Air Transportation Safety Investigation Report A18O0150

Associated links

Mid-air collision
Cessna 150G, C-FGMZ (privately owned)
and
NLG Air Inc.
Piper PA-42 Cheyenne III, C-FCSL
Ottawa/Carp Airport, Ontario, 1.3 nm S

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

History of the flight

At 0944Footnote 1 on 04 November 2018, a privately operated Piper PA-42 Cheyenne III aircraft (registration C-FCSL, serial number 42-8001017) departed Ottawa/Carp Airport (CYRP), Ontario, with the pilot and 1 passenger on board. The purpose of the flight was to verify the aircraft pressurization system. Because the aircraft would be flying at an altitude above 18 000 feet above sea level (ASL), an instrument flight rules (IFR) flight plan was required and had been filed. The flight plan indicated that the estimated time of arrival back at CYRP was 1011.

Once the pressurization verifications were complete, the pilot cancelled the IFR flight plan for the return flight once below 18 000 feet ASL, flying instead under visual flight rules (VFR).

While the Piper was returning to the airport, a privately owned Cessna 150G aircraft (registration C-FGMZ, serial number 15066473) was conducting circuits at CYRP under VFR. Only the pilot was on board. The investigation was unable to determine the precise time at which the Cessna departed or its exact flight path.

Figure 1. Flight paths of the Piper (C-FCSL) and the Cessna (C-FGMZ). The left-wing outboard section of C-FGMZ was found 635 feet southwest of the main wreckage site. (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)
 Flight paths of the Piper (C-FCSL) and the Cessna (C-FGMZ). The left-wing outboard section of C-FGMZ was found 635 feet southwest of the  main wreckage site. (Source: Google Earth, with TSB annotations)

At 1010, the Piper was on approach to the airport from the north. It had flown over Runway 10/28 at circuit altitude to join the circuit at the midpoint of the downwind leg for Runway 28, when the 2 aircraft collided at approximately 1400 feet ASL, about 1.3 nautical miles (nm) south of the airport (Figure 1). The pilot of the Piper did not see the Cessna while crossing over the airport. The investigation was unable to determine whether the pilot of the Cessna saw the Piper or took evasive action prior to the collision.

A section of the Cessna's left wing was severed as a result of the impact, and the aircraft entered a steep dive with no possibility of recovery. The aircraft was destroyed by impact forces and a post-impact fire. The pilot received fatal injuries.

The Piper sustained substantial damage from the collision; however, control of the aircraft was maintained. The pilot diverted to the Ottawa/Macdonald-Cartier International Airport (CYOW), Ontario, and landed without incident. Neither the pilot nor the passenger was injured.

Pilot information

Records indicate that the pilot of the Piper was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He obtained a Canadian commercial pilot licence – aeroplane in 2000 and had a valid Category 1 medical certificate. He had both single- and multi-engine ratings, as well as a valid Group 1 instrument rating and a Class 1 instructor rating. He also held a high-performance endorsement for the PA-42 series aircraft (Cheyenne III/IV/400LS). He had accumulated approximately 10 200 total flight hours, including about 200 hours as pilot-in-command on the occurrence aircraft.

Records indicate that the pilot of the Cessna was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He obtained a Canadian private pilot licence – aeroplane in 1981 and held a valid Category 3 medical certificate. He held a single-engine – land rating as well as a night and VFR over-the-top rating. He had accumulated approximately 1000 total flight hours, of which approximately 150 hours had been completed as pilot-in-command over the past 10 years.

The investigation found no evidence to indicate that either pilot's performance was degraded by pre-existing physiological factors, nor was there evidence to suggest that fatigue was a factor.

Collision and wreckage information

A review of the radar data indicates that the collision occurred at approximately 1400 feet ASL, as the Piper was initiating a left turn to join the midpoint of the downwind leg of the circuit. Details of the Piper's flight path were recorded by NAV CANADA's secondary surveillance radar (SSR)Footnote 2 system, but the data did not include any information pertaining to the Cessna. However, there were poorFootnote 3 primary surveillance radar (PSR)Footnote 4 returns available that depicted an aircraft near the crosswind leg just prior to the collision. A comparison of the aircraft's converging path and speed with the Piper's track confirmed that these were most likely the Cessna's PSR returns; however, it was not possible to determine the Cessna's entire track.

The investigation determined that, as the 2 aircraft collided, the Cessna's left wing struck the Piper's extended right main-wheel assembly at a point 5.75 feet from the Cessna's outer left-wing rib. The impact damage to the leading edge of the wing indicates that it struck the outboard face of the Piper's wheel assembly, nearly perpendicular with the Piper's longitudinal axis.

Figure 2. The Cessna's in-flight damage (Source: Cessna Aircraft Company,with TSB annotations)
 The Cessna's in-flight damage (Source: Cessna Aircraft Company,with TSB annotations)

The damage sustained by the wing structure caused the failure and subsequent separation of the outer section of the wing and aileron (Figure 2). The aircraft became uncontrollable and rapidly entered a steep dive, striking the ground in a near-vertical attitude. The aircraft was destroyed by the impact forces and post-impact fire.

The Piper sustained damage to the right main landing gear, right-side aft and lower fuselage, rudder, and left-side flap. Although the damage was substantial, none of it critically affected the aircraft's primary flight controls.

Airport information

CYRP is an uncontrolled airport located 1.2 nm south of the village of Carp. It is owned and operated by West Capital Developments. CYRP has 1 paved runway (Runway 10/28) and 1 gravel runway (Runway 04/22). At the time of the occurrence, Runway 28 was in use, with a standard left-hand circuit pattern (Figure 3). The circuit altitude for Runway 28 is 1400 feet ASL.Footnote 5 The airport lies within an aerodrome traffic frequency (ATF) area with a radius of 5 nm that is centred on the airport and extends vertically up to and including 1800 feet ASL. Transport Canada (TC) establishes an ATF “to ensure that all radio-equipped aircraft operating on the ground or within the area are listening on a common frequency and following common reporting procedures.”Footnote 6

Circuit pattern at an uncontrolled airport

Figure 3. Standard left-hand circuit pattern at an uncontrolled aerodrome (Source: Transport Canada, TP 14371E, Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual [TC AIM], RAC—Rules of the Air and Air Traffic Services [11 October 2018], Figure 4.6.)
 Standard left-hand circuit pattern at an uncontrolled aerodrome  (Source: Transport Canada, TP 14371E, <em>Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual</em> [TC AIM], RAC—Rules    of the Air and Air Traffic Services [11 October 2018], Figure 4.6.)

All pilots “operating at or in the vicinity of an aerodrome shall observe the aerodrome traffic for the purpose of avoiding a collision”Footnote 7 and “are expected to approach and land on the active runway.”Footnote 8 In addition, at aerodromes that are not within a mandatory frequency (MF) area,Footnote 9 aircraft “should approach the traffic circuit from the upwind side”Footnote 10 (Figure 3).

Radio communications

The Transport Canada Aeronautical Information Manual (TC AIM) provides the communication procedures for VFR aircraft at uncontrolled aerodromes with an ATF or an MF area.Footnote 11 The TC AIM states, in part, that VFR pilots should maintain a listening watch and be aware of local flying. They should also state their intentions before entering the manoeuvring area, during departure or arrival, and while completing continuous circuits.Footnote 12 Although strongly encouraged by TC and considered good airmanship, communication on an ATF is not mandatory by regulation while operating under VFR.

CYRP's ATF frequency is a privately operated UNICOMFootnote 13 and is not recorded. In this occurrence, the pilot of the Piper had broadcasted his intentions on the ATF frequency on at least 3 occasions: while entering the ATF area (5 nm), while overflying the village of Carp, and before joining the midpoint of the downwind leg of the Runway 28 circuit. During this sequence, no radio transmissions from the Cessna were heard by the pilot of the Piper or other pilots in the area at the time.

The Cessna was equipped with a navigation/communication (NAV/COM) very high frequency (VHF) transmitter/receiver, which was examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa. The extent of heat-related damage sustained by the unit prevented any conclusion to be made regarding its settings or serviceability.

There was no indication of any malfunction with the Piper's VHF transmitter/receiver.

The see-and-avoid principle

The see-and-avoid principle has been examined in a number of other TSB investigation reports.Footnote 14 It is the basic method of collision avoidance for VFR flights that is based on active scanning and the ability to detect conflicting aircraft and take appropriate measures to avoid them. An advisory circular published by the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration states, “Pilots should remain constantly alert to all traffic movement within their field of vision, as well as periodically scanning the entire visual field outside of their aircraft to ensure detection of conflicting traffic.”Footnote 15 The most effective method of identifying potential conflicting traffic is to quickly scan small segments of the visual field (approximately 10° to 15° wide) to detect movement.Footnote 16

Obstructions such as door frames and window posts can obscure the pilot's view. This requires pilots to move their head and look around the obstruction.Footnote 17 The large engine nacelles of the twin-engine Piper PA-42 aircraft cover a considerable area on both sides of the aircraft, and may create obstructions.

Wing configuration and the altitude of each aircraft in relation to the other may have created a challenge for the pilots to detect potential threats. The Cessna is a high-wing aircraft and was at a slightly lower altitude than the Piper, which is a low-wing aircraft. These wing configurations would have created an obstruction for both pilots and made direct visual detection of the other aircraft difficult.

The collision occurred in clear conditions and good visibility. The weather at the time was not considered a factor in the accident.

Airborne collision avoidance systems

Many of the commonly available integrated avionics equipment (all-in-one global positioning system [GPS]/NAV/COM) can be configured with traffic advisory system (TAS), traffic information system (TIS), or traffic alert and collision avoidance system (TCAS) capability, which provide cues of nearby traffic and collision alerts to pilots. However, several of these systems depend on receiving nearby transponder information to detect the traffic; therefore, it is important for pilots to turn their transponder on when flying.

Furthermore, Mode C transpondersFootnote 18 provide air traffic controllers with aircraft position and altitude information. Having this information available allows air traffic controllers to provide pilots who are leaving their airspace and entering adjacent uncontrolled airspace with information about the traffic to be expected or the position of an aircraft in the circuit. TC published a reminder for pilots to “turn it on for safety,”Footnote 19 recommending that pilots always use the transponder to enhance detectability. Altitude-reporting transponders are required in order to activate the traffic alert and collision avoidance functions of a TCAS-equipped aircraft.

The Cessna was equipped with a Mode C transponder, but no SSR return was observed during the occurrence flight. A review of the aircraft technical documents indicates that an encoding and altitude correlation check had been completed successfully on the transponder approximately 1 month before the occurrence. The transponder was examined at the TSB Engineering Laboratory in Ottawa but the extent of heat-related damage sustained prevented any conclusion from being made regarding its settings or serviceability. The investigation could not determine if the Cessna's lack of transponder signal was due to a malfunctioning unit or if it had not been turned on for the occurrence flight.

The Piper avionics equipment was capable of displaying traffic advisory (TIS-A) information to the pilot. TIS-A data is provided by ground-based radars through the Mode S transponder data link; however, this service is not currently available in Canada. Therefore, the Piper's instrumentation would not have been able to display the presence of the Cessna, whether or not its Mode C transponder had been emitting a signal. 

Flight recorders

The Piper was a privately operated aircraft under Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) Subpart 604 (Private Operators), and the Cessna was a private aircraft used for recreational purposes. Neither of the 2 aircraft was equipped with a flight data recorder or cockpit voice recorder, nor were these required by regulation.

Although the TSB has formally recommendedFootnote 20 the mandatory installation of lightweight flight recording systems by commercial and private operators not currently required to carry these systems, there has been no recent progress for implementation by TC.

Emergency locator transmitter

The Cessna was equipped with a 121.5 MHz emergency locator transmitter (ELT). As of 01 February 2009, Cospas-Sarsat satellites no longer detect 121.5 MHz distress beacons.

In 2016, following its investigation into the May 2013 occurrence in Moosonee, Ontario,Footnote 21 the TSB found that more than half of all Canadian-registered aircraft that require an ELT are being operated with an ELT whose signal is not detectable by Cospas-Sarsat. It further concluded that if the regulations are not amended to reflect the International Civil Aviation Organization's standards, it is highly likely that non–406 MHz ELTs will continue to be used on Canadian-registered aircraft and foreign aircraft flying in Canada. As a result, flight crews and passengers will continue to be exposed to potentially life-threatening delays in search-and-rescue service following an occurrence.

Although the TSB has formally recommendedFootnote 22 that all Canadian-registered aircraft and foreign aircraft operating in Canada be equipped with a 406 Mhz ELT, the regulatory action undertaken by TC is not sufficiently advanced to reduce the risks to transportation safety.

Safety messages

The 2 aircraft in this occurrence were operating under VFR in uncontrolled airspace. Neither pilot saw the other aircraft in time to avoid a mid-air collision, partly owing to the inherent limitations of the see-and-avoid principle. Relying solely on visual detection increases the risk of collision while in uncontrolled airspace. Pilots are strongly encouraged to broadcast their intentions while in an ATF area in accordance with TC's VFR communications procedures, even though they are not mandatory.

A number of viable and economical airborne collision avoidance systems exist, some of which are specifically designed for general aviation. These technologies offer the potential to significantly reduce the risk of mid-air collisions.

Transponders can also provide an additional layer of defence by allowing other aircraft that are equipped with airborne collision avoidance systems to detect conflicting traffic. It is important for pilots to turn their transponder on when flying.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on . It was officially released on .

About the investigation

This report is the result of an investigation into a class 4 occurrence. For more information, see the Occurrence Classification Policy.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18O0150

Lien connexe

Collision en vol
Cessna 150G, C-FGMZ (privé)
et
NLG Air Inc.
Piper PA-42 Cheyenne III, C-FCSL
Aéroport d'Ottawa/Carp (Ontario), 1,3 nm S

This report is also available in English.

Déroulement du vol

À 9 h 44Footnote 1 le 4 novembre 2018, un avion privé Piper PA-42 Cheyenne III (immatriculation C-FCSL, numéro de série 42-8001017) a décollé de l'aéroport d'Ottawa/Carp (CYRP) (Ontario), avec le pilote et 1 passager à bord. L'objet du vol était de vérifier le système de pressurisation de l'avion. Comme l'avion devait voler à une altitude supérieure à 18 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL), le plan de vol selon les règles de vol aux instruments (IFR) obligatoire avait été établi et déposé. D'après ce plan, l'heure d'arrivée prévue à CYRP était 10 h 11.

Une fois la vérification du système de pressurisation terminée, le pilote est descendu sous les 18 000 pieds ASL. Il a annulé le plan de vol IFR pour le vol de retour et a opté de voler selon les règles de vol à vue (VFR).

Pendant que le Piper retournait à l'aéroport, un avion Cessna 150G privé (immatriculation C-FGMZ, numéro de série 15066473) effectuait des circuits à CYRP selon les règles VFR. Le pilote était seul à bord. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer l'heure précise du décollage ni la trajectoire de vol exacte du Cessna.

Figure 1. Trajectoires de vol du Piper (C-FCSL) et du Cessna (C-FGMZ). La section extérieure de l'aile gauche du C-FGMZ a été retrouvée à 635 pieds au sud-ouest du site de l'épave principale. (Source : Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)
 Trajectoires de vol du Piper (C-FCSL) et du Cessna (C-FGMZ). La    section extérieure de l'aile gauche du C-FGMZ a été retrouvée à    635 pieds au sud-ouest du site de l'épave principale. (Source :    Google Earth, avec annotations du BST)

À 10 h 10, le Piper était en approche de l'aéroport à partir du nord. Il avait survolé la piste 10/28 à l'altitude de circuit pour entrer à mi-chemin de l'étape vent arrière du circuit pour atterrir sur la piste 28. C'est à ce moment que les 2 avions sont entrés en collision, à quelque 1400 pieds ASL et à environ 1,3 mille marin (nm) au sud de l'aéroport (figure 1). Le pilote du Piper n'a pas vu le Cessna alors qu'il survolait l'aéroport. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si le pilote du Cessna a vu le Piper et s'il a exécuté une manœuvre d'évitement avant la collision.

Une section de l'aile gauche du Cessna a été sectionnée à la suite de l'impact, et l'avion a amorcé un piqué prononcé qui n'offrait aucune possibilité de rétablissement. L'avion a été détruit par la force de l'impact et l'incendie qui a suivi. Le pilote a subi des blessures mortelles.

Le Piper a été passablement endommagé par la collision, mais le pilote a gardé la maîtrise de l'avion. Ce dernier a dérouté vers l'aéroport international Ottawa/Macdonald-Cartier (CYOW) (Ontario), où il a atterri sans incident. Ni le pilote ni le passager n'ont été blessés.

Renseignements sur les pilotes

Les dossiers indiquent que le pilote du Piper avait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait obtenu une licence canadienne de pilote professionnel – avion en 2000 et détenait un certificat médical de catégorie 1 valide. Il avait les qualifications monomoteur, multimoteur et de vol aux instruments de groupe 1 et une qualification d'instructeur de classe 1. Il détenait également une qualification haute performance sur les avions de série PA-42 (Cheyenne III/IV/400LS). Le pilote avait à son actif un total de quelque 10 200 heures de vol, dont environ 200 heures comme commandant de bord sur l'avion à l'étude.

Les dossiers indiquent que le pilote du Cessna avait la licence et les qualifications nécessaires pour effectuer le vol, conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il avait obtenu une licence canadienne de pilote privé – avion en 1981 et détenait un certificat médical de catégorie 3 valide. Il avait la qualification monomoteur terrestre ainsi qu'une qualification vol de nuit et VFR au-dessus de la couche. Le pilote avait accumulé un total de quelque 1000 heures de vol, dont environ 150 heures comme commandant de bord au cours des 10 dernières années.

Selon l'enquête, rien n'indique que des facteurs physiologiques auraient eu une incidence négative sur le rendement de l'un ou l'autre pilote, et rien ne laissait croire que la fatigue aurait pu être un facteur.

Renseignements sur la collision et sur l'épave

Un examen des données radar indique que la collision est survenue à environ 1400 pieds ASL, au moment où le Piper amorçait un virage vers la gauche pour entrer à mi-chemin de l'étape vent arrière du circuit. Le système radar secondaire de surveillance (SSR)Footnote 2 de NAV CANADA a consigné en détail la trajectoire de vol du Piper, mais ces données ne comprenaient aucun renseignement sur le Cessna. Toutefois, de faiblesFootnote 3 échos du radar primaire de surveillance (PSR)Footnote 4 indiquaient un avion près de l'étape vent de travers juste avant la collision. Une comparaison de la trajectoire convergente et de la vitesse de l'avion avec la trajectoire du Piper a démontré que les échos PSR provenaient vraisemblablement du Cessna; toutefois, on n'a pu déterminer la trajectoire complète de cet avion.

L'enquête a permis de déterminer qu'au moment de la collision, l'aile gauche du Cessna a percuté la roue du train d'atterrissage principal droit sorti du Piper à 5,75 pieds de la nervure d'aile extérieure gauche du Cessna. Les dommages attribuables au choc sur le bord d'attaque de l'aile indiquent que ce dernier a heurté la face extérieure de la roue du Piper, presque perpendiculairement à l'axe longitudinal du Piper.

Figure 2. Dommages causés au Cessna en vol (Source : Cessna Aircraft Company, avec annotations du BST)
Dommages causés au Cessna en vol (Source : Cessna Aircraft    Company, avec annotations du BST)

Les dommages causés à la structure de l'aile ont entraîné la fragilisation et la séparation subséquente de la section extérieure de l'aile et de l'aileron (figure 2). L'avion était alors impossible à maîtriser et a rapidement amorcé un piqué prononcé avant de percuter le relief dans une assiette quasi verticale. L'avion a été détruit par la force de l'impact et l'incendie qui a suivi.

Le Piper a subi des dommages au train d'atterrissage principal droit, aux parties arrière et inférieure droites du fuselage, à la gouverne de direction et au volet de gauche. Même s'ils étaient substantiels, les dommages n'ont pas gravement compromis les commandes de vol principales de l'avion.

Renseignements sur l'aéroport

CYRP est un aéroport non contrôlé situé à 1,2 nm au sud du village de Carp. Il est détenu et exploité par West Capital Developments. CYRP comprend 1 piste avec revêtement (piste 10/28) et 1 piste en gravier (piste 04/22). Au moment de l'événement, la piste 28 était en service, avec un circuit standard vers la gauche (figure 3). L'altitude du circuit pour la piste 28 est de 1400 pieds ASLFootnote 5. L'aéroport se trouve dans une zone de fréquence de trafic d'aérodrome (ATF) d'un rayon de 5 nm centré sur l'aéroport et qui s'étend verticalement jusqu'à 1800 pieds ASL inclusivement. Transports Canada (TC) établit une ATF « afin de s'assurer que tous les aéronefs équipés de postes de communication et évoluant tant au sol qu'à l'intérieur de la zone, soient à l'écoute sur une fréquence commune et suivent les mêmes procédures pour signaler leur positionFootnote 6.

Circuit à un aéroport non contrôlé

Figure 3. Circuit d'aérodrome standard vers la gauche à un aérodrome non contrôlé (Source : Transports Canada, TP 14371, Manuel d'information aéronautique de Transports Canada [AIM de TC], RAC – Règles de l'air et services de la circulation aérienne [11 octobre 2018], figure 4.6.)
 Circuit d'aérodrome standard vers la gauche à un aérodrome non contrôlé (Source : Transports Canada, TP 14371, Manuel d'information aéronautique de Transports Canada [AIM de TC], RAC – Règles de l'air et services de la circulation aérienne [11 octobre 2018], figure 4.6.)

Un pilote « qui utilise un aéronef à un aérodrome ou dans son voisinage doit surveiller la circulation d'aérodrome afin d'éviter les collisionsFootnote 7 »; les pilotes « sont censés effectuer leur approche et atterrir sur la piste en serviceFootnote 8 ». De plus, aux aérodromes situés à l'extérieur d'une zone de fréquence obligatoire (MF)Footnote 9, « l'approche du circuit d'aérodrome devrait se faire du côté vent deboutFootnote 10 » (figure 3).

Communications radio

Le Manuel d'information aéronautique de Transports Canada (AIM de TC) établit les procédures de communication pour les avions en VFR aux aérodromes non contrôlés avec zone ATF ou MFFootnote 11. L'AIM de TC stipule, en partie, que les pilotes en vol VFR doivent être constamment à l'écoute et conscients des vols locaux. Ils doivent également déclarer leurs intentions avant d'entrer dans l'aire de manœuvre, au départ ou à l'arrivée, et pendant qu'ils effectuent des circuits continusFootnote 12. La réglementation n'oblige pas de communiquer sur une fréquence ATF lorsqu'en vol VFR, bien que cette pratique soit fortement recommandée par TC et considérée comme étant une bonne discipline aéronautique.

La fréquence ATF à CYRP est une fréquence UNICOMFootnote 13 privée non enregistrée. Dans l'événement à l'étude, le pilote du Piper avait transmis ses intentions sur la fréquence ATF à au moins 3 reprises : en entrant dans la zone ATF (5 nm), en survolant le village de Carp, et avant d'entrer dans le circuit de la piste 28 à mi-chemin de l'étape vent arrière. Durant cette séquence, ni le pilote du Piper ni d'autres pilotes dans le secteur à ce moment n'ont entendu de transmission radio du Cessna.

Le Cessna était équipé d'un émetteur-récepteur de navigation/communication (NAV/COM) à très haute fréquence (VHF) qui a été examiné au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST à Ottawa. L'appareil était tellement endommagé par la chaleur qu'il a été impossible de déterminer ses réglages et son état de fonctionnement.

On n'a relevé aucune indication de mauvais fonctionnement de l'émetteur-récepteur VHF du Piper.

Le principe voir et éviter

Le principe voir et éviter a été examiné dans plusieurs autres rapports d'enquête du BSTFootnote 14 . Méthode élémentaire d'évitement visuel des collisions en vol VFR, ce principe se fonde sur un balayage visuel actif et sur la capacité de détecter les risques de collision avec un autre aéronef, permettant de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour les éviter. D'après une circulaire d'information publiée par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) des États-Unis [traduction] : « Les pilotes doivent toujours être attentifs à la circulation aérienne dans leur champ de vision, et périodiquement balayer du regard l'espace visible en dehors de leur avion pour s'assurer de détecter tout aéronef en conflitFootnote 15 . La méthode la plus efficace pour cerner les conflits potentiels consiste à balayer rapidement l'espace visible en petites sections à la fois (environ de 10° à 15° de large) pour détecter des mouvementsFootnote 16 .

Les obstacles comme les cadres de porte et les montants de pare-brise peuvent obstruer la vue du pilote. Les pilotes doivent donc bouger la tête pour voir autour de ces obstaclesFootnote 17. Les grandes nacelles moteur du bimoteur Piper PA-42 bloquent une grande partie de l'espace de part et d'autre de l'avion et pourraient obstruer la vue des pilotes.

La configuration des ailes et l'altitude de chaque avion par rapport à l'autre pourraient avoir nui à la capacité des pilotes de détecter les dangers potentiels. Le Cessna est un avion à voilure haute. Il volait à une altitude légèrement inférieure à celle du Piper, un aéronef à voilure basse. Ces configurations d'ailes auraient obstrué la vue des 2 pilotes et nui à la détection visuelle directe de l'autre avion.

La collision est survenue par temps clair et dans des conditions de bonne visibilité. Les conditions météorologiques au moment de l'événement n'ont pas été retenues comme facteur dans cet accident.

Systèmes anticollisions embarqués

Plusieurs équipements électroniques de bord intégrés (système de positionnement mondial [GPS]/NAV/COM tout-en-un) d'usage courant peuvent être configurés avec des fonctionnalités d'avis de circulation (TAS), d'information sur le trafic (TIS) ou de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions (TCAS), qui affichent la circulation à proximité et des alertes de collision aux pilotes. Or, plusieurs de ces systèmes doivent recevoir des données de transpondeurs à proximité pour détecter la circulation; par conséquent, il est important que les pilotes activent leur transpondeur durant un vol.

De plus, les transpondeurs mode CFootnote 18 transmettent aux contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne la position et l'altitude de l'avion. Ces renseignements permettent aux contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne de transmettre de l'information sur la circulation à prévoir ou sur la position d'un avion dans le circuit aux pilotes qui quittent leur espace aérien ou qui entrent dans un espace aérien non contrôlé adjacent. TC a publié un rappel à l'intention des pilotes de « l'allumer par mesure de sécuritéFootnote 19 , leur recommandant de toujours utiliser un transpondeur pour améliorer la détectabilité. Des transpondeurs qui transmettent l'altitude sont nécessaires pour activer les fonctions de surveillance du trafic et d'évitement des collisions d'un avion équipé d'un système TCAS.

Le Cessna était équipé d'un transpondeur mode C, mais aucun écho SSR n'a été observé durant le vol à l'étude. Un examen des documents techniques de l'avion indique que le transpondeur avait fait l'objet d'une vérification de corrélation du codage et de l'altitude environ 1 mois avant l'événement. Le transpondeur a été examiné au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST à Ottawa, mais la chaleur l'avait à ce point endommagé qu'il a été impossible de déterminer ses réglages et son état de fonctionnement. L'enquête n'a pas permis de déterminer si le transpondeur du Cessna n'a pas transmis de signal pour cause de malfonctionnement ou parce qu'il n'avait pas été activé durant le vol à l'étude.

Le système avionique du Piper pouvait afficher l'information sur le trafic (TIS-A) au pilote. Les radars sol transmettent les données TIS-A par la liaison de données de transpondeurs mode S; toutefois, ce service n'est pas en place actuellement au Canada. Ainsi, même si le transpondeur mode C du Cessna avait transmis un signal, les instruments du Piper n'auraient pu indiquer sa présence. 

Enregistreurs de bord

Le Piper était un avion privé assujetti à la sous-partie 604 (Exploitants privés) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC); le Cessna était un avion privé exploité à des fins récréatives. Ni l'un ni l'autre des 2 avions n'avait d'enregistreur de données de vol ou d'enregistreur de conversations de poste de pilotage, et la réglementation ne l'obligeait pas.

Le BST a recommandé officiellementFootnote 20 d'obliger l'installation de systèmes d'enregistrement des données de vol légers chez les exploitants commerciaux et privés qui n'y sont pas actuellement tenus, mais TC n'a fait aucun progrès récemment en ce sens.

Radiobalise de repérage d'urgence

Le Cessna était équipé d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence (ELT) de 121,5 MHz. Depuis le 1er février 2009, les satellites Cospas-Sarsat ne surveillent plus la fréquence des radiobalises de détresse de 121,5 MHz.

En 2016, à la suite de son enquête sur un événement à Moosonee (Ontario)Footnote 21 , en mai 2013, le BST a déterminé que plus de la moitié de tous les aéronefs immatriculés au Canada qui doivent avoir une ELT à bord utilisent un modèle qui transmet un signal que le système Cospas-Sarsat ne détecte pas. Le BST a conclu en outre que si la réglementation n'est pas modifiée selon les normes de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale, il est très probable que des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada et des aéronefs étrangers qui effectuent des vols au Canada continuent d'utiliser des modèles d'ELT autres que de 406 MHz. Par conséquent, en cas d'événement, les équipages de conduite et les passagers continueront d'être exposés à des retards dans les activités de recherche et sauvetage qui pourraient mettre leur vie en danger.

Le BST a officiellement recommandéFootnote 22 que tous les avions immatriculés au Canada et tous les avions étrangers qui effectuent des vols au Canada soient munis d'une ELT de 406 MHz. Toutefois, les mesures réglementaires prises par TC n'ont pas suffisamment progressé pour réduire le risque pour la sécurité des transports.

Messages de sécurité

Les 2 avions à l'étude étaient en vol VFR dans un espace aérien non contrôlé. Ni l'un ni l'autre des pilotes n'a aperçu l'autre aéronef à temps pour éviter une collision en vol, en partie à cause des limites inhérentes au principe voir et éviter. Se fier uniquement à la détection visuelle augmente le risque de collision dans un espace aérien non contrôlé. On encourage fortement les pilotes à transmettre leurs intentions pendant qu'ils se trouvent dans la zone ATF, conformément aux procédures de communication VFR de TC, même s'il n'est pas obligatoire de s'y conformer.

Il existe plusieurs systèmes d'évitement de collisions viables et à bon prix. Certains sont conçus tout particulièrement pour l'aviation générale. Ces technologies pourraient considérablement réduire les risques de collision.

Les transpondeurs peuvent également offrir un moyen de défense additionnel en permettant à d'autres avions qui sont munis d'un système anticollision embarqué de détecter tout aéronef en conflit. Il est important que les pilotes activent leur transpondeur durant un vol.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le . Le rapport a été officiellement publié le .

À propos de ce rapport d'enquête

Ce rapport est le résultat d’une enquête sur un événement de catégorie 4. Pour de plus amples renseignements, se référer à la Politique de classification des événements.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n’est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :