Transportation Safety Board awards

2016 award recipients

Outstanding Achievement Award

This award was given to Sylvie Dionne, Manager, Material Analysis and Structures, for her exceptional work on the development of a centre of expertise for tank car designs and derailment performance.

This centre of expertise is key to the TSB’s ability to influence the rail industry’s tank car operations. It captures historical tank car designs as well as new developments in design. Key to this centre of expertise is the systematic assessment methodology developed by Sylvie and her team. The methodology allows the TSB to examine future tank car designs and compare them to previous designs efficiently and in detail. This gives a stronger voice to the TSB when we make our recommendations on tank car designs and performance.

Other international investigation organizations such as the NTSB have recognized the benefits of this approach and have looked to Sylvie for guidance and assistance in their investigations. Many in the rail industry are using the TSB’s tank car damage assessment database to help them review the performance of their tank cars and to improve their designs.

Sylvie Dionne (left) receiving her award from Chair Kathy Fox

Excellence in Leadership Award

This award was given to Art Monette, Head, Information Management. Art created information management materials and gave awareness sessions for employees, modified the TSB’s Fundamental Principles Course, and was directly involved in the training for new investigators. He uses many platforms to share his information management knowledge with employees. The key to his success: strong listening skills that enable him to adapt to his audience and mold TSB practices to Government of Canada’s policies in such as way that his clients’ and team’s needs are met. Art has put in place an action plan to ensure that TSB information is up to date, recorded appropriately, and easily accessible to employees.

Art encourages excellence, not only within his own team but also across the organization. He honours his commitments and is very trustworthy—to the point that he has become the reference for information management at the TSB. Art ensures a high level of employee engagement in encouraging learning opportunities and personal growth. He creates opportunities for his team to learn and move to the next level.

Art Monette (right) receives his award from COO Jean L. Laporte

Impact Award

This year’s recipient of the Impact Award is the Marine Branch’s team of technical writers. Kate Wellburn, Shauna McNally, and Valerie Doucette have worked together to ensure high-quality products were produced in the Marine Branch. The numerous reports that they have worked on, the safety letters they helped write or correct, and the various policies they either developed or helped craft have had a positive impact. For instance, the production of 15 reports in 2015-16 within 406 days is in good part due to the efforts of the technical writers.

Kate, Shauna, and Valerie navigate through the complexities of writing to ensure the end product is flawless. They are also valued team members that can, by their positive and respectful deportment, make a most challengeable meeting a joyful event.

Chair Kathy Fox presents the award to (left to right) Valerie Doucette, Shauna McNally and Kate Wellburn

Client Service Award

This award was presented to two employees for their exceptional work and commitment to providing high-quality client service within the TSB.

As an information management analyst, Janie Bertrand provides high quality service, advice and opinions regarding information management to employees at various levels of the organization. Janie provides a fast and efficient service, and offers reliable and accurate advice that specifically addresses her clients’ needs.

Over the last year, Janie has completed two significant information management projects at the TSB. She completed a review and cleanup of more than 25,000 files, and also retrieved, indexed, and archived more than 200 boxes of files containing laboratory projects. Her dedicated work and her commitment to her clients helped declutter TSB files, which now helps in more efficiently responding to internal and external information requests.

Janie Bertrand (right) receives her award from COO Jean L. Laporte

Recognized as a team player and someone who does an excellent job, Earl Chapman is specifically requested by name to participate in occurrence investigations. He treats co-workers, supervisors, investigators, and all others with respect. No matter how busy Earl is with his own assignments, he always finds time to answer questions, mentor colleagues, technical leads, and IICs. In all of his endeavors, he ensures that the excellent service reputation that our lab enjoys is perpetuated.

His commitment to excellent service, attention to detail, great communication skills, and his desire for continuous improvement set Earl’s performance apart from others. He is a positive role model for others and always keeps the TSB’s mission and vision in mind when working on any project. Flexible in meeting the demands of many clients under tight deadlines, he readily manages changes in priorities associated with unforeseen events, such as deployment to an occurrence.

Earl Chapman (right) receives his award from COO Jean L. Laporte

Excellence in Investigations Award

This year, the Excellence in Investigations Award was presented to two teams.

The Jazz Aviation LP accident (A14W0177) investigation team worked in collaboration with engineers at UTAS/Bombardier to design a test rig for an exemplar landing gear in which they could conduct dynamic tests in order to replicate the failure and see how the landing gear collapsed. This innovative approach enabled the investigation team to fully understand what happened.

The technical complexities of a landing gear system that didn’t perform as designed were communicated in such a way that a reader with average aviation knowledge could comprehend the emergent safety issues identified during the investigation.

Chair Kathy Fox (right) presents the Excellence in Investigation Award to Barry Holt

The September 2013 OC Transpo–VIA Crossing accident (R13T0192) was a high-visibility, challenging, and unique investigation. Under difficult circumstances, the team managed to identify and communicate key safety messages very effectively.

Without a vehicle event data recorder, significant effort and dedication was necessary to calculate and simulate the sequence of events. Nevertheless, the team kept their head high and found innovative solutions to get answers to their questions. With 3 recommendations focusing on passenger bus design/operations, we truly hope there will be significant advancements in commercial passenger bus safety as a result of this investigation. Important recommendations were also made with respect to grade crossing safety.

Chair Kathy Fox (left) presents the Excellence in Investigation Award to Rob Johnston

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award was given to Susan Greene. Susan finds innovative and accessible ways of communicating key messages. She creates engaging learning interactions such as e-learning and interactive videos, and incorporates innovation in documenting and streamlining procedures. She uses feedback to strengthen communication and the integrity of every project. She sees opportunities in the obstacles encountered and always seeks new ways to improve her products and messaging.

She fosters a light-hearted, collaborative, and encouraging work environment. Susan’s steadfast commitment to TSB is unparalleled. Her creative problem-solving abilities allow her to mobilize support and overcome obstacles. She exhibits flexibility in responding to the scope and pace of change and displays conviction in finding and evaluating creative methods to achieve results.

Susan Greene (right) receives her award from COO Jean L. Laporte

Prix du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Lauréats des prix 2016

Prix pour services insignes

Ce prix a été décerné à Sylvie Dionne, gestionnaire, Analyse du matériel et des structures, pour son travail exceptionnel à l'élaboration d'un centre d'expertise pour la conception des wagons-citernes et la performance de ces wagons lors d'un déraillement.

Ce centre d'expertise joue un rôle clé afin de permettre au BST d'avoir une influence sur les activités des wagons citernes de l'industrie ferroviaire. Il englobe l'histoire de la conception des wagons citernes et les avancées à cet égard. La méthode d'évaluation systématique, conçue par Sylvie et son équipe, joue un rôle crucial dans ce centre d'expertise. Elle nous permet d'examiner de nouvelles conceptions de wagons citernes et de les comparer aux conceptions antérieures de façon efficiente et détaillée. Le BST a ainsi une voix solide lorsqu'il formule des recommandations sur la conception et le rendement des wagons citernes.

D'autres organismes d'enquête internationaux, comme le NTSB, ont reconnu les avantages liés à cette approche et se sont tournés vers Sylvie pour obtenir ses directives et pour leur offrir de l'aide dans le cadre de leurs enquêtes. Bon nombre d'intervenants de l'industrie ferroviaire consultent la base de données de l'évaluation des dommages aux wagons citernes du BST afin de les aider à examiner le rendement de leurs wagons citernes et d'en améliorer la conception.

Sylvie Dionne (à gauche) reçoit son prix de la présidente Kathy Fox

Prix d'excellence en leadership

Ce prix a été décerné à Art Monette, Surveillant, Gestion de l'information. Art encourage l'excellence, non seulement dans sa propre équipe, mais aussi à l'échelle de l'organisation. Il s'acquitte de ses engagements et est très digne de confiance, à un point tel qu'il est devenu la référence en matière de gestion de l'information au BST. Art garantit que les employés sont hautement mobilisés, en encourageant les possibilités d'apprentissage et de développement personnel. Il crée des possibilités pour les membres de son équipe, afin qu'ils apprennent et qu'ils évoluent.

Art encourage l'excellence, non seulement dans sa propre équipe, mais aussi à l'échelle de l'organisation. Il s'acquitte de ses engagements et est très digne de confiance, à un point tel qu'il est devenu la référence en matière de gestion de l'information au BST. Art garantit que les employés sont hautement mobilisés, en encourageant les possibilités d'apprentissage et de développement personnel. Il crée des possibilités pour les membres de son équipe, afin qu'ils apprennent et qu'ils évoluent.

Art Monette (à droite) reçoit son prix de Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations.

Prix impact

Les récipiendaires du Prix impact sont les rédactrices techniques de la Direction des enquêtes (Marine). Kate Wellburn, Shauna McNally et Valerie Doucette ont collaboré afin de garantir la présentation de produits de grande qualité dans la Direction des enquêtes (Marine). Les nombreux rapports sur lesquels elles ont collaboré, les lettres de sécurité qu'elles ont contribué à rédiger ou qu'elles ont corrigées, ainsi que les diverses politiques qu'elles ont conçues ou contribué à concevoir ont eu une incidence positive. À titre d'exemple, la production de 15 rapports en 406 jours en 2015 2016 est attribuable en grande partie aux efforts déployés par les rédactrices techniques.

Kate, Shauna et Valerie naviguent dans la complexité de la rédaction afin de garantir la perfection du produit final. Elles sont également des coéquipières appréciées, qui peuvent faire d'une réunion des plus difficiles un événement agréable, grâce à leur tenue positive et respectueuse.

La présidente Kathy Fox présente les prix à (de gauche à droite) Valerie Doucette, Shauna McNally et Kate Wellburn

Prix du service à la clientèle

Ce prix a été attribué à deux employés pour leur travail exceptionnel et leur détermination à procurer un service à la clientèle de grande qualité au sein du BST.

En tant qu'analyste de gestion de l'information, Janie Bertrand fourni un service, des conseils et des avis de grande qualité en matière de gestion de l'information et ce, à des employés à divers paliers de l'organisation. Janie fourni un service efficace et rapide, et offre des conseils fiables, exacts et répondant précisément aux besoins de ses clients.

Au cours de la dernière année, Janie a complété deux projets significatifs pour la gestion de l'information au BST. Janie a complété la revue et le nettoyage de plus de 25,000 dossiers. Janie a aussi récupéré, indexé et archivé plus de 200 boites de dossiers contenant des projets de laboratoire. Son travail dévoué et son engagement envers ses clients ont permis de désencombrer les dossiers du BST ce qui aide maintenant à répondre de façon plus efficace aux demandes d'information internes et externes.

Janie Bertrand (à droite) reçoit son prix de Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations

Reconnu comme un joueur d'équipe et une personne qui accomplit un excellent travail, on demande Earl Chapman régulièrement par son nom afin qu'il participe à des enquêtes. Il traite ses collègues, ses superviseurs, les enquêteurs et tous les autres avec respect. Peu importe à quel point Earl est occupé par ses propres tâches, il est toujours prêt à répondre aux questions, à encadrer ses collègues, ainsi que les responsables techniques et les enquêteurs désignés. Dans tout ce qu'il entreprend, il veille à perpétuer la réputation d'excellence du service de notre laboratoire.

Son engagement à l'égard de l'excellence, l'attention qu'il porte aux détails, ses excellentes aptitudes de communication et son désir d'amélioration continue sont ce qui distingue le rendement d'Earl des autres. Il est un modèle positif pour les autres et a toujours en tête la mission et la vision du BST lorsqu'il collabore à un projet. Tout en faisant preuve de souplesse pour répondre aux demandes de nombreux clients dans des délais serrés, il gère sans peine les priorités liées à des événements imprévus, comme le déploiement au lieu d'un événement.

Earl Chapman (à droite) reçoit son prix de Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations

Prix d'excellence en matière d'enquêtes

Cette année, deux équipes se sont mérité le Prix d'excellence en matière d'enquêtes.

L'équipe d'enquête Jazz Aviation LP (A14W0177) a collaboré avec des ingénieurs de UTAS et de Bombardier afin de concevoir un banc d'essai pour un train d'atterrissage exemplaire, où ils ont mené des essais dynamiques en vue de recréer la défectuosité et de voir comment le train d'atterrissage s'est affaissé. Grâce à cette approche novatrice, l'équipe d'enquête a réussi à comprendre totalement ce qui s'est produit.

Les complexités techniques d'un système de train d'atterrissage qui n'a pas fonctionné comme prévu ont été communiquées d'une façon telle qu'un lecteur possédant des connaissances moyennes en aviation pouvait comprendre les nouveaux enjeux de sécurité cernés pendant l'enquête.

Barry Holt (à droite) reçoit son prix de la présidente Kathy Fox

L'accident de septembre 2013 impliquant OC Transpo et Via Rail à un passage à niveau (R13T0192) a été une enquête à très grande visibilité, difficile et unique. Malgré ces circonstances difficiles, l'équipe a réussi à cerner et à communiquer des messages clés de sécurité d'une manière très efficace.

Sans enregistreur de données routières à bord du véhicule, il a fallu déployer des efforts considérables et faire preuve d'un grand dévouement pour calculer et simuler la séquence des événements. L'équipe a néanmoins gardé le cap et trouvé des solutions novatrices afin de répondre à ses questions. Avec les trois recommandations mettant l'accent sur la conception et le fonctionnement des autobus à passagers, nous espérons réellement que des avancées importantes seront faites en matière de sécurité des autobus de passagers commerciaux à la suite de cette enquête. Des recommandations importantes ont aussi été formulées relativement à la sécurité des passages à niveau.

Rob Johnston (à droite) reçoit son prix de la présidente Kathy Fox

Prix innovation

Le Prix innovation a été décerné à Susan Greene. Susan trouve des façons novatrices et accessibles de communiquer des messages clés. Elle crée des interactions d'apprentissage captivantes, comme l'apprentissage en ligne et les vidéos interactives, et intègre l'innovation dans les procédures de documentation et de rationalisation. Elle utilise la rétroaction fournie pour renforcer la communication et l'intégrité de tous les projets. Elle trouve des possibilités dans les obstacles qu'elle rencontre et cherche sans cesse de nouvelles façons d'améliorer ses produits et leurs messages.

Elle favorise un milieu de travail joyeux, collaboratif et encourageant. L'engagement inébranlable de Susan à l'égard du BST est sans pareil. Ses capacités de résolution créative de problèmes lui permettent de mobiliser le soutien et de surmonter les obstacles. Elle répond aux changements à la portée et au rythme avec souplesse et s'engage à trouver et à évaluer des méthodes créatives pour atteindre des résultats.

Susan Greene (à droite) reçoit son prix de Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations