaire de travail et de repos du pilote a permis d'écarter la fatigue comme facteur contributif à cet accident.

Le pilote n'avait pas suivi de formation sur l'évacuation d'urgence, et la réglementation en vigueur ne l'exigeait pas.

L'autre pilote de l'entreprise

L'autre pilote de l'entreprise avait obtenu une licence de pilote professionnel – avion le 26 mai 2016 et une qualification sur hydravion le 29 janvier 2017. Il avait accumulé environ 800 heures de vol au total, dont environ 360 heures sur des hydravions. Il avait été embauché par l'entreprise à titre de pilote de nolisé et instructeur de pilotage d'hydravions le 1er mai 2017. Il avait donné au commandant de bord de l'aéronef en cause environ 20 heures de formation en vue de sa qualification sur hydravion.

Renseignements sur l'aéronef

L'aéronef Cessna 180H sur flotteurs a une masse maximale au décollage de 1338 kg (2950 livres). L'aéronef en cause était certifié, équipé et entretenu conformément aux règlements en vigueur et aux procédures approuvées. Il ne présentait aucune déficience connue et il était exploité dans les limites prescrites de masse et de centrage. L'aéronef n'avait pas d'enregistreur de données de vol, et il n'était pas tenu d'en avoir en vertu de la réglementation.

Renseignements sur le lieu de l'accident et l'épave

Le lac Tyaughton se trouve à environ 3300 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer. L'aéronef est entré en collision avec la surface du lac dans une assiette quasi verticale et s'est immobilisé à l'envers, dans des eaux d'une profondeur de 10 à 15 pieds, à environ 50 pieds de la rive; ses flotteurs émergeaient en partie de l'eau (figure 3).

Figure 3. Lieu de l'accident (Source : Gendarmerie royale du Canada)
Lieu de l'accident

La majeure partie de l'épave gisait à proximité du fuselage. Les 2 flotteurs présentaient de graves dommages aux extrémités et des dommages causés par l'impact avec le plan d'eau. Toutes les gouvernes ont été retrouvées. Un examen des volets a indiqué que leur angle de braquage était de 20° au moment de l'impact. Tous les dommages causés à la cellule étaient attribuables aux forces d'impact. On a constaté que le sélecteur de réservoirs d'essence était réglé sur les 2 réservoirs; ces derniers contenaient suffisamment de carburant pour le reste du vol à l'étude. Le bouchon du réservoir de carburant gauche n'avait pas été remis en place après le ravitaillement; il pendait au bout de sa chaîne. Les dommages constatés sur le moteur et l'hélice étaient caractéristiques d'un régime élevé au moment de l'impact.

Les instruments de vol de l'aéronef ont été lourdement endommagés. Le système mondial de positionnement pour navigation satellite (GPS) et le dispositif de messagerie GPS par satellite SPOT ont été déposés et envoyés au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST à Ottawa (Ontario) aux fins d'examen. Le dispositif GPS n'a fourni aucune donnée utilisable sur le profil de vol.

Décrochage accéléré

La vitesse à laquelle se produit un décrochage varie en fonction du facteur de charge de la manœuvre en cours d'exécution. En vol rectiligne en palier, la portance est égale à la masse, et le facteur de charge est de 1g. Toutefois, un virage incliné en palier nécessite plus de portance. Pour ce faire, il faut augmenter l'angle d'attaque (en tirant sur la commande de profondeur), ce qui augmente le facteur de charge. Comme le facteur de charge augmente avec l'angle d'inclinaison, la vitesse à laquelle le décrochage se produit augmente également. Par conséquent, un virage serré nécessite souvent une augmentation de la puissance afin de maintenir ou d'accroître la vitesse anémométrique.

On appelle décrochage accéléré un décrochage qui survient en raison d'un facteur de charge élevé découlant, par exemple, d'un angle d'inclinaison supérieur à 30°. Les décrochages accélérés se produisent à des vitesses anémométriques supérieures en raison du facteur de charge accru auquel est soumise l'aile; en outre, ils sont généralement plus graves que les décrochages non accélérés et sont souvent inattendus. Par exemple, un décrochage attribuable à une inclinaison de 60° à 70° entraîne rapidement une perte de maîtrise de l'aéronef et une importante perte d'altitude avant que toute sortie soit possible.

L'aéronef en cause dans l'événement à l'étude était doté d'un avertisseur de décrochage, mais aucun avertissement n'a été entendu pendant le vol. Il n'a pas été possible de vérifier le fonctionnement de ce dispositif en raison des dommages subis par l'aéronef.

On avait installé un ensemble ADACNote de bas de page 3 de Horton sur l'aéronef en cause . Cet ensemble incluait les modifications suivantes : bords d'attaque Camber-Lift sur toute l'envergure des 2 ailes, cloisons de décrochage sur l'extrados, saumon d'aile incliné vers le bas et joints d'interstice d'ailerons. Bien que Horton ne publie pas de vitesse de décrochage démontrée, le certificat de type supplémentaire indique que [traduction] « les vitesses de décrochage et les performances au décollage et à l'atterrissage sont égales ou supérieures à celles d'un avion non modifiéNote de bas de page 4 ». Selon le fabricant, lorsque le kit ADAC de Horton est installé, [traduction] « la plupart du temps, on peut s'attendre à une réduction des vitesses de décrochage de l'ordre de 4 à 7 nœudsNote de bas de page 5. »

Selon les informations obtenues dans l'événement à l'étude, après que l'autre pilote de l'entreprise lui eut dit de faire demi-tour et d'amerrir sur le lac, le commandant de bord a amorcé un virage serré qui a provoqué une perte de maîtrise et l'impact avec la surface de l'eau.

Recommandations du BST sur les hydravions

Le BST a émis plusieurs recommandations relativement à l'exploitation des hydravions dans le but d'éliminer ou de réduire les lacunes de sécurité posant de graves risques. Les sections qui suivent comprennent des points importants de certaines de ces recommandations.

Recommandation sur les issues d'évacuation rapide

Durant l'enquête sur l'accident au décollage d'un aéronef DHC-2 à Lyall Harbour (Colombie-Britannique) en 2009Note de bas de page 6, le BST a souligné l'importance des issues qui permettent aux occupants de s'échapper d'un aéronef qui coule et a recommandé que

le ministère des Transports exige que les sorties normales et les issues de secours des hydravions commerciaux, neufs et actuellement en service, permettent une évacuation rapide après un impact avec l'eau offrant des chances de survie.
Recommandation A11-05 du BST

En janvier 2017, Transports Canada (TC) a répondu à la recommandation A11-05 en indiquant qu'en 2006, le ministère avait mené une évaluation de l'évacuation d'hydravions submergés et suggéré des possibilités d'amélioration de la sécurité. Toutefois, TC a conclu qu'il n'y avait aucune solution de conception facilement identifiable qui aurait une incidence marquée sur le niveau existant de sécurité des hydravions. TC a affirmé qu'il insisterait donc sur des exigences réglementaires concernant la formation sur l'évacuation d'urgence sous l'eau et d'autres améliorations à la sécurité des hydravions, et qu'on n'effectuerait aucune autre activité liée à la recommandation A11-05.

Dans sa réévaluation de la réponse de TC en mars 2017, le BST indique que la recommandation vise à réduire le risque que des occupants soient piégés à l'intérieur d'un aéronef lorsque certaines sorties ou toutes les sorties sont bloquées à la suite d'un accident.

On a mis au point des mécanismes de déverrouillage d'urgence pour les portes, des poignées de porte améliorées et des fenêtres ouvrables vers l'extérieur pour différents types d'hydravions. Certains exploitants d'hydravions ont adopté ces modifications, mais plusieurs ne les ont pas adoptées.

Une réglementation rendant obligatoire la formation sur l'évacuation d'urgence pour les pilotes d'hydravions commerciaux pourrait apporter une amélioration en ce qui concerne l'évacuation d'urgence des hydravions commerciaux. Toutefois, si l'organisme de réglementation ne rend pas obligatoire la modification des issues standards et ne fait pas non plus la promotion d'une modification volontaire, des hydravions continueront d'être exploités avec des issues qui pourraient devenir inutilisables après un impact, diminuant ainsi la probabilité que les occupants parviennent à sortir de l'aéronef après un accident offrant des chances de survie.

Par conséquent, durant sa dernière réévaluation, le Bureau a estimé que la réponse à la recommandation A11-05 était en partie satisfaisante.

Recommandations sur les vêtements de flottaison individuels et la formation d'évacuation d'urgence

À la suite de l'accident à Lyall Harbour en 2009, le BST a également reconnu que si l'on ne porte pas de vêtement de flottaison individuel, en l'absence d'autres moyens de sauvetage, il y a un risque accru que les survivants d'un accident sur l'eau se noient.

Le BST a recommandé que

le ministère des Transports exige que les occupants d'hydravions commerciaux portent un dispositif individuel qui assure leur flottaison après une évacuation d'urgence.
Recommandation A11-06 du BST

De plus, le BST a souligné, à la suite de nombreux accidents d'hydravion, que les pilotes qui suivent une formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique ont de meilleures chances de s'échapper de l'aéronef et de survivre à un accident. Ces pilotes peuvent alors aider les passagers à évacuer l'aéronef. En 2013, après l'accident d'un hydravion DHC-2 sur le lac Lillabelle (Ontario)Note de bas de page 7, le BST a recommandé que

le ministère des Transports exige que tous les équipages d'hydravions commerciaux suivent une formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique.
Recommandation A13-02 du BST

Ces 2 recommandations (A11-06 et A13-02) ont mené à des modifications proposées à la réglementation qui ont été publiées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 21 mai 2016. En ce qui concerne la recommandation A11-06, la réglementation exigerait que tous les occupants d'hydravions commerciaux portent un vêtement de flottaison durant l'embarquement sur un hydravion et durant tout déplacement sur un plan d'eau ou survol d'un plan d'eau. Les modifications à la réglementation comprendraient également une formation obligatoire sur l'évacuation subaquatique pour les pilotes d'hydravions exploités à titre commercial, avec une formation périodique tous les 3 ans, stipulation qui répond à la recommandation A13-02.

Même si TC avait d'abord indiqué que les modifications proposées à la réglementation seraient publiées dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada en 2017, la dernière réponse de TC indique que le ministère prévoit plutôt leur publication dans la Partie II à l'automne 2018. Le Bureau est préoccupé par ce nouveau retard dans la publication de ces modifications dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Si elles sont publiées telles quelles, les modifications proposées vont considérablement réduire ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans les recommandations A11-06 et A13-02; toutefois, tant qu'elles ne seront pas entièrement mises en œuvre, les risques pour la sécurité des transports persisteront.

Par conséquent, le BST a estimé que les réponses aux recommandations A11-06 et A13-02 dénotaient une intention satisfaisante.

Messages de sécurité

Les pilotes doivent surveiller attentivement la vitesse anémométrique et l'angle d'inclinaison de l'aéronef durant les manœuvres à faible altitude. À des angles d'inclinaison prononcés, la vitesse anémométrique à laquelle un aéronef décroche est plus élevée que durant le vol en palier. C'est pourquoi un pilote pourrait ne pas voir venir l'amorce précoce d'un décrochage accéléré.

Lorsque l'altitude-densité augmente, le rayon de virage augmente aussi. Les pilotes doivent être conscients qu'une altitude-densité accrue a une incidence sur les performances de l'aéronef et son rayon de virage.

Les commandants de bord sont responsables en dernier ressort des manœuvres d'un aéronef.

Aucun des occupants de l'aéronef ne portait de vêtement de flottaison individuel; le pilote n'avait pas suivi de formation sur l'évacuation subaquatique; l'aéronef n'avait pas d'issue permettant une évacuation rapide. Rien de ce qui précède n'était exigé par la réglementation en vigueur. Dans l'événement à l'étude, la proximité du lieu de l'accident avec la rive a permis d'intervenir rapidement et de secourir le pilote.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Après cet accident, Fort Langley Air Ltd. a apporté plusieurs changements à son programme de formation. Ces changements comprennent, entre autres :

  • sensibilisation accrue et formation supplémentaire sur les procédures de ravitaillement en carburant et l'importance de vérifier que les bouchons de réservoir de carburant ont été remis en place;
  • sensibilisation accrue et formation supplémentaire sur les procédures et les mesures à prendre si l'on découvre pendant le vol qu'un bouchon de réservoir de carburant n'a pas été remis en place;
  • prise de conscience et compréhension des distractions dans le poste de pilotage.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 30 janvier 2019. Il a été officiellement publié le 13 février 2019.

Date de modification :