Speeches

The Evolution of Transportation Safety Investigation,
a Canadian Perspective

Introduction

Increasingly, countries in all parts of the world are establishing independent government agencies to investigate transportation accidents (and incidents) for the sole purpose of advancing safety. Some deal with only one transportation mode; others are multi-modal. There can be differences in organization structure, nature and scope of mandate, etc.; but a growing number have two things in common: independence and a focus on safety. In this paper, I shall describe the evolution that led to the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (herein referred to as TSB-C) and the philosophy on which it is based. I shall also provide some personal observations from my experience with the previous unimodal (aviation) safety board and the current multi-modal aboard. Finally, I shall discuss the investigation methodology that we use in all four transportation modes within our Board's mandate.

The Evolution of the TSB-C

The investigation of transportation accidents in Canada was, for many years, carried out competently and efficiently by the transportation regulatory agencies. Gradually, the public began to note, particularly in aviation, that the regulator (the Department of Transport) set the safety standards for the industry, operated elements of the system such as airports and air traffic control, licensed the carriers and the crews, and enforced its own regulations. At the same time, it analysed the safety failures in the industry in which it had such a pervasive presence. The public began to doubt the appropriateness of the system and later began to ask for some reforms.

Officials within the Department of Transport protested that they knew the industry better than anyone else and that they were competent and objective, which was generally an accurate view. Understandably, they wanted to keep accident investigation within the Department of Transport's mandate. Meanwhile, people outside the Department developed a strong argument for change, and not just for aviation. They worried that the regulators might not always be objective, particularly when the stakes were high. In the mid 1970s, the Government introduced a draft law to establish the office of an independent Commissioner of Transportation Accident Investigation. His mandate would be to investigate fatal air, marine and rail transportation accidents, and also to investigate some nonfatal accidents of particular interest. At that time, society saw the consequences of the accident, expressed by the number of fatalities, as of paramount importance in justifying an investigation. Generally, attention was on cause. The importance of discovering the underlying safety problems had not yet caught the attention of most of those who were involved or interested.

By that time, investigators and legislation drafters had made some large steps forward in the thinking about accident investigation. It was accepted that the causes of transport accidents often cannot be determined with scientific certainty. However, risks to safety can still be determined. It was also accepted that cause is so often linked to blame that it would be preferable to distance cause determination from the responsibilities of the investigator. Complicating matters a little was continuing public expectation that findings about cause would be included in investigation reports. To accommodate the several views present at the time, the Commissioner was to be directed to make findings on causes. That is, the Commissioner would discuss findings that appeared to be related to cause but not be directed to state the cause or the probable cause as had been the custom. In the government proposal there would also be direction to identify system-wide safety deficiencies. This would move the focus, at least in some investigations, from the circumstances of individual accidents to symptoms of system-wide problems identified in the investigation and, more importantly, to safety problems that need not be related to cause.

That draft legislation died before passage into law because of the adjournment of a Parliament. However, the concept of an independent investigation agency was resurrected a few years later.

In February 1978, there was a major aviation accident in western Canada. A Boeing 737 was landing in reduced visibility at an uncontrolled airport in a mountainous area. Just after touchdown the pilots saw snow clearing equipment ahead of them on the runway. They attempted to do a go-around but, shortly after becoming airborne, the aircraft became uncontrollable and it crashed beside the runway. There were numerous fatalities and serious injuries. Not long into the investigation the investigators were accused of incompetence and of destroying evidence. The public reaction was strong and other aviation safety issues were raised and debated to the point where the government appointed a judge to conduct an inquiry into aviation safety in Canada. The high profile inquiry lasted over two years and the first volume of its report, in late 1981, dealt with aviation accident investigation. The inquiry documented a couple of instances where, at higher levels within the Department of Transport, attempts had been made to influence the work of accident investigators. That was sufficient for the judge to recommend an independent federal agency to investigate aviation accidents and incidents. He felt that the same approach for other modes of transportation should be considered at a later date.

The government was ready and proceeded with the drafting of new legislation. The result was the Canadian Aviation Safety Board (CASB) which began operations in 1984 with an innovative and comprehensive accident investigation and safety mandate. In many respects, the CASB was modelled after the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board (the NTSB). However, there were also some noteworthy differences. For example, there was no reference in the CASB's mandate to the determination of probable cause. Instead the Board was to make findings as to (or about) causes and contributing factors. There was also an explicit mandate "to identify safety deficiencies" as evidenced by aviation accidents and incidents. Canada adopted the good ideas from several countries and adapted them to the current thinking and societal context in Canada.

The uni-modal CASB was replaced by the multi-modal TSB-C in 1990. This change occurred faster than originally planned because of internal conflicts in the CASB. There were differing views among Board Members regarding their role and their interaction with the technical staff of the agency. That philosophical difference deteriorated into a dispute over the investigation of a major aviation accident, and then to the inclusion of a minority, dissenting view in almost every significant investigation report. The Government of the day passed a new law that abolished the Aviation Safety Board and established the Transportation Safety Board of Canada. The new law clarified the mandate and the role of Board Members, and it transferred accident/incident investigation responsibility in the marine, rail and pipeline modes from the regulators to the new independent safety board.

The Current Situation

The TSB-C has a simple mandate. Its only object is to advance transportation safety. It does so by:

  • Conducting independent investigations, and if necessary public inquiries, into selected transportation occurrences
  • Making findings as to causes and contributing factors
  • Identifying safety deficiencies
  • Making recommendations to reduce or eliminate the safety deficiencies
  • Reporting publicly on its investigations and related findings.

The TSB-C has now been operating for just over ten years and it appears to have a high level of credibility both within Canada and internationally. There were some changes made to our legislation in 1998. These can be summarized as increased independence from the regulators and the courts, increased emphasis on the identification of safety deficiencies, and some administrative tidying. There does not seem to be anyone calling for a return to the structure of the 1970s. As one who has personally experienced all three of the Canadian structural models during my public service career, I can say without hesitation that I strongly prefer the current structure, i.e. a fully independent, multi-modal safety board.

A Summary of the Philosophy Behind the TSB-C

In considering whether to establish an independent safety board, it must first be recognized that there are different types of investigations which all have a legitimate value in civilized society. Government regulators need transportation occurrence investigation as one of their tools in achieving regulatory compliance. The courts need accident investigations for both criminal and civil litigation purposes. In all of these, there is a necessary focus on who did something wrong. An agency like the TSB-C has no interest in determining blame or apportioning liability. We want to find out what happened, and why. The sole purpose of that information is so it can be used to reduce risk in the transportation system. That singularity of purpose increases our probability of success.

The probability of success is also enhanced by the independence of the safety investigator. The greater the separation from the regulators and from the courts, the greater the probability that those involved in accidents will speak freely and honestly to the investigators. The Canadian law includes protection against the release of witness statements, and it also contains restrictions against the use of the TSB-C's information or conclusions in legal or disciplinary proceedings.

The tone of the TSB-C's investigation reports is very deliberately non-emotional and non-accusatory. We try to produce convincing argument to persuade others to make safety improvements. The Board's Safety Recommendations are rarely prescriptive in nature; rather the message is: Please take action to resolve this safety deficiency. In fact, the Board is happiest when its investigation reports can describe the safety action that has already been taken, such that there is no need for any recommendation.

Finally, there is the matter of a uni-modal versus a multi-modal board. We believe our citizens have a right to a similar approach to safety in all the modes. We have also found that the same investigation methodology can be applied to all modes, and there are economies-of-scale (ie. cost savings) by being able to share some of our resources across modes.

Investigation Methodology

The TSB-C has developed a methodology that we call ISIM, the Integrated Safety Investigation Methodology. ISIM provides a focus on safety enhancement and it is applicable to all modes. It is not some unique creation. Rather, it incorporates elements used in other countries and in other industries.

ISIM integrates three key elements of the TSB-C's mandate: Investigation, Safety Analysis and Communication. We had originally treated Investigation and Safety Analysis as two separate functions. Investigators would assess the circumstances of individual accidents and incidents. Safety Analysts would use the data from multiple accidents or incidents to assess whether actions were required to reduce risk. We now treat both functions as part of investigations. Safety Analysis starts as soon as there are data to analyse. Similarly, Communication starts as soon as we have something to say; it is not left to the end of the process. We find that if we discuss safety issues, as they arise, with those who can make changes, they will often initiate corrective action. Thus the investigation report can report on Action Taken rather than on Action Required.

The elements of ISIM are as folows:

  • Notification of Accident/Incident
  • Assess Whether to Investigate
    • Main Criterion is the Potential to Advance Safety
    • We May Deploy Investigators Before Deciding
  • Continue Data Collection
  • Create Event Sequence
  • Examine Each Event for Unsafe Acts, Unsafe Conditions
  • Risk Assessment
    • Probability and Magnitude of Adverse Consequences
  • Defence Analysis
  • Safety Deficiency Identification
  • Assess Risk Control Options
  • Communication of Results

The Investigation Process starts with the notification of an occurrence (an accident or incident). The basic data are assessed to determine whether to conduct an investigation. The main criterion is the potential to advance safety. Additional data may be required to complete the assessment. If it is decided to investigate, we continue data collection to identify all the significant events both before and immediately after the accident.

We then begin the Analysis Process. Each event is examined for associated unsafe acts and unsafe conditions. We then search for deeper level underlying factors that facilitate those unsafe acts/conditions. Next, we do a risk assessment to estimate qualitatively the nature and extent of risks to safety. Since risk is the product of the probability of an undesired outcome and the magnitude of the adverse consequences, we look at both elements. The next phase is called defence or (barrier) analysis; however, defence analysis usually starts much earlier in the investigation. Inadequacies in defences or barrier between hazards and vulnerable subjects (people, property, or environment) are found in every accident. Either the defences didn't exist, or they didn't function as intended. There are two categories of defences: physical and administrative. Physical defences include protective guards, signals, alarms, etc. Administrative defences include standards, regulations, operating procedures, supervision, training, etc.

An underlying factor with a level of risk for which there are inadequate defences is considered a safety deficiency. Each identified safety deficiency is assessed for risk control options that could reduce probability or consequence. These options are then assessed for effectiveness, practicability, acceptability, etc.

The results must then be communicated to those who can make changes. In fact, safety communication occurs all through the process so that those who can make or influence change can initiate improvements quickly. Safety Communication for the TSB-C also includes the public release of an investigation report and of any associated safety recommendations.

Conclusion

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada is one of a small but growing number of truly independent agencies set up to investigate transportation accidents and incidents for the sole purpose of advancing safety. The evolution of the TSB-C has been determined by the socio-political environment in Canada.

Other countries who are considering establishing such an agency can benefit from the experiences of those that have preceded them. They need only consider the available examples, assess the underlying principles, adopt a workable model and adapt to their own socio-political environment.

Discours

L'évolution des enquêtes sur la sécurité des transports,
une perspective canadienne

Introduction

De plus en plus de pays se dotent d'organismes gouvernementaux indépendants, mandatés pour enquêter sur les accidents et les incidents qui surviennent dans le secteur des transports et ce, dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité. Certains de ces organismes concentrent leurs efforts sur un seul mode de transport tandis que d'autres sont de nature multimodale. Ils peuvent présenter des différences au chapitre de la structure organisationnelle, de la nature de leurs fonctions et de l'étendue de leur mandat, mais un nombre croissant ont deux choses en commun : ils sont indépendants et mettent l'accent sur la sécurité. Dans ce document, je tâcherai de décrire, d'une part, l'évolution de la situation jusqu'à la création du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) et, d'autre part, la philosophie dont il s'inspire. Je formulerai des observations personnelles sur l'organisme précédent, dont les activités étaient unimodales, et sur l'actuelle organisation de nature multimodale. Enfin, j'aborderai la méthodologie d'enquête utilisée dans les quatre modes de transport qui relèvent du mandat du Bureau.

Évolution du BST

Durant de nombreuses années, ce sont les organismes responsables de la réglementation des transports qui se sont occupés, avec compétence et efficience, des enquêtes sur les accidents de transport au Canada. Peu à peu, le public a commencé à relever, plus particulièrement dans le secteur de l'aviation, que le responsable de la réglementation, en l'occurrence le ministère des Transports, établissait les normes de sécurité à l'intention de l'industrie, exploitait certains éléments du réseau de transport comme les aéroports et le contrôle de la circulation aérienne, délivrait les licences aux transporteurs et au personnel et appliquait ses propres règlements. Parallèlement, il analysait les manquements à la sécurité relevés au sein de l'industrie où sa présence était visible. Le public a commencé à avoir des doutes au sujet de la pertinence du système puis a demandé des réformes.

Des responsables du ministère des Transports ont rétorqué qu'ils connaissaient l'industrie mieux que quiconque et qu'ils faisaient preuve de compétence et d'objectivité. Je crois que cela décrit assez bien la situation. Naturellement, ils voulaient que le ministère des Transports continue de s'occuper des enquêtes sur les accidents. Pendant ce temps, d'aucuns à l'extérieur du ministère faisaient valoir des arguments solides pour des changements, et pas seulement dans le secteur de l'aviation. Ils craignaient un manque d'objectivité de la part des responsables de la réglementation, surtout lorsque les enjeux étaient importants. Au milieu des années 70, le gouvernement a introduit un projet de loi visant la création d'un poste de commissaire indépendant d'enquête sur les accidents de transport. Ce commissaire aurait pour mandat de mener des enquêtes sur les accidents mortels dans les secteurs aérien, maritime et ferroviaire ainsi que sur certains accidents non mortels présentant un intérêt particulier. À cette époque, la société évaluait l'importance d'un accident en termes de pertes de vie, et c'était ce qui justifiait principalement la tenue d'une enquête. Règle générale, on se concentrait sur la cause de l'accident. La plupart des parties concernées ne s'étaient pas encore penchées sur l'importance des problèmes se sécurité sous-jacents.

À ce moment, les enquêteurs et les rédacteurs de loi ont réalisé d'importants progrès dans le processus de réflexion sur les enquêtes sur les accidents. On reconnaissait qu'on ne pouvait pas déterminer la cause d'un accident de transport avec toute la rigueur scientifique voulue. Toutefois, on pouvait définir les risques pour la sécurité. De plus, comme la détermination de la cause se traduisait souvent par la détermination des fautes, il était préférable de l'exclure des responsabilitéés de l'enquêteur. En outre, ce qui n'aidait en rien, le public s'attendait à ce que l'enquêteur révèle la cause de l'accident dans le rapport d'enquête. Dans cet ordre d'idées, le commissaire aurait à formuler des constatations sur les causes de l'accident. En d'autres mots, le commissaire devrait discuter des constatations qui semblaient reliées à la cause de l'accident et ne serait pas tenu d'indiquer la cause ou la cause probable, comme cela était le cas auparavant. Le gouvernement voulait également que les lacunes en matière de sécurité soient cernées à l'échelle du réseau de transport. Dans certains cas, cela mettrait l'accent, non plus sur les circonstances de l'accident, mais plutôt sur les problèmes liés au réseau découverts lors de que l'enquête et, chose plus importante, sur des problèmes de sécurité n'ayant peut-être pas de lien avec la cause.

Le projet de loi est resté en plan en raison de l'ajournement de la cession parlementaire. Toutefois, l'idée d'un bureau d'enquête indépendant a refait surface quelques années plus tard.

En février 1978, il y a eu un grave accident d'aviation dans l'Ouest canadien. Un Boeing 737 atterrissait par visibilité réduite à un aéroport non contrôlé situé en région montagneuse. Peu après le toucher des roues, les pilotes ont observé un véhicule de déneigement droit devant sur la piste. Ils ont voulu faire une remise des gaz, mais ils ont perdu la maîtrise de l'avion qui s'est écrasé en bordure de la piste. L'accident a fait un grand nombre de morts et de blessés graves. Peu après le début de l'enquête, les enquêteurs ont été accusés d'incompétence et de destruction d'éléments de preuve. La réaction du public ne s'est pas fait attendre, et d'autres questions reliées à la sécurité aérienne ont été soulevées et examinées, tant et si bien que le gouvernement a confié à un juge le soin de mener une enquête sur la sécurité aérienne au Canada. Cette enquête de premier plan a duré plus de deux ans. Le premier rapport est paru à la fin de 1981. Il traitait des enquêtes sur les accidents d'aviation. L'enquête, avec preuves à l'appui, avait permis de déceler des cas où des cadres supérieurs du ministère des Transports avaient tenté d'exercer une influence sur les activités des enquêteurs. Le juge avait donc tous les éléments nécessaires pour recommander la création d'un organisme fédéral indépendant mandaté pour mener des enquêtes sur les accidents et les incidents d'aviation. Il estimait que la même approche devrait être adoptée à l'égard des autres modes de transport ultérieurement.

Le gouvernement était prêt et a procédé à la rédaction de la nouvelle législation. C'est ainsi que le Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne (BCSA) a vu le jour, et en 1984, il commençait ses activités en tant qu'organisme indépendant, fort d'un mandat à la fois novateur et global en matière de sécurité et d'enquête sur les accidents. À bien des égards, le BCSA présentait des caractéristiques similaires au National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) des États-Unis, tout en ayant quelques différences notables. Entre autres, le mandat du BCSA ne faisait pas mention de la détermination de la cause probable, mais plutôt de la formulation de conclusions sur les causes et les facteurs contributifs. Le mandat précisait également qu'il lui fallait préciser les manquements à la sécurité mis en lumière lors des enquêtes sur les accidents et les incidents d'aviation. Le Canada s'est inspiré des bonnes idées mises de l'avant par plusieurs pays et les a adaptées au contexte social et à la mentalité de l'époque au Canada.

En 1990, le BCSA unimodal a été remplacé par le BST multimodal, changement qui est survenu plus rapidement que prévu en raison des conflits au sein du BCSA. Des membres du Bureau avaient des vues divergentes au sujet de leur rôle et de leur interaction avec le personnel technique de l'organisme. Ce différend d'ordre philosophique a dégénéré en un conflit au sujet de l'enquête sur un accident d'aviation majeur, ce qui a amené l'inclusion d'une opinion divergente mineure dans pratiquement tout rapport d'enquête important. Le gouvernement de l'époque a adopté une loi pour abolir le Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne et créer le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada. La nouvelle loi clarifiait le mandat et le rôle des membres du Bureau et transférait au nouvel organisme indépendant la responsabilitéé des enquêtes sur les accidents et les incidents survenus dans les modes de transport maritime, ferroviaire et par pipeline.

La situation actuelle

Le mandat du BST est simple : l'organisme a pour mission de promouvoir la sécurité des transports

  • en procédant à des enquêtes indépendantes, y compris des enquêtes publiques au besoin, sur les accidents de transport choisis
  • en en dégageant les causes et les facteurs
  • en constatant les manquements à la sécurité
  • en faisant des recommandations sur les moyens d'éliminer ou de réduire ces manquements
  • en publiant des rapports rendant compte de ses enquêtes et présentant les conclusions qu'il en tire.

Le BST exerce ses activités depuis un peu plus de 10 ans et il semble qu'on lui accorde beaucoup de crédibilité au Canada et à l'échelle internationale. Certaines modifications ont été apportées à notre législation en 1998, modifications qui, en deux mots, ont abouti à une indépendance accrue par rapport aux responsables de la réglementation et aux tribunaux, à une plus large place accordée à la détermination des manquements à la sécurité et à une réforme administrative. Personne ne semble souhaiter le retour à la structure des années 70. Ayant personnellement connu les trois modes structuraux canadiens pendant ma carrière de fonctionnaire, je n'hésite pas à affirmer que je préfère la structure actuelle, c'est-à-dire un bureau d'enquête tout à fait indépendant et multimodal.

Résumé de la philosophie du BST

Pour établir un bureau d'enquête indépendant, il faut d'abord et avant tout reconnaître les différents types d'enquêtes qui sont tous justifiées dans une société civilisée. L'organisme de réglementation gouvernemental a besoin d'un bureau d'enquête sur les accidents de transport pour s'assurer du respect des règlements. Les tribunaux en ont également besoin pour le contentieux pénal et civil. Quoi qu'il en soit, dans tous les cas, les efforts doivent être concentrés sur le responsable de l'activité problématique. Un organisme comme le BST n'a aucun intérêt à déterminer les fautes ou les responsabilitéés. Nous voulons simplement établir ce qui s'est passé et pourquoi, dans le seul but de réduire les risques liés au réseau de transport. En ayant un seul objectif, nos chances de succès sont plus grandes.

Nos chances de succès sont également liées au caractère indépendant dont jouit l'enquêteur qui fait l'enquête de sécurité. Plus il y a d'autonomie par rapport aux responsables de la réglementation et aux tribunaux, plus grandes sont les chances que les personnes concernées communiquent en toute liberté et honnêteté avec les enquêteurs. La loi canadienne prévoit une protection contre la divulgation des déclarations ainsi que des restrictions sur l'utilisation des renseignements ou des conclusions du BST dans des procédures judiciaires ou disciplinaires.

Le ton des rapports d'enquête du BST se veut neutre à tous égards. Nous essayons de présenter des arguments probants pour convaincre les autres parties d'apporter des améliorations à la sécurité. Les recommandations du Bureau en matière de sécurité sont rarement de nature prescriptive; le message véhiculé est plutôt le suivant : de grâce, prenez des mesures pour résoudre ce problème de sécurité. En fait, le Bureau est très heureux quand ses rapports d'enquête décrivent les mesures de sécurité qui ont déjà été prises et qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de formuler des recommandations.

Enfin, il y a la question du bureau multimodal par rapport au bureau unimodal. Selon nous, les citoyens du Canada ont le droit de bénéficier d'une méthode semblable pour traiter les questions de sécurité dans tous les modes de transport. Nous avons constaté que tous les modes pouvaient utiliser la même méthodologie d'enquête. Ils peuvent également utiliser les mêmes ressources dans certains domaines, ce qui permet de réaliser des économies.

Méthodologie d'enquête

Le BST a mis au point une méthodologie d'enquête : la MIES, ce qui signifie Méthodologie intégrée d'enquête sur la sécurité. La MIES insiste davantage sur l'amélioration de la sécurité et peut être utilisée dans tous les modes de transport. Il ne s'agit pas d'une création unique, mais plutôt de l'intégration d'éléments utilisés dans d'autres pays et dans d'autres industries.

La MIES reprend trois grands éléments du mandat du BST : enquête, analyse de la sécurité et communication. Au début, nous avons considéré les enquêtes et les analyses de la sécurité comme deux fonctions distinctes. Les enquêteurs examinaient les circonstances entourant les accidents et les incidents tandis que les analystes de sécurité utilisaient les données provenant de divers accidents ou incidents pour établir s'il fallait prendre des mesures pour réduire les risques. Ces deux fonctions font dorénavant partie de l'enquête. Les analystes de sécurité se mettent à l'oeuvre dès qu'ils ont des données à analyser. De même, nous commençons à émettre des communications dès que nous avons des choses à communiquer; nous n'attendons plus à la fin du processus. Nous avons constaté que si nous examinons les questions de sécurité à mesure qu'elles se présentent avec les intervenants à même de prendre des mesures, notre démarche aboutit souvent à des mesures correctives. Ainsi, le rapport d'enquête peut porter sur les mesures prises plutôt que sur les mesures à prendre.

Les étapes de la MIES sont les suivantes :

  • Réception d'une notification d'événement
  • Décision d'ouvrir une enquête
    • le principal critère est la possibilité de tirer des leçons de sécurité
    • nous pouvons dépêcher des enquêteurs sur les lieux avant de prendre la décision d'ouvrir une enquête
  • Collecte des données
  • Identification de la chronologie des événements ayant mené à l'accident
  • Identification des actes dangereux et des conditions dangereuses
  • Évaluation des risques
    • Probabilité et importance des conséquences malheureuses
  • Analyse des dispositifs de sécurité
  • Identification des manquements à la sécurité
  • Évaluation des options de contrôle des risques
  • Communication de sécurité

Le processus d'enquête commence lorsque le BST apprend qu'il y a eu un accident ou un incident par le biais d'une notification d'événement. Les données préliminaires sont évaluées pour déterminer s'il faut ouvrir une enquête. Le principal critère est la possibilité de tirer des leçons de sécurité. Des données complémentaires peuvent s'avérer nécessaires pour faire l'évaluation. Si l'on décide d'ouvrir une enquête, on poursuit la collecte des données pour identifier tous les événements importants qui sont survenus avant et après l'accident.

Ensuite, on procède à l'analyse des données. Cela signifie que chaque événement est examiné en vue de cerner les actes dangereux et les conditions dangereuses. On se concentre ensuite sur les facteurs sous-jacents liés aux actes dangereux et aux conditions dangereuses. On fait ensuite une évaluation des risques pour déterminer la nature et l'importance des risques pour la sécurité. Comme le risque résulte de la probabilité de conséquences malheureuses et de la gravité des conséquences malheureuses, nous examinons ces deux éléments. On analyse ensuite les dispositifs de sécurité (moyens de précaution). Toutefois, cette analyse est amorcée beaucoup plus tôt dans l'enquête. Les problèmes liés aux dispositifs de sécurité ou aux moyens de précaution entre la source du danger et les cibles vulnérables (c'est-à-dire les personnes, les biens ou l'environnement) sont relevés dans tous les accidents. Soit que les dispositifs de sécurité étaient absents, soit qu'ils n'ont pas fonctionné comme prévu. Il existe deux catégories de dispositifs de sécurité : les dispositifs matériels et les dispositifs administratifs. Les dispositifs de sécurité matériels comprennent les dispositifs de protection, les signaux d'alarme, les alarmes, etc. Les dispositifs de sécurité administratifs comprennent les normes, les règlements, les procédures d'exploitation, la supervision, la formation, etc.

Un manquement à la sécurité est un facteur sous-jacent auquel sont associés des risques pour lesquels les dispositifs de sécurité sont insuffisants ou inadéquats. Chaque manquement à la sécurité cerné est évalué pour déterminer des options de contrôle des risques qui permettraient de réduire la probabilité de conséquences malheureuses ou de réduire la gravité des conséquences malheureuses. Il faut ensuite évaluer l'efficacité des options de contrôle des risques, les moyens de mise en oeuvre, leur acceptation, etc.

Les résultats doivent ensuite être communiqués à ceux qui peuvent faire des changements. En fait, des communications de sécurité sont émises pendant tout le processus de sorte que les personnes qui sont à même de prendre les mesures nécessaires peuvent intervenir rapidement. Le BST publie également le rapport d'enquête et, s'il y a lieu, des recommandations de sécurité.

Conclusion

Le BST fait partie du petit nombre, sans cesse croissant, d'organismes vraiment indépendants qui sont mandatés pour mener des enquêtes sur les accidents et les incidents de transport dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité. Le milieu sociopolitique au Canada a exercé une influence marquante dans l'évolution du BST.

Les pays qui songent à créer un tel organisme peuvent profiter de l'expérience de ceux qui jouissent déjà d'un tel organisme. Les exemples abondent et ils n'ont qu'à évaluer les principes sous-jacents, choisir un modèle qui leur convient et l'adapter à leur propre milieu sociopolitique.