News release

TSB supports Rail Safety Week and launches a safety study

Gatineau, Quebec, 30 April 2015 – On the occasion of Rail Safety Week (27 April – 3 May), the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) reiterates its ongoing support of Operation Lifesaver’s efforts to raise awareness about rail safety. Many organizations involved with the railway industry including the Railway Association of Canada, Transport Canada (TC), provincial and municipal governments, police, and community groups cooperate to save lives by educating Canadians about the hazards surrounding rail property and trains.

In the aftermath of the Lac-Mégantic train derailment and other recent accidents, rail safety has been top of mind for Canadians across the country. “Over the past 18 months, positive action has been taken by industry and TC to address the rail safety deficiencies we've identified through our investigations,” said Jean L. Laporte, Chief Operating Officer of the TSB. “We're on the right path, but there is more work to be done.”

The TSB created its Watchlist to focus attention on the issues that pose the greatest risk to Canada's transportation system; and five of the current Watchlist issues concern railway safety. One of these issues is the need for voice and video recorders in locomotives to capture in-cab communications which provides additional information to investigators when an accident occurs. To address this outstanding Watchlist issue, the TSB is pleased to announce that it will be working with TC to conduct a joint safety study on locomotive voice and video recorders.

The safety study will look at the potential safety benefits of recorders in locomotives, identify and assess related technology issues, and identify legislative and regulatory considerations. The results of this study will provide valuable information leading to the development of an action plan for the implementation of locomotive voice and video recorders. “We're looking forward to working with TC and engaging other key stakeholders on this important safety initiative,” added Mr. Laporte.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Le BST appuie la Semaine de la sécurité ferroviaire et annonce une étude de sécurité

Gatineau (Québec), le 30 avril 2015 — À l’occasion de la Semaine de la sécurité ferroviaire (du 27 avril au 3 mai), le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) réitère son soutien à l’Opération Gareautrain afin de sensibiliser le public à la sécurité ferroviaire. De nombreux organismes en relation avec l’industrie du transport ferroviaire, comme l’Association des chemins de fer du Canada, Transports Canada (TC), les gouvernements provinciaux, les administrations municipales, les services de police et les groupes communautaires, coopèrent dans le but de sauver des vies en sensibilisant les Canadiens aux dangers présents aux environs des terrains des chemins de fer et des trains.

Par suite du déraillement de Lac-Mégantic et d'autres accidents de train récents, la question de la sécurité ferroviaire préoccupe bien des gens au pays. « Au cours des 18 derniers mois, l'industrie et TC ont pris des mesures positives afin de remédier aux lacunes de sécurité ferroviaire que nos enquêtes nous ont permis de découvrir, a expliqué Jean L. Laporte, administrateur en chef des opérations du BST. Nous sommes sur la bonne voie, mais il reste du travail à faire. »

Le BST a créé sa Liste de surveillance afin d'attirer l'attention sur les problèmes qui présentent le plus grand risque pour le système de transport du Canada; cinq des enjeux qui y figurent actuellement concernent la sécurité ferroviaire. L'un d'entre eux est la nécessité d'installer des enregistreurs vidéo et des enregistreurs de conversations à bord des locomotives. L'installation de ces dispositifs permettraient aux enquêteurs d'avoir accès à de l'information additionnelle sur les communications à l'intérieur de la cabine en cas d'accident. Afin de s'attaquer à cet enjeu de la Liste de surveillance, le BST a le plaisir d'annoncer qu'il collaborera avec TC pour mener une étude de sécurité conjointe sur les enregistreurs vidéo et les enregistreurs de conversations à bord des locomotives.

Cette étude se penchera sur les avantages potentiels pour la sécurité de l'installation de ces dispositifs dans les locomotives, délimitera et évaluera les enjeux technologiques connexes, et établira les facteurs réglementaires et législatifs. Cette étude permettra de réunir des renseignements utiles en vue de l'élaboration d'un plan d'action pour l'implantation d'enregistreurs vidéo et d'enregistreurs de conversations à bord des locomotives. « Nous avons hâte de travailler avec TC et d'impliquer d'autres intervenants clés dans ce projet important pour la sécurité », a ajouté M. Laporte.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca