Aviation Investigation Report A08W0162

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Controlled Flight Into Water
Trans North Turbo Air Limited
Bell 206B (Helicopter) C-FGGC
Carmacks, Yukon
09 August 2008

Summary

The pilot and sole occupant of the Bell 206B helicopter (registration C-FGGC, serial number 1080) was departing the Trans North helicopter base on the west bank of the Yukon River at Carmacks, Yukon at about 0700 Pacific daylight time. After lifting off the pad into a low hover facing away from the river, the pilot pedal-turned through 180 degrees to the left and departed over the river on an easterly heading. Shortly thereafter, there was a loud impact and splash, and pieces of wreckage drifted down the river. A pilot and two aircraft maintenance engineers, who were preparing a Bell 205 helicopter for flight from an adjacent pad, immediately started the aircraft, tracked the aft fuselage section that was floating down the river, and assisted in its recovery. The submerged forward fuselage section, engine, and transmission were not recovered until located by side-scan sonar on 17 August 2008. The pilot drowned.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The pilot of C-FGGC was tasked to support the positioning of power poles in the vicinity of Carmacks, Yukon. He was to depart for the job site at around 07001. Another helicopter pilot, flying a Bell 205 (registration C-GEAG), was to assist in this operation and was to depart around 0800.

Prior to the pilot's arrival at the helipad, a company aircraft maintenance engineer had conducted a routine daily inspection on C-FGGC and fuelled the aircraft with 50 United States gallons (USG) of fuel. The pilot arrived and conducted a pre-flight inspection of the aircraft; no defects were reported. He started the aircraft, lifted off, and entered a low hover (about five feet) above the helipad, conducted a 180-degree pedal-turn to the left, and departed to the east, into the sun, directly out over the 800-foot-wide river.

The helipad was about six feet above the level of the river; therefore, the initial departure altitude would have been about ten to fifteen feet above the water level. The flight path was directly across the river on a constant descent in a level attitude until the impact with the water surface about 600 feet horizontally from the helipad. Total air time was about 14 seconds. Engine and rotor sounds were normal until impact.

The lower fuselage and rear section of the helicopter, containing the floor, rear seats, fuel tank, baggage compartment, and landing gear, remained on the surface of the river and floated downstream until beaching on a sand bar. All other helicopter components were submerged. Eight days later, a boat with a side-scanning sonar found the forward section of the cockpit containing the pilot and the power train in the area of the initial impact with the surface of the river. The pilot was in his seat, secured by his four-point harness, and was wearing a headset but no helmet.

The main rotor system had separated from the mast on impact and, although located by the sonar, was not recovered due to operational constraints. Examination of the fracture surfaces on the mast revealed 45º shear lips, indicating overload failure and power being transmitted at impact. The transmission and hydraulic servos remained attached to the deck and were examined to the extent possible. No pre-existing deficiencies were found. The tail boom and tail rotor assembly were not located.

The airspeed indicator was indicating about 40 knots, the torque gauge was indicating 100 per cent, and the altimeter was indicating about 5250 feet above sea level (asl). All other instruments had reverted to zero or were impact-damaged. The engine had sustained a main rotor blade strike on top of the combustion chamber, separating the gas generator section from the gearbox. The fuel cell was intact and about 50 USG of fuel were recovered. Residual fuel on board prior to fuelling was not determined.

The pilot was certified and qualified for the flight in accordance with existing regulations. He had approximately 23 000 hours of total flying time. The pilot had not flown in the preceding 24 hours, but had accumulated a total of 116.6 hours in the preceding 30 days and 285.0  ours in the 90 days before the occurrence. These hours are within the regulatory limits.

The pilot's licence was validated with a Category 1 medical certificate issued on 07 May 2008 and valid to 01 November 2008, with the condition that glasses must be available. The pilot would normally be wearing his glasses during the start up and departure phases of flight. He was not wearing sunglasses.

Autopsy results revealed non-life-threatening fractures and injuries to ribs, pelvis, and right leg, and no significant head injuries. The cause of death was by drowning. Also found was severe, multifocal coronary artery atherosclerosis with no obvious sign of acute infarction. Based on medical opinion, pilot incapacitation does not appear to have been a factor in this occurrence.

Weather conditions at Carmacks as observed by an automated weather observation system (AWOS) at the time of the occurrence were as follows: winds 350º true (T) at 2 knots, temperature 3ºC.

Most of the flight and the impact were recorded with a low-resolution video camera taken from the river bank about one-half mile upstream from the occurrence site. The section of river, from the helicopter pad to the campground where the video was taken, is straight and oriented due north and south (about 350-degrees T). Water current speed was about 11 knots, with no wave action. While clear sky conditions were present, there was a trace of light mist over the river. The sun was just above the ridge and trees, directly to the east across the river, and was reflecting brightly off the surface of the river. The helicopter's intended flight path would have been directly into the sun. The sun's angle was calculated to be about 15 degrees above the pilot's horizontal reference, and the reflection of the sun in the water to be about 15 degrees below the pilot's horizontal reference.

The US Department of Transportation Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) report number DOT/FAA/AM-03/6 defines glare as "a temporary visual sensation produced by luminance (brightness) within the visual field that is significantly greater than that to which the eyes are adapted." The report queried the US National Transportation Safety Board Aviation Accident/Incident Database from 01/01/1988 to 12/31/1998 for terms related to glare including sun, glare, vision, blinded, and reflections. For the study period, there were 130 accidents in which glare from natural sunlight was found to be a contributing factor, with 55 per cent associated with the takeoff/departure and approach/landing phases of flight.

Somatogravic illusion is an erroneous sensation of pitch (rotation in the vertical plane) caused by linear acceleration or deceleration. It is a common phenomenon during rapid acceleration or deceleration as would be experienced during an aircraft's takeoff, initial climb, or descent. Analysis of the video revealed that the helicopter had accelerated from zero to 40 mph in less than 14 seconds, which is sufficient to produce the sensation of about 8.5 degrees of pitch-up in the absence of visual clues as to actual attitude if linear acceleration is assumed.

Analysis

A normal helicopter departure requires the pilot to lower the nose of the aircraft slightly and to increase collective pitch to initiate forward flight and begin to climb. During the departure/climb phase of the flight, any problems, such as a loss of power, would be countered by raising the nose to initiate a flare to slow the helicopter for landing. In this occurrence, the pilot accelerated to about 40 knots through translation in a level or slightly nose-down attitude, flying in a straight line for about 14 seconds until impact. Engine and rotor sounds were normal, and wreckage examination did not reveal mechanical or control anomalies that would have prevented the helicopter from accelerating and climbing.

The pilot had lifted off facing away from the sun and then had turned to face directly into the sun as he began forward flight. A more common departure procedure in a single-engine helicopter would be to turn 90 degrees to the left or right, to accelerate and climb along the riverbank before turning out over the water. This would decrease the risk of having to ditch in the fast-flowing river in case of an engine or power train failure.

The sun was at a low angle above his horizon and the bright sunlight was compounded by its strong reflection off the water. The resulting glare on and through the windscreen would have obscured the pilot's forward vision before his eyes could react to the sudden brightness, especially because he was not wearing sunglasses. The bright light would also have obscured the instrument panel in shadow, depriving the pilot of backup instrument information.

During this period, the helicopter would have been accelerating. Somatogravic illusion would likely have caused the pilot to sense that the aircraft was climbing at about an 8.5-degree angle when, in fact, the aircraft was descending slightly until impact.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The pilot's forward vision was obscured by the bright sunlight and glare from the surface of the river.
  2. The pilot most likely lost visual reference with terrain and descended into the surface of the river.
  3. It is likely that the pilot did not realize that the helicopter was descending instead of climbing due to somatogravic illusion.

Finding as to Risk

  1. Departing over water, instead of accelerating and climbing along the shoreline, increases the risk of losing visual references and the risk of ditching into water in the event of a power train failure.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 02 July 2009


  1. All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A08W0162

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Impact dans l'eau sans perte de contrôle
de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B C-FGGC
exploité par Trans North Turbo Air Limited
à Carmacks (Yukon)
le 9 août 2008

Résumé

Le pilote, seul à bord de l'hélicoptère Bell 206B (immatriculé C-FGGC et portant le numéro de série 1080), quitte la base d'hélicoptère de Trans North située sur la rive ouest du fleuve Yukon, à Carmacks (Yukon), vers 7 h, heure avancée du Pacifique. Après le décollage de l'hélisurface, en vol stationnaire bas, le fleuve derrière l'appareil, le pilote met du pied à gauche pour virer de 180 degrés et s'éloigne au-dessus du fleuve, cap à l'est. Peu après, il y a un fort bruit d'impact et d'éclaboussure et des morceaux d'épave sont emportés par le courant du fleuve. Un pilote et deux techniciens d'entretien d'aéronef, qui préparent pour le vol un hélicoptère Bell 205 sur une hélisurface adjacente, démarrent aussitôt l'appareil, suivent la partie arrière du fuselage qui flotte dans le fleuve et aident à la récupérer. La partie avant du fuselage, le moteur et la transmission sont submergés et sont récupérés lorsqu'un sonar à balayage latéral permet de les localiser le 17 août 2008. Le pilote s'est noyé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Le pilote du C-FGGC devait participer à l'installation de colonnes d'alimentation dans les environs de Carmacks (Yukon). Il devait décoller pour se rendre au lieu de travail vers 7 h, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)1. Un autre pilote d'hélicoptère, aux commandes d'un Bell 205 (immatriculé C-GEAG), devait l'aider dans ce travail et devait décoller vers 8 h.

Avant que le pilote ne se rende à l'hélisurface, un technicien d'entretien d'aéronef de la compagnie avait effectué une inspection quotidienne de routine du C-FGGC, puis il avait rempli les réservoirs de carburant de 50 gallons américains (US) de carburant. Le pilote est arrivé et il a effectué une inspection pré-vol de l'hélicoptère; aucune anomalie n'a été signalée. Il a démarré l'hélicoptère, décollé et entré en vol stationnaire bas (environ cinq pieds) au-dessus de l'hélisurface, mis du pied à gauche pour virer de 180 degrés et il est parti vers l'est, en direction du soleil, directement au-dessus du fleuve large de 800 pieds.

L'hélisurface se trouvait à environ six pieds au-dessus du niveau du fleuve; ainsi, lorsque l'appareil a commencé à se déplacer, son altitude devait être d'environ dix à quinze pieds au-dessus du niveau de l'eau du fleuve. La trajectoire de vol est passé directement au-dessus du fleuve, descendant constamment selon une assiette horizontale jusqu'au lieu de l'impact avec la surface de l'eau, à 600 pieds horizontalement de l'hélisurface. Le temps de vol réel a été d'environ 14 secondes. Les bruits du moteur et du rotor ont été normaux jusqu'à l'impact.

La partie inférieure du fuselage et la partie arrière de l'hélicoptère, comprenant le plancher, les sièges arrière, le réservoir de carburant, le compartiment à bagages et le train d'atterrissage, ont flotté, emportées par le courant du fleuve jusqu'à-ce qu'elles s'échouent sur une barre de sable. Tous les autres composants de l'hélicoptère ont été submergés. Huit jours plus tard, une embarcation munie d'un sonar à balayage latéral a trouvé la partie avant du poste de pilotage qui contenait le pilote et la chaîne dynamique dans les environs du lieu de l'impact initial avec la surface du fleuve. Le pilote était retenu dans son siège par son harnais à quatre points et il portait un casque d'écoute, mais pas de casque protecteur.

Le rotor principal s'était séparé du mât à l'impact, mais même s'il a été trouvé grâce au sonar, on ne l'a pas récupéré en raison de contraintes opérationnelles. L'examen de la surface des points de rupture sur le mât a permis de constater des lèvres de cisaillement à 45 degrés, ce qui indique une rupture due à une surcharge et une transmission de puissance à l'impact. La transmission et les servomécanismes hydrauliques sont restés attachés à l'habitacle et ils ont été examinés dans la mesure du possible. Aucune anomalie préexistante n'a été constatée. La poutre de queue et le rotor de queue n'ont pas été localisés.

L'indicateur de vitesse affichait environ 40 nœuds, l'indicateur de couple affichait 100 p. 100 et l'altimètre indiquait 5250 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (asl). Tous les autres instruments étaient revenus à zéro ou avaient été endommagés par l'impact. Une pale du rotor principal avait percuté la chambre de combustion du moteur, séparant la partie du générateur de gaz de la boîte de transmission. Le réservoir de carburant était intact et environ 50 gallons US de carburant ont pu être récupérés. On n'a pas pu déterminer la quantité de carburant résiduel à bord avant l'avitaillement.

Le pilote était certifié et qualifié pour le vol conformément à la réglementation en vigueur. Il totalisait environ 23 000 heures de vol. Il n'avait pas volé dans les 24 heures précédentes, mais il avait accumulé 116,6 heures de vol lors des 30 jours précédents et 285 heures lors des 90 jours précédents. Ce nombre d'heures est à l'intérieur des limites prescrites par la réglementation.

La licence du pilote comportait un certificat médical de catégorie 1 délivré le 7 mars 2008 et valide jusqu'au 1er novembre 2008, lequel exigeait que des lunettes soient accessibles. Le pilote devait normalement porter ses lunettes au moment du démarrage et du décollage. Il ne portait pas de lunettes de soleil.

Une autopsie a permis de constater des fractures et des blessures non mortelles aux côtes, au pelvis et à la jambe droite, la tête n'ayant pas subi d'importante blessure. La mort a été due à une noyade. On a également pu observer une importante athérosclérose multifocale des coronaires sans signe évident d'infarcissement aigu. Selon un avis médical, l'incapacité soudaine du pilote n'a pas été un facteur lors de cet événement.

Les conditions météorologiques à Carmacks enregistrées par un système automatisé d'observations météorologiques (AWOS) au moment de l'événement étaient les suivantes : vent de 2 nœuds soufflant du 350 degrés vrai (ºV), température de 3 degrés Celsius (ºC).

La majeure partie du vol et l'impact ont été captés par une caméra vidéo à faible résolution à environ un demi-mille en amont du lieu de l'événement. Le cours du fleuve entre l'hélisurface et le terrain de camping où la vidéo a été enregistrée est rectiligne et orienté parfaitement nord-sud (environ 350 degrés V). Le courant du fleuve était d'environ 11 nœuds et il n'y avait pas d'effet de vagues. Malgré la présence d'un ciel dégagé, il y avait de légères traces de brume au-dessus du fleuve. Le soleil était juste au-dessus de la crête et des arbres, directement à l'est, de l'autre côté du fleuve dont l'eau réfléchissait les rayons du soleil avec intensité. La trajectoire prévue de l'hélicoptère allait en direction du soleil. On a calculé que l'angle du soleil par rapport à la référence horizontale du pilote était de 15 degrés et que le reflet du soleil sur l'eau se trouvait environ 15 degrés au-dessous de la référence horizontale du pilote.

Le rapport numéro DOT/FAA/AM-03/6 de la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) du département des Transports des États-Unis (É.-U.) définit l'éblouissement comme [Traduction] « une sensation visuelle temporaire induite par de la luminosité (brillance) située dans le champ visuel qui est beaucoup plus importante que ce à quoi les yeux sont adaptés ». Dans le cadre de ce rapport, des recherches ont été faites pour la période comprise entre le 1er janvier 1988 et le 31 décembre 1998 dans la base de données sur les incidents et les accidents aéronautiques du National Transportation Safety Board; ces recherches ont porté sur des mots liés à l'éblouissement comme sun, glare, vision, blinded et reflections (soleil, éblouissement, vision, aveuglé et reflets). Pendant la période choisie, il y a eu 130 accidents où l'éblouissement causé par les rayons du soleil a été un facteur contributif, et 55 p. 100 de ces accidents ont eu lieu pendant les étapes de décollage ou de départ et d'approche ou d'atterrissage.

Une illusion somatogravique est une fausse sensation de tangage (rotation dans le plan vertical) causée par une accélération ou une décélération linéaire. C'est un phénomène courant pendant l'accélération ou la décélération rapide que l'on ressent lors du décollage, de la montée initiale ou de la descente. L'analyse de la vidéo a permis de constater que l'hélicoptère avait accéléré de 0 à 40 milles à l'heure en moins de 14 secondes, ce qui est suffisant pour induire une sensation de cabrage de 8,5 degrés en l'absence de repères visuels indiquant l'assiette réelle s'il y a une accélération linéaire.

Analyse

Lors d'un départ normal d'hélicoptère, le pilote doit mettre son appareil légèrement en piqué et augmenter le pas collectif afin d'amorcer le vol vers l'avant et de commencer à monter. Pendant la phase de départ et de montée du vol, on peut contrer tous les problèmes, comme une perte de puissance, en cabrant l'appareil afin d'effectuer un arrondi et de ralentir l'hélicoptère avant d'atterrir. Lors de cet événement, le pilote a accéléré jusqu'à environ 40 nœuds en translation selon une assiette horizontale légèrement en piqué tout en volant en ligne droite pendant 14 secondes jusqu'à l'impact. Le moteur et le rotor n'ont fait aucun bruit anormal et l'examen de l'épave n'a pas révélé d'anomalies de la mécanique ou des commandes qui auraient pu empêcher l'hélicoptère d'accélérer et de monter.

Le pilote a décollé alors que le soleil était derrière l'appareil et il a ensuite viré de manière à faire face au soleil pour commencer le vol vers l'avant. Une procédure de départ plus habituelle dans un hélicoptère monomoteur aurait été de virer de 90 degrés à gauche ou à droite, d'accélérer et de monter le long de la rive du fleuve avant de virer vers le fleuve pour le survoler. Le risque d'un amerrissage forcé dans le fleuve au puissant courant s'en trouverait réduit en cas de défaillance du moteur ou de la chaîne dynamique.

Le soleil formait un angle faible avec l'horizon et les rayons brillants du soleil étaient amplifiés par leur reflet sur la surface de l'eau. L'éblouissement ainsi causé sur et à travers le pare-brise aurait obscurci le champ de vision vers l'avant du pilote avant que ses yeux n'aient eu le temps de s'adapter à la luminosité soudaine, surtout parce qu'il ne portait pas de lunettes de soleil. La lumière aveuglante aurait également jeté le tableau de bord dans l'ombre, privant le pilote de l'information de soutien fournie par les instruments.

Pendant ce temps, l'hélicoptère a dû accélérer. Une illusion somatogravique aurait pu donner au pilote l'impression que l'aéronef montait à un angle d'environ 8,5 degrés alors qu'en fait, l'appareil est descendu légèrement jusqu'à l'impact.

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. La vision avant du pilote était obscurcie en raison des rayons brillants du soleil et de l'éblouissement causé par la surface du fleuve.
  2. Le pilote a probablement perdu ses repères visuels au sol avant de descendre jusque dans les eaux du fleuve.
  3. En raison de l'illusion somatogravique, le pilote ne savait probablement pas que l'hélicoptère descendait au lieu de monter.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Partir au-dessus de l'eau, au lieu d'accélérer et de monter le long de la rive, augmente le risque de perdre de vue les repères visuels ainsi que le risque d'amerrissage forcé en cas de défaillance de la chaîne dynamique.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 2 juillet 2009.


  1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins trois heures).