Aviation Investigation Report A98H0003

How This Report Is Organized

This report was prepared in accordance with International Civil Aviation Organization standards and recommended practices,[*] and with Transportation Safety Board (TSB) standards for investigation reports. In keeping with these standards, the report is organized into the following main parts:

  • Part 1, Factual Information: Provides objective information that is pertinent to the understanding of the circumstances surrounding the occurrence.
  • Part 2, Analysis: Discusses and evaluates the factual information presented in Part 1 that the Board considered when formulating its conclusions and safety actions.
  • Part 3, Conclusions: Based on the analyses of the factual information, presents three categories of findings: findings as to causes and contributing factors to the occurrence; findings that expose risks that have the potential to degrade aviation safety, but that could not be shown to have played a direct role in the occurrence; and "other" findings that have the potential to enhance safety, or clarify issues of unresolved ambiguity or controversy.
  • Part 4, Safety Action: Based on the findings of the investigation, recommends safety actions required to be taken to eliminate or mitigate safety deficiencies, and records the main actions already taken or being taken by the stakeholders involved.

Note: Owing to the scope of the Swissair 111 investigation, various supporting technical information (STI) materials are referenced throughout the report. STI materials are peripheral to the report and are not required to develop a complete understanding of the facts, analyses, conclusions, or recommended safety actions. Rather, the STI materials expand, in technical detail, on the information provided in the report. A superscript "STIx-yyy" is inserted into the report wherever such a reference exists. In the hard-copy version, the number "x" identifies the part of the report, and "yyy" identifies the reference within the part, as indicated in Appendix E – List of Supporting Technical Information References. In the electronic version of the report, such references are hyperlinked directly to the applicable location in the electronic version of the STI. Appendix E is not included in the electronic version.

The report also consists of the following appendices and background material, which are referenced in the report:

  • Appendix A – Flight Profile: Selected Events: A chronological depiction of the intended itinerary, actual flight profile, and selected events during the occurrence, presented in Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
  • Appendix B – Swissair Air Conditioning Smoke Checklist: The checklist used by Swissair to isolate a source of smoke originating from an aircraft air conditioning system.
  • Appendix C – Swissair Smoke/Fumes of Unknown Origin Checklist: The checklist used by Swissair to isolate a source of smoke or fumes originating from an unknown source.
  • Appendix D – Timeline: A chronological list of events for the duration of the occurrence, presented in UTC.
  • Glossary: An alphabetical list of abbreviations, acronyms, and initialisms used throughout the report.

Available Formats

The report can be viewed in the following formats:

  • Paper.
  • Compact Disc (CD-ROM) attached to the back cover of the paper report (compatible with Microsoft® Windows 95® or higher).
  • On the TSB web site at http://www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.

The STI materials can be viewed:

  • On the TSB web site at http://www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.
  • On Compact Disc (CD-ROM) along with the investigation report (compatible with Microsoft® Windows 95® or higher).

Readers can print copies of the report and STI materials from the CD-ROM or TSB web site.

To obtain additional copies of the report, please contact

TSB Communications Division
Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 1K8
Canada

Telephone: (819) 994-3741
Fax: (819) 997-2239
E-mail: communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca

[*]  For more detailed information on International Civil Aviation Organization standards, refer to International Standards and Recommended Practices, Annex 13 to the Convention on International Civil Aviation, Aircraft Accident and Incident Investigation, Ninth Edition, July 2001.

Date de modification :
2012-07-27

Rapport d'enquête du SR 111

Organisation du rapport

Le présent rapport a été rédigé conformément aux normes et aux pratiques recommandées de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale[*] et aux normes du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) sur les rapports d'enquête. Selon ces normes, le rapport comprend quatre parties principales :

  • Partie 1, Renseignements de base : Cette partie présente l'information objective pertinente à la compréhension des circonstances qui ont entouré l'accident.
  • Partie 2, Analyse : Cette partie examine et évalue les renseignements de base présentés à la Partie 1 sur lesquels s'est penché le Bureau lorsqu'il a formulé ses conclusions et les mesures de sécurité.
  • Partie 3, Conclusions : À partir des analyses des renseignements de base, cette partie présente trois catégories de faits établis : les faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs de l'événement, les faits établis qui exposent des risques qui pourraient compromettre la sécurité aérienne, mais dont on n'a pu montrer qu'ils avaient contribué directement à l'événement, et d'« autres » faits établis qui peuvent améliorer la sécurité ou clarifier des questions ambiguës ou controversées non résolues.
  • Partie 4, Mesures de sécurité : À partir des faits établis par l'enquête, cette partie formule des recommandations et des mesures de sécurité à prendre pour éliminer ou atténuer les manquements à la sécurité, et elle énonce les principales mesures déjà prises ou en train d'être prises par les parties intéressées.

Nota : Compte tenu de la portée de l’enquête sur le vol 111 de Swissair, divers documents d’information technique (DIT) sont référencés dans tout le rapport. Ces documents sont accessoires au rapport et ils ne sont pas népour comprendre entièrement les faits, les analyses, les conclusions ou les mesures de sécurité recommandées. Ces documents servent plutôt à développer sur le plan technique l’information fournie dans le rapport. Un indice supérieur « DITx-yyy » est inséré dans le rapport chaque fois qu’une telle référence existe. Dans la copie papier, le numéro « x » renvoie à la partie du rapport, et « yyy » renvoie à la référence figurant dans la partie, comme l’indique l’Annexe E – Liste des documents d’information technique de référence. Dans la version électronique du rapport, ces références renvoient directement par hyperliens à l’endroit pertinent de la version électronique des DIT. L’Annexe E ne figure pas dans la version électronique.

Le rapport comprend aussi les annexes et la documentation suivantes, lesquelles sont référencées dans le rapport :

  • Annexe A – Profil de vol : événements choisis : présentation chronologique de l'itinéraire prévu, du profil de vol réel et d'événements choisis au cours de l'accident, les heures étant exprimées en temps universel coordonné (UTC).
  • Annexe B – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée dans le système de conditionnement d'air : liste de vérifications utilisée par Swissair pour isoler la source de fumée provenant du système de conditionnement d'air d'un avion.
  • Annexe C – Liste de vérifications de Swissair en cas de fumée ou d'émanations d'origine inconnue : liste de vérifications utilisée par Swissair pour isoler la source d'émanations ou de fumée lorsque cette source est inconnue.
  • Annexe D – Chronologie des événements : liste chronologique des événements ayant mené à l'accident, les heures étant exprimées en UTC.
  • Sigles et abréviations : liste alphabétique des sigles et abréviations utilisés dans le rapport.

Formats offerts

On peut lire le rapport dans les formats suivants :

  • version papier;
  • disque compact (CD-ROM) joint en troisième de couverture de la version papier du rapport (compatible avec Windows 95MD de MicrosoftMD ou versions supérieurs);
  • sur le site Web du BST à http://www.bst.gc.ca.

On peut lire les DIT :

  • sur le site Web du BST à http://www.bst.gc.ca;
  • sur le disque compact (CD-ROM)  contenant aussi la rapport d'enquête (compatible avec Windows 95MD de MicrosoftMD ou versions supérieurs).

Les lecteurs peuvent aussi tirer des copies du rapport et des DIT à partir du CD-ROM ou du site Web du BST.

Pour obtenir d'autres copies du rapport, veuillez communiquer avec

Division des communications du BST
Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 1K8
Canada

Téléphone :(819) 994-3741
Télécopieur :(819) 997-2239
Courriel : communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca


[*]    Pour des renseignements plus détaillés sur les normes de l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI), veuillez consulter les Normes et pratiques recommandées internationales, Annexe 13 à la Convention relative à l'aviation civile internationale, Enquêtes sur les accidents et les incidents d'aviation, neuvième édition, juillet 2001.