Greening Transportation Safety Board of Canada operations

Strategies / comments

  1. Approach: For the 2011–12 fiscal year, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's (TSB) approach to implementing the Policy on Green Procurement was to:
    1. promote the use of Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) green consolidated procurement instruments; and
    2. encourage the delivery of green procurement training to procurement, material management and accommodations personnel.
  2. Management processes and controls: In 2011–12, the TSB continued to make enhancements to its departmental policies, processes and control mechanisms in support of green and environmental considerations. Highlights included:
    • the creation of a new procurement tracking system to better monitor the usage of PWGSC’s green consolidated procurement instruments. As such, in the 2012–13 Departmental Performance Report (DPR), the TSB will have the capacity to report on whether the targets set out in the 2012–13 Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) were met;
    • the centralization of procurement initiation to ensure (PWGSC) procurement instruments are used, when and where applicable;
    • the delivery of green procurement notices, bulletins and training for the procurement team.
  3. Setting targets: The TSB was not required to complete the 'Greening Government Operations' Supplementary Information Table in the 2011–12 RPP. As such, no specific targets were set.
  4. Meeting targets: In 2011–12, the TSB met its objective of completing the purchase and implementation of a department-wide video-conferencing system, thereby linking the TSB’s Head Office, Regional Offices and Engineering Laboratory, with the aim of reducing departmental travel.
  5. Training: The department required that all existing procurement, materiel management and accommodation personnel (5 positions in total) take the Canada School of Public Service online course C215.
  6. Performance evaluations: The 2011–12 performance reviews of functional specialists included a discussion on the achievement of green procurement objectives. For 2012–13, the performance management agreements of procurement personnel include an objective to take environmental considerations into account for procurement activities.

← Back

Écologisation des opérations du Bureau de la sécurité des transports

Stratégies/commentaires

  1. Approche : Pour l'exercice 2011–2012, l'approche du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) pour la mise en œuvre de la Politique d'achats écologiques était composée des points suivants :
    1. Promouvoir l'utilisation des instruments d'achats écologiques regroupés de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC);
    2. Encourager la formation en achats écologiques du personnel des achats, de la gestion du matériel et des installations.
  2. Processus et contrôles de gestion : En 2011–2012, le BST a continué d'améliorer les politiques, processus et mécanismes de contrôle de l'organisme en tenant compte des facteurs écologiques et environnementaux. Voici les points saillants :
    • Création d'un nouveau système de suivi des achats afin de mieux surveiller l'utilisation des instruments d'achat écologiques regroupés de TPSGC. À ce titre, dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement (RMR) de 2012–2013, le BST pourra faire rapport à savoir si les cibles établies dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) de 2012–2013 ont été atteintes.
    • Centralisation de l’initiation des achats dans le but de s'assurer que les instruments d'achat de TPSGC sont utilisés, s'il y a lieu.
    • Mise en place d'avis, de bulletins et de formation concernant les achats écologiques à l’intention de l'équipe des achats.
  3. Établissement des cibles : Le BST n'était pas dans l'obligation de remplir le tableau de renseignements supplémentaires « Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales » du RPP de 2011–2012. Par conséquent, aucune cible particulière n'a été fixée.
  4. Atteinte des cibles : En 2011–2012, le BST a respecté son objectif visant à acheter et mettre en œuvre un système de vidéoconférence à l'échelle de l'organisme, liant de ce fait l'administration centrale, les bureaux régionaux et le laboratoire technique du BST afin de réduire les déplacements au sein de l'organisme.
  5. Formation : L'organisme exige que l'ensemble du personnel actuel des achats, de la gestion du matériel et des installations (total de cinq postes) suive le cours en ligne C215 de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada.
  6. Évaluations du rendement : Les examens de rendement pour 2011–2012 des experts fonctionnels comprenaient une discussion portant sur l'atteinte des objectifs en matière d'achats écologiques. Pour 2012–2013, les ententes de gestion du rendement du personnel des achats comprennent un objectif visant à tenir compte des facteurs environnementaux dans le cadre des activités d'achat.
Retour