News release

The TSB and NTSB are assessing CN train derailment in the St. Clair Tunnel between Sarnia, Ontario, and Port Huron, Michigan

Gatineau Quebec, 29 June 2019 - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) and the United States National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) have deployed teams of investigators to the site of yesterday's Canadian National Railway (CN) train derailment in the St. Clair Tunnel which spans the Canada – US border.

Investigators from both agencies are working to determine the point of derailment. If the point of derailment is in Canada, the TSB will become the lead agency for the accident investigation.

Access to the site is restricted due to the limited space available and the potential hazards in the tunnel. We must ensure that the site is safe for investigators and those working to clear the accident site.

Once further information about the occurrence is available, both agencies will provide an update.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Le BST et le NTSB évaluent le déraillement d'un train du CN dans le tunnel St. Clair entre Sarnia (Ontario) et Port Huron (Michigan)

Gatineau (Québec), le 29 juin 2019 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) et le National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) des États-Unis ont déployé des équipes d'enquêteurs sur les lieux du déraillement d'un train des Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) hier dans dans le tunnel St. Clair qui enjambe la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis. .

Les enquêteurs des deux organismes s'efforcent de déterminer le point de déraillement. Si le point de déraillement se trouve au Canada, le BST deviendra l'organisme responsable de l'enquête sur l'accident.

L'accès au site est limité en raison de l'espace limité disponible et des dangers potentiels dans le tunnel. Nous devons nous assurer que le site est sécuritaire pour les enquêteurs et ceux qui travaillent à dégager le lieu de l'accident.

Les deux organismes feront le point dès que de plus amples renseignements sur l'événement seront connus.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :