News release

Associated links (R18V0127)

May 2018 fatal railway crossing accident in Chilliwack, BC, highlights the persistent risks faced by persons using assistive devices

Richmond, British Columbia, 23 July 2019 – In its investigation report (R18V0127) released today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) reiterates the need to improve safety at railway crossings designated for persons using assistive devices.

On 26 May 2018, a Canadian National Railway Company (CN) freight train travelling westward through Chilliwack, British Columbia, struck and fatally injured a pedestrian in a motorized wheelchair at the Broadway Street public crossing. The pedestrian’s wheelchair had become immobilized on the crossing. Two motorists, who had stopped at the crossing, exited their vehicles to assist the pedestrian before the collision; one of them was struck by the train and sustained serious injuries.

The investigation determined that the motorized wheelchair became immobilized when the pedestrian, who was travelling southbound, stopped with the rear wheels on the south rail, then moved the motorized wheelchair in the opposite direction. As a result, both rear caster wheels likely rotated and fell into the 103 mm gap at the crossing, known as a flangeway, between the sidewalk and the rail. The investigation also found that impending changes (effective in 2021) to designated crossings, as required by Transport Canada’s (TC) Grade Crossings Standards, would reduce the maximum flangeway width to 75 mm. This reduction, however, would be insufficient to ensure that caster wheels of 50 mm, such as those involved in this accident, do not become lodged in the flangeway.

Following the investigation of a previous crossing accident involving a motorized assistive device in Moncton, New Brunswick, in 2016 (R16M0026), the TSB recommended (R18-01) that TC work with stakeholders to identify engineering options for the improvement of crossings designated for persons using assistive devices. In its response, TC agreed with the recommendation and said it had taken measures to identify and assess engineering options that would help improve crossing safety for persons using assistive devices. The TSB has assessed the TC response to the recommendation as having Satisfactory Intent.

Following this accident, TC issued a notice of non-compliance to CN that identified a number of safety concerns with the Broadway Street public crossing. TC also issued a notice to the City of Chilliwack concerning issues with the sidewalks and road approaches. In response the city arranged for an engineering assessment of the crossing and subsequently coordinated the completion of improvement work scheduled for summer 2019.

See the TSB investigation page for more information.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified :

Communiqué

Liens connexes (R18V0127)

Un accident mortel survenu en mai 2018 à Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique) fait ressortir les risques persistants auxquels sont exposés les utilisateurs d’appareils fonctionnels aux passages à niveau ferroviaires

Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 23 juillet 2019 — Dans son rapport d'enquête (R18V0127) publié aujourd'hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) réitère la nécessité d'améliorer la sécurité aux passages à niveau désignés pour les utilisateurs d'appareils fonctionnels.

Le 26 mai 2018, un train de marchandises de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN) circulant vers l'ouest traversait Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique) lorsqu'il a happé et mortellement blessé un piéton dans un fauteuil roulant électrique au passage à niveau public de la rue Broadway. Le fauteuil roulant du piéton s’était immobilisé dans le passage à niveau. Deux automobilistes, qui s’étaient arrêtées au passage à niveau, sont descendues de leurs véhicules pour venir en aide au piéton avant la collision. L’une d’entre elles a été happée et grièvement blessée par le train.

L'enquête a permis de déterminer que le fauteuil roulant électrique s'est immobilisé lorsque le piéton, qui circulait vers le sud, s'est arrêté avec les roues arrière sur le rail sud, puis a déplacé son fauteuil roulant en sens opposé. Il est alors probable que les deux roulettes arrière ont tourné et sont tombées dans l'espace de 103 mm, appelé ornière, entre le trottoir et le rail. L'enquête a également permis d'apprendre que les changements prévus aux Normes sur les passages à niveau de Transports Canada (TC) (qui entreront en vigueur en 2021) feront passer à 75 mm la largeur maximale des ornières aux passages à niveau désignés. Toutefois, cela ne serait pas suffisant pour empêcher les roulettes de 50 mm, comme celles en cause dans cet événement, de se coincer dans les ornières.

Par suite de l'enquête sur un accident antérieur mettant en cause un appareil fonctionnel électrique à un passage à niveau à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) en 2016 (R16M0026), le BST avait recommandé (R18-01) à TC de collaborer avec les intervenants pour trouver des solutions techniques afin d'améliorer les passages à niveau désignés pour les utilisateurs d'appareils fonctionnels. Dans sa réponse, TC disait être d'accord avec la recommandation et avoir pris des mesures pour élaborer et évaluer des solutions techniques dans le but d'améliorer la sécurité aux passages à niveau pour les utilisateurs d'appareils fonctionnels. Le BST a jugé que la réponse de TC dénotait une intention satisfaisante.

Après cet accident, TC a transmis au CN un avis de non-conformité qui soulevait plusieurs préoccupations liées à la sécurité du passage à niveau public de la rue Broadway. TC a également transmis un avis à la municipalité de Chilliwack concernant les enjeux touchant les trottoirs et les approches routières. En réaction à cet avis, la municipalité a organisé une évaluation technique du passage à niveau, puis coordonné l'exécution de travaux d'amélioration prévus à l'été 2019.

Consultez la page d'enquête R18V0127 du BST pour une mise à jour.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :