Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

1.19.3  Partial Aircraft Reconstruction

A full-scale metal framework of the front 10 m (33 feet) of the aircraft fuselage was fabricated by the Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Public Works Mechanical Branch. Identified portions of primary structure, skin panels, and air conditioning ducts were straightened, fracture matched, sewn together with wire, and installed on the reconstruction mock-up. (See Figure 19.) Galleys 1, 2, and 3 were partially reconstructed over separate wire mesh frames and positioned within the reconstructed framework. Pieces of the cockpit seats, cockpit ceiling liner, and CB panels were puzzled together and subsequently fixed into position within the reconstruction mock-up.

Information derived from the physical reconstruction was incorporated into a three-dimensional computer model of the aircraft forward fuselage section. The reconstruction framework and computer model were used to determine the severity and limits of the fire damage, to identify possible fire origin locations, to clarify the spatial relationships between components, and to illustrate how these relationships may have affected the progression of the fire. These tools were also used to help assess the flammability of materials and to identify other safety deficiencies.

  1. 1.19.3.1 - Tabletop Reconstruction of Cockpit and Forward Cabin Ceiling Areas
  2. 1.19.3.2 - Air Conditioning Ducts

1.19.3.1  Tabletop Reconstruction of Cockpit and Forward Cabin Ceiling Areas

The reconstructed air conditioning ducts, electrical wiring, and identified components within the forward cabin and cockpit ceiling areas were assembled into a large tabletop mock-up in an attempt to get a top view of the damage patterns and better understand the relative spatial orientation of the items. (See Figure 27.) A wooden frame and clear plexiglass materials were successfully used to rebuild areas that would otherwise become hidden from view once installed in the main reconstruction mock-up. The tabletop mock-up was used to help assess the heat damage pattern.

1.19.3.2   Air Conditioning Ducts

All of the recovered air conditioning ducts were severely damaged and deformed. Many of the ducts from the front attic area had been heat-damaged; therefore, it was important to reconstruct them to develop an understanding of where the fire started and how it spread. The hundreds of heat-damaged pieces were straightened, fracture matched and sewn together with wire. As only short segments of duct could be rebuilt, it was necessary to consult aircraft manufacturing drawings and expert technicians from the operator and manufacturer to position the rebuilt sections of ducts into the reconstruction mock-up.

Previous | Next

Date modified :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

1.19.3  Reconstruction partielle de l'avion

Un cadre métallique grandeur nature des 10 m (33 pi) avant du fuselage de l'avion a été fabriqué par la Direction mécanique du ministère des Transports et des Travaux publics de Nouvelle-Écosse. Les parties identifiées de la structure principale, les panneaux de revêtement et les gaines de conditionnement d'air ont été redressés, les cassures ont été appariées et recousues avec du fil métallique et installées sur la structure de reconstruction. (Voir Figure 19.) Les offices 1, 2 et 3 ont été partiellement reconstruites sur des treillis métalliques distincts et placés dans la structure reconstruite. Des morceaux des sièges du poste de pilotage, du revêtement du plafond du poste et des tableaux de distribution supérieurs ont été rassemblés avant d'être mis en place dans la structure de reconstruction.

Les données extraites de la reconstruction matérielle ont été intégrées à un modèle informatique tridimensionnel de la partie avant du fuselage de l'avion. Le cadre de reconstruction et le modèle informatique ont servi à déterminer la gravité et les limites des dégâts causés par l'incendie, ainsi que les endroits où l'incendie aurait pu prendre naissance, à clarifier les relations spatiales entre les composants et à illustrer l'incidence de ces relations sur la progression de l'incendie. Ces mêmes instruments ont servi à évaluer l'inflammabilité des matériaux et à déceler d'autres manquements à la sécurité.

1.19.3.1  Reconstruction sur maquette des plafonds du poste de pilotage et de la cabine avant

Les gaines de conditionnement d'air, les câbles électriques et les composants identifiés reconstruits dans la cabine avant et dans le plafond du poste de pilotage reconstruits ont été assemblés en une vaste maquette pour tenter d'offrir une vue en plan du tracé des dommages et permettre de mieux comprendre l'orientation spatiale relative des éléments. (Voir Figure 27.) Grâce à un cadre en bois et à des matériaux en plexiglas transparent, on a réussi à reconstruire des sections qui autrement auraient été invisibles à l'oeil nu une fois installées dans la maquette de reconstruction principale. La maquette de table a servi à évaluer les dommages causés par la chaleur.

Précédent | Suivant