Rail news release 2008

TSB # R01/2008

THE TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD OF CANADA IDENTIFIES SAFETY DEFICIENCIES WITH 36-INCH CANADIAN NATIONAL TRANSCONA WHEEL SHOP WHEEL SETS

(Gatineau, Quebec, June 5, 2008) - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its final investigation report (R06T0022) today into the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) train derailment near Buckskin, Ontario, on January 31, 2006.

A CPR freight car derailed when a wheel became loose while negotiating a curve and migrated inboard on its axle, causing both wheels to drop between the rails. While in service between October 2004 and the derailment date, undetected damage to the wheel and its mounting point on the axle occurred, leading to micro-movement that progressively loosened the wheel until a combination of lateral and rotational forces displaced the wheel inboard.

The loosened wheel set was produced using a modified wheel boring process in use between April 1998 and February 2001 at the Canadian National (CN) Transcona wheel shop. Approximately 43 000 wheel sets were produced using this process. The Board investigation determined that at least 18 Transcona wheel shop wheel sets caused derailments in Canada, and an unknown number outside of Canada, dating back to 2000. These wheel sets have a high susceptibility to loosen, particularly in heavy-curvature territory. The risk of failure for these remaining wheel sets continues to increase the longer they remain in service.

Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport ensure that all 36-inch Canadian National Transcona wheel shop wheel sets assembled between April 1998 and February 2001 be removed from cars operating in Canada.
(R08-01)

Because the industry has no effective way to track wheel sets once they are removed from their original car, wheel sets with potentially defective components cannot be easily located and removed from service before failure. The inability to quickly locate defective wheel set components increases the risk of a failure, which can lead to a derailment.

Therefore, the Board also recommends that:

The Department of Transport ensure that railways adopt procedures and technologies to track all wheel sets.
(R08-02)

On 31 January 2006, southward CPR freight train 230-30 derailed one car at Mile 114.65 of the MacTier Subdivision. The train continued at 45 mph to Mile 103.48 near Buckskin, Ontario, where it experienced an undesired emergency train brake application and 11 additional cars derailed. Approximately 400 feet of track, including the Buckskin Siding north turnout and signal structures, were destroyed and the preceding 11 miles of track was heavily damaged. There were no dangerous goods involved and no injuries.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

- 30 -

The public report, R06T0022, photos and animation are also available on this site.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués

BST no R01/2008

LE BUREAU DE LA sécurité DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA DCLE DES LACUNES DE sécurité DANS LES ESSIEUX MONTS DE 36 POUCES PROVENANT DE L'ATELIER DE ROUES TRANSCONA DU CANADIEN NATIONAL

Gatineau (Qubec) le 5 juin 2008 - Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publi aujourd'hui son rapport d'enqute final (R06T0022) sur le draillement d'un train du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CFCP) survenu le 31 janvier 2006 prs de Buckskin (Ontario).

Un wagon de marchandises du CFCP a draill aprs qu'une roue est devenue lche pendant le passage dans une courbe et s'est dplace vers l'intrieur sur l'essieu, aprs quoi les deux roues sont tombes entre les rails. Entre la mise en service de l'essieu en octobre 2004 et la date du draillement, la roue et son point de montage sur l'essieu ont subi des dommages non dtects, ce qui a cr un micromouvement qui a rendu la roue de plus en plus lche jusqu' ce qu'une combinaison de forces latrales et de forces de rotation dplace la roue vers l'intrieur.

L'essieu mont dont une roue est devenue lche a t produit l'aide d'un processus modifi d'alsage des roues qui a t utilis d'avril 1998 février 2001 l'atelier de roues Transcona du Canadien National (CN). Environ 43 000 essieux monts ont t produits l'aide de ce processus. L'enqute mene par le Bureau a permis de dterminer que, depuis 2000, il y a eu au moins 18 draillements causs par des essieux monts provenant de l'atelier de roues Transcona au Canada et un nombre inconnu de draillements l'extrieur du pays. Les roues de ces essieux monts sont fort susceptibles de devenir lches, tout particulirement dans des territoires o les courbes sont nombreuses. Le risque de défaillance des essieux monts restants continuera d'augmenter aussi longtemps que les essieux demeureront en service.

Par consquent, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministre des Transports veille ce que tous les essieux monts de 36 pouces dont l'atelier de roues Transcona du Canadien National a assur l'assemblage entre avril 1998 et février 2001 soient retirs de sous les wagons qui circulent au Canada.

(R08-01)

Comme l'industrie ne dispose d'aucun moyen efficace pour localiser les essieux monts une fois que ceux-ci sont retirs de sous leur wagon d'origine, il est difficile de localiser les essieux potentiellement dfectueux et de les retirer du service avant qu'ils ne connaissent une défaillance. L'incapacit de localiser rapidement les pices dfectueuses des essieux monts a pour effet d'accrotre les risques d'une défaillance qui peut entraner un draillement.

Par consquent, le Bureau recommande galement que :

Le ministre des Transports veille ce que les compagnies ferroviaires se dotent de procdures et de technologies qui permettront d'assurer le suivi de tous les essieux monts.

(R08-02)

Rappelons que le 31 janvier 2006, un wagon du train de marchandises 230-30 du CFCP qui roulait vers le sud a draill au point milliaire 114,65 de la subdivision MacTier. Le train a continu de rouler une vitesse de 45 mi/h jusqu'au point milliaire 103,48, prs de Buckskin (Ontario). cet endroit, un serrage d'urgence intempestif des freins s'est dclench, et 11 autres wagons ont draill. La voie ferre a t dtruite sur une distance de quelque 400 pieds, y compris le branchement nord de la voie d'vitement de Buckskin et les structures de signalisation, et un tronon de 11 milles qui prcdait le lieu de l'accident a subi des dommages considrables. Aucune marchandise dangereuse n'a t en cause dans l'accident et personne n'a t bless.

Le BST est un organisme indpendant qui mne des enqutes sur des vnements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilit attribuer ni dterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pnales.

- 30 -

Le rapport final numéro R06T0022, les photos et l'animation sont aussi disponibles sur ce site.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca