Communiqué

TSB # A01/2012

Transportation Safety Board of Canada Releases Factual Information About Crash at North Spirit Lake

(Gatineau, Quebec, January 13, 2012) - Transportation Safety Board of Canada investigators have released new factual information regarding the crash of a Keystone Air Service Piper PA-31 (Navajo) aircraft near North Spirit Lake, Ontario, on 10 January 2012. In addition, photographs of the wreckage site are available on the Featured Investigations page. The factual information is as follows:

What we know

Keystone Air Service Ltd. Flight 213, a Piper PA-31 Navajo was on a flight from Winnipeg, Manitoba to North Spirit Lake, Ontario. It crashed on a lake about 1.1 nautical miles from the runway at approximately 10:05 Central Standard Time (CST). There was a post-crash fire and 4 of the 5 people on board were fatally injured. The survivor was airlifted to a care facility by an air ambulance at approximately 13:00 CST.

  • The wreckage path is approximately 106 meters long.
  • The orientation of the wreckage path is approximately 140 degrees.
  • The wreckage is located about 1.1 nautical miles northwest of the beginning of runway 13.
  • The team has found indications that the landing gear was down and the flaps were partially extended.
  • Aircraft parts (glass, panels, cargo, wing parts) were found early on the wreckage trail.
  • The team found heavy fire damage in the fuselage and the right wing area.

Next Steps

The Team is planning to:

  • Take a further look at the engines and propellers;
  • Bring out some instruments and radios although badly damaged;
  • Return from the site via Red Lake today (13 January).

The information posted is factual in nature and does not contain any analysis. Analysis of the accident, along with the Findings of the Board will become available when the final report is released. The investigation is ongoing.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué

BST no A01/2012

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports diffuse de nouveaux faits sur l'écrasement de North Spirit Lake

Gatineau (Québec) le 13 janvier 2012 - Les enquêteurs du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada diffusent de nouveaux faits au sujet de l’écrasement du Piper PA-31 (Navajo) exploité par Keystone Air Service qui s’est produit près de North Spirit Lake (Ontario) le 10 janvier 2012. De plus, des photos de l’épave sur le site de l’écrasement sont désormais disponibles dans la page d'Enquête mise en profil. Voici les nouveaux faits en question :

Ce que nous savons

Le vol 213 de Keystone Air Service Ltd., effectué sur Piper PA-31 Navajo, provenait de Winnipeg (Manitoba) et avait pour destination North Spirit Lake (Ontario). L’appareil s’est écrasé sur un lac, à environ 1,1 mille marin de la piste d’atterrissage, vers 10 h 05 heure normale du Centre (HNC). Un incendie s’est déclaré après l’écrasement et 4 des 5 personnes à bord ont péri. Le survivant a été héliporté par ambulance aérienne à un centre de soins vers 13 h HNC.

  • Les débris s’étendent sur un sillon de 106 mètres.
  • Le sillon de débris est orienté à 140 degrés.
  • L'épave est située environ 1,1 mille marin au nord-ouest du seuil de la piste d’atterrissage 13.
  • L'équipe a trouvé des signes indiquant que le train d’atterrissage était abaissé et que les volets étaient partiellement sortis.
  • Des morceaux de l’aéronef (du verre, des panneaux, du fret, des parties d’ailes) ont été retrouvés au sol dès le premier segment du sillon.
  • L'équipe a constaté que des dommages importants avaient été causés par un incendie dans le fuselage et à l’aile droite.

Prochaines étapes

L’équipe compte désormais passer aux étapes suivantes :
  • examiner de plus près les moteurs et les hélices;
  • ramener des instruments et des radios, même s’ils sont lourdement endommagés;
  • revenir du site en passant par Red Lake aujourd’hui (13 janvier).

Cette information est factuelle et ne comprend aucune analyse. L’analyse de l’accident, ainsi que les faits établis par le Bureau seront rendus publics à la sortie du rapport. L’enquête demeure actuellement en cours.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca