Rail Safety Advisory Letter 06/14

Monitoring program for the classification of mined gases and liquids

Place du Centre
4th Floor
200 Promenade du Portage
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1K8

617-06/14
R13D0054

15 August 2014

Ms Nicole Girard (ASD)
A/Director General, Transportation of Dangerous Goods
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0N5

Dear Ms. Girard:

SUBJECT:
RAIL SAFETY ADVISORY LETTER – 06/14
Monitoring program for the classification of mined gases and liquids

On 06 July 2013, shortly before 0100 Eastern Daylight Time, eastward Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA) freight train MMA-002, which was parked unattended for the night at Nantes, Quebec, started to roll. The train travelled approximately 7.2 miles, reaching a speed of 65 mph. At around 0115, when MMA-002 approached the centre of the town of Lac-Mégantic, Quebec, 63 tank cars carrying petroleum crude oil (UN 1267) and 2 box cars derailed. About 6 million litres of petroleum crude oil spilled. There were fires and explosions, which destroyed 40 buildings, 53 vehicles and the railway tracks at the west end of Megantic Yard. Forty-seven people were fatally injured. There was environmental contamination of the downtown area and of the adjacent river and lake. (TSB Occurrence No. R13D0054)

The petroleum crude oil had originated in New Town, North Dakota and was destined to Irving’s oil refinery in Saint John, New Brunswick. The product, which originated from 11 different suppliers, was being shipped mostly as UN 1267, Class 3, Packing Group (PG) II product to the rail loading facility by highway tank trucks. Once the product was transloaded into the tank cars (i.e., about 3 truckloads to fill each tank car), the shipper billed all the tank cars out as PG III product.

The tank cars were picked up at New Town by Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) and were transported to Montreal. The tank car shipping documents were generated by CPR based on the shipper’s instructions. According to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDG Regulations), the consignor is responsible for determining the classification of dangerous goods before they are offered for transport. The accurate classification and characterization of dangerous goods is critical in order to select the proper packaging, handling, hazard communication (placards, labels), and emergency response procedures for safe transportation. It is also required to properly identify potential hazards when performing risk assessments.

Although monthly tests on collected composite samples were being performed at the rail loading facility, these tests were not being carried out for the purpose of product classification—nor was the PG information on the rail cars’ shipping documents reconciled with the corresponding information from those on the cargo tank trucks. Had this been done, the discrepancy could have been detected.

When the oil reached Irving’s refinery in Saint John, samples were collected and tests were performed, but mainly for operational reasons. There was neither a determination nor a verification of the product’s initial boiling point and flashpoint, nor were these required or part of Irving’s operational needs. Irving relied on its suppliers for the proper classification of imported dangerous goods, as permitted by the TDG Regulations. As a result, the petroleum crude oil being transported by the train was incorrectly classified as PG III (lowest hazard), and remained that way throughout the transportation cycle.

While the properties of manufactured dangerous goods are generally well understood and predictable, those of naturally occurring organic materials such as mined gases and liquids (i.e., petroleum crude oil, natural gas) can vary throughout the life cycle of the extraction process and from well to well. Moreover, variability in the properties of the product being shipped can also result from the blending of product derived from different sources when loaded into large bulk containers such as tank cars. This emphasizes the need for consignors to have a system in place to consistently ensure that such products are accurately classified before being offered for transport, and for Transport Canada (i.e., Transportation of Dangerous Goods [TDG]Directorate) to be able to effectively monitor the accuracy of product classification for the purpose of enforcement.

In 2011, the TDG Directorate identified the rapid increase in the transportation by rail of petroleum crude oil as an emerging issue requiring greater regulatory oversight. As a result, the TDG Directorate started inspecting petroleum crude oil transloading facilities, focusing on specific areas of regulatory compliance in facility operations, such as tank car loading and securement practices. However, these inspections did not include a verification of the classification of the petroleum crude oil being handled, offered for transport, transported, or imported.

Following the issuance of TSB Rail Safety Advisory 12/13 in September 2013 regarding the determination of petroleum crude oil properties for safe transportation, TC issued Protective Direction No. 31 in October 2013. In July 2014, amendments to the TDG Regulations were enacted to address the accuracy of petroleum crude oil classification by consignors. However, Protective Direction No. 31 and the July 2014 regulatory amendments do not explicitly address the variability in the properties of mined gases and liquids, such as petroleum crude oil.

Given the importance of packaging and transporting properly classified dangerous goods, Transport Canada may wish to review its monitoring and inspection program to ensure that mined gases and liquids, such as petroleum crude oil, are accurately classified throughout the transportation cycle.

The original version was signed by
Kirby Jang
Director
Investigation Operations Rail/Pipeline

Cc:
MMA
 
CPR
 
Irving
 
RAC

Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 06/14

Programme de surveillance en vue de la classification des gaz et liquides extraits

Place du Centre
4e étage
200, promenade du Portage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

617-06/14
R13D0054

15 août 2014

Madame Nicole Girard (ASD)
Directrice générale intérimaire, Transport des marchandises dangereuses
Transports Canada
330, rue Sparks
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0N5

Salut,

Objet :
Avis de sécurité ferroviaire – 06/14
Programme de surveillance en vue de la classification des gaz et liquides extraits

Le 6 juillet 2013, peu avant 1 h, heure avancée de l’Est, le train de marchandises MMA-002, en direction est, de la compagnie Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA), qui était garé sans surveillance pour la nuit à Nantes (Québec), a commencé à se déplacer. Le train a roulé sur une distance d’environ 7,2 milles, atteignant une vitesse de 65 mi/h. Vers 1 h 15, lorsque le MMA-002 s’approchait du centre de la ville de Lac-Mégantic (Québec), 63 wagons-citernes chargés de pétrole brut (UN 1267) et 2 wagons couverts ont déraillé. Environ 6 millions de litres de pétrole brut se sont déversés. Des incendies se sont déclarés et des explosions se sont produites, détruisant 40 bâtiments, 53 véhicules et les voies ferrées à l’extrémité ouest du triage Megantic. Quarante-sept personnes ont subi des blessures mortelles. Le centre-ville, la rivière et le lac adjacents ont été contaminés. (Événement du BST no R13D0054)

Le pétrole brut avait comme point d’origine New Town (Dakota du Nord) et était destiné à la raffinerie d’Irving Oil située à Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick). Ce pétrole, qui provenait de 11 fournisseurs différents, avait d’abord été expédié surtout comme produit UN 1267, Classe 3, groupe d’emballage II, dans des camions-citernes routiers destinés à l’installation de chargement ferroviaire. Après le transbordement du produit dans les wagons-citernes (à raison de 3 camions complets pour chaque wagon-citerne), l’expéditeur a indiqué qu’il s’agissait d’un produit du groupe d’emballage III sur la feuille de route de tous les wagons-citernes.

Les wagons-citernes ont été pris en charge par le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) à New Town et transportés à Montréal. Les documents d’expédition des wagons-citernes avaient été préparés par le CFCP selon les instructions de l’expéditeur. Aux termes du Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD), il incombe à l’expéditeur de déterminer la classification des marchandises dangereuses avant d’en demander le transport. L’exactitude de la classification et de la description des marchandises dangereuses est d’une importance vitale pour qu’on puisse emballer la marchandise dangereuse dans un contenant approprié, et utiliser les bonnes procédures de manutention, de communication des dangers (plaques et étiquettes), et d’intervention d’urgence pour assurer la sécurité du transport. Une telle exactitude est nécessaire aussi pour bien reconnaître les dangers potentiels lors des évaluations des risques.

Bien qu’on ait procédé à des analyses mensuelles sur des échantillons composites prélevés à l’installation de chargement ferroviaire, ces analyses n’étaient pas effectuées aux fins de la classification du produit – et on ne faisait pas concorder les renseignements relatifs au groupe d’emballage consignés sur les documents d’expédition des wagons-citernes avec les renseignements correspondants consignés sur les documents des camions-citernes. Si on l’avait fait, la différence aurait pu être décelée.

Lorsque le pétrole arrivait à la raffinerie d’Irving à Saint John, des échantillons étaient prélevés et des analyses étaient effectuées, mais surtout à des fins opérationnelles. Le point initial d’ébullition et le point d’éclair du produit n’étaient ni déterminés ni vérifiés, et Irving n’avait pas besoin de cette information pour répondre à ses besoins opérationnels. Irving se fiait à ses fournisseurs pour veiller à ce que les marchandises dangereuses importées soient classées correctement, tel que permis par le RTMD. Ainsi, le pétrole brut que le train transportait avait été classé incorrectement dans le groupe d’emballage III (le niveau le moins dangereux), et la situation n’a pas changé tout au long du cycle de transport.

Bien que les propriétés des marchandises dangereuses manufacturées soient généralement bien comprises et prévisibles, celles des matières organiques naturelles comme les gaz et liquides extraits (p. ex., le pétrole brut, le gaz naturel) peuvent varier tout au long de la durée de vie du processus d’extraction, ainsi que d’un puits à un autre. En outre, le mélange d’un produit provenant de différentes sources peut entraîner une variabilité de ses propriétés quand il est chargé dans de grands contenants en vrac comme les wagons-citernes. Cette situation souligne le besoin pour les expéditeurs d’avoir un système en place qui leur permette de s’assurer régulièrement que de tels produits sont classés correctement avant d’en demander le transport, et pour Transports Canada (c.-à-d., la Direction générale du transport des marchandises dangereuses [TMD]) d’être en mesure de surveiller efficacement l’exactitude la classification du produit aux fins de l’application de la loi.

En 2011, la Direction générale du TMD a vu dans l’augmentation rapide des quantités de pétrole brut transporté par train une question émergente sur laquelle il fallait exercer une surveillance réglementaire accrue. C’est pourquoi la Direction générale du TMD a commencé à inspecter les installations de transbordement du pétrole brut, en portant une attention particulière à la conformité à la réglementation à l’égard de certains volets des activités des installations, tels que les pratiques utilisées pour le chargement et l’immobilisation des wagons-citernes. Toutefois, ces inspections ne comportaient pas une vérification de la classification du pétrole brut qui était manutentionné, offert pour le transport, transporté, ou importé.

Après l’émission en septembre 2013 de l’Avis de sécurité ferroviaire 12/13 du BST portant sur la détermination des propriétés du pétrole brut pour assurer son transport sécuritaire, TC a émis l’Ordre préventif no 31 en octobre 2013. En juillet 2014, des modifications au RTMD ont été promulguées pour traiter de l’exactitude de la classification du pétrole brut par les expéditeurs. Toutefois, il n’est pas question dans l’Ordre préventif nº 31 ni dans les modifications apportées à la réglementation en juillet 2014 de la variabilité des propriétés des gaz et liquides extraits, tels que le pétrole brut.

Compte tenu de l’importance de l’emballage et du transport de marchandises dangereuses classées correctement, Transports Canada pourrait souhaiter examiner son programme de surveillance et d’inspection pour s’assurer que les gaz et liquides extraits, tels que le pétrole brut, sont classés correctement tout au long du cycle de transport.

Je vous prie d’accepter, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Document original signé par
Kirby Jang
Directeur,
Opérations d'enquêtes – Rail/Pipeline

Cc:
MMA
 
CP
 
Irving
 
ACFC