News release

Lack of detailed inspection procedures contributed to a March 2017 crude oil leak at the Enbridge Terminal in Sherwood Park, Alberta

Associated links (P17H0019)

Edmonton, Alberta, 19 December 2017  – In its investigation report (P17H0019) released today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) determined that the lack of detailed inspection procedures contributed to the March 2017 crude oil leak from a storage tank at the Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Edmonton Terminal in Sherwood Park, Alberta. There were no injuries and no evacuation was required.

During a routine verification on 20 March 2017, Enbridge employees discovered traces of crude oil on the water surface in a creek that runs through the company's Edmonton Terminal. The source of the leak was a three-inch ball valve from an on-site storage tank. An estimated 10 cubic metres of product was released into the tank's secondary containment berm. Three cubic metres of the product were then released from the berm through its storm water drainage system into the creek.

Emergency response resources, which were available on site, were deployed within a few minutes to identify the origin of the leak and mitigate the impacts of the release. As a result, all released product was recovered from the containment berm and from the creek before the product reached the nearby North Saskatchewan River.

The investigation determined that the leak occurred when a gasket between the two halves of the ball valve was displaced out of its original position, likely due to volume expansion of frozen water within the valve. The product that was released into the creek flowed from a sluice gate valve at the end of the berm's storm water drain pipe. The sluice gate valve could not achieve a liquid-tight seal due to corrosion.

Although Enbridge conducts inspections at regular intervals, detailed procedures had not been implemented to assist inspectors with evaluating the condition of tank or berm components and with determining whether the components were suitable for continued service.

Following the occurrence, Enbridge initiated actions to ensure that all tank and containment berm components are thoroughly inspected. The company also reviewed its maintenance procedures as well as its hazard assessment and emergency response plans. The National Energy Board, which is responsible for regulating pipelines under federal jurisdiction, monitored the clean-up process and initiated a review of the occurrence to verify Enbridge's compliance with regulatory requirements, ensuring that the company took adequate corrective, preventive and safety actions.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

L’absence de procédures d’inspection détaillées a contribué à une fuite de pétrole brut en mars 2017 au terminal d’Enbridge à Sherwood Park (Alberta)

Liens connexes (P17H0019)

Edmonton (Alberta), le 19 décembre 2017 — Dans son rapport d'enquête (P17H0019) publié aujourd'hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a déterminé que l'absence de procédures d'inspection détaillées a contribué à la fuite de pétrole brut d'un réservoir de stockage au terminal d'Edmonton de Pipelines Enbridge Inc. à Sherwood Park (Alberta) en mars 2017. Personne n'a été blessé et aucune évacuation n'a été nécessaire.

Au cours d'une vérification de routine le 20 mars 2017, des employés d'Enbridge ont découvert des traces de pétrole brut à la surface d'un ruisseau qui traverse le terminal d'Edmonton de l'entreprise. La source de la fuite était un robinet à tournant sphérique de 3 pouces sur un réservoir de stockage local. On estime que 10 mètres cubes de produit ont été déversés dans l'enceinte secondaire de confinement du réservoir. Sur cette quantité, 3 mètres cubes ont ensuite été rejetés par le système de drainage des eaux de pluie de l'enceinte dans le ruisseau.

Des ressources d'intervention d'urgence, qui étaient disponibles sur place, ont été déployées quelques minutes plus tard pour trouver l'origine de la fuite et en atténuer les conséquences. Il a ainsi été possible de récupérer tout le produit déversé dans l'enceinte de confinement et le ruisseau avant qu'il n'atteigne la rivière Saskatchewan Nord à peu de distance.

L'enquête a permis de déterminer que la fuite s'était produite lorsqu'un joint d'étanchéité entre les deux moitiés du robinet à tournant sphérique avait été délogé, probablement sous l'effet de l'expansion de l'eau gelée dans le robinet. Le produit qui a été rejeté dans le ruisseau était passé par une vanne de vidange à l'extrémité du tuyau de drainage d'eaux de pluie de l'enceinte. Cette vanne de vidange n'était pas étanche aux liquides en raison de la corrosion.

Bien qu'Enbridge effectue des inspections à intervalles réguliers, aucune procédure détaillée n'avait été créée pour aider les inspecteurs à évaluer l'état des composants du réservoir et de l'enceinte de confinement et à déterminer si ces composants pouvaient être maintenus en service continu.

Après cet événement, Enbridge a pris des mesures pour s'assurer que tous les composants de réservoirs et de l'enceinte de confinement faisaient l'objet d'inspections exhaustives. L'entreprise a également révisé ses procédures de maintenance, ainsi que son évaluation des dangers et ses plans d'intervention d'urgence. L'Office national de l'énergie, qui est responsable de la réglementation des pipelines relevant de la compétence fédérale, a fait un suivi du processus de nettoyage et entrepris un examen de l'événement pour s'assurer qu'Enbridge se conforme à la réglementation et a pris des mesures correctives, préventives et de sécurité adéquates.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca