News release

TSB participates in a major air disaster exercise at the Vancouver International Airport

Gatineau, Quebec, 29 April 2015 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is once again participating in an exercise at the Vancouver International Airport (YVR) in British Columbia (B.C.). Today, the airport authority and several partners, including the TSB, will collaborate to test their emergency response to a major air disaster.

TSB investigators from the Richmond, B.C. regional office, along with communications personnel, will practice their emergency preparedness and response. The TSB applauds YVR's efforts to regularly conduct exercises with a view to improving safety, and is pleased to take part in the event.

For more information about this exercise, please visit the Vancouver International Airport website.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Le BST participe à un exercice d’intervention en cas de catastrophe aérienne à l'aéroport international de Vancouver

Gatineau (Québec), le 29 avril 2015 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) participe une fois encore aujourd’hui à un exercice à l'aéroport international de Vancouver (YVR) en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.). L’autorité aéroportuaire et plusieurs partenaires, y compris le BST, collaboreront pour mettre à l’essai leurs plans d’intervention d’urgence en cas de catastrophe aérienne.

Les enquêteurs du BST du bureau régional de Richmond, C.-B., ainsi que le personnel des communications, effectueront des exercices de préparation et d'intervention en cas d'urgence. Le BST applaudit les efforts qu'YVR déploie pour mener régulièrement des exercices qui visent l'amélioration de la sécurité, et il est heureux de prendre part à l'événement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cet exercice, veuillez visiter le site Web de l'aéroport international de Vancouver.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca