News release

TSB provides update on investigation into Fond-du-Lac accident, expands data collection on aircraft operations in remote areas

Associated links (A17C0146)

Winnipeg, Manitoba, 23 April 2018 – Today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released a factual update on its investigation (A17C0146) into the fatal aircraft accident that occurred in Fond-du-Lac, Saskatchewan, on 13 December 2017. The update provides additional information on the sequence of events that led to the accident, the progress of the investigation activities to date, and the work planned for the next steps ahead.

As part of the investigation, the TSB will be conducting a data gathering exercise regarding aircraft operations at remote airports in Canada. "We count on the widest collaboration possible to better understand the challenges and requirements involved in ensuring safe flying conditions to and from remote communities," said Natacha Van Themsche, TSB Director of investigations, Air.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified:

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A17C0146)

Le BST fait le point sur l’enquête de l’accident à Fond-du-Lac et élargit sa cueillette de données sur la navigation aérienne en région éloignée

Winnipeg (Manitoba), le 23 avril 2018 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui une mise à jour factuelle sur son enquête (A17C0146) relative à l'accident d'avion mortel qui est survenu à Fond-du-Lac, en Saskatchewan, le 13 décembre 2017. Cette mise à jour fournit des renseignements additionnels sur la séquence des événements qui ont mené à l'accident, le progrès des activités d'enquête à ce jour, et le travail prévu pour les prochaines étapes.

Dans le cadre de cette enquête, le BST mènera une collecte de données concernant les opérations de navigation aérienne dans les aéroports canadiens en région éloignée. « Nous comptons sur la collaboration la plus vaste possible pour mieux comprendre les défis et les besoins pour assurer des conditions sécuritaires aux vols qui desservent les collectivités éloignées du pays », a déclaré Natacha Van Themsche, la directrice des enquêtes aéronautiques du BST.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :