Aviation news release 2012

Carburetor icing most likely caused the November 2011 Waterloo helicopter crash

Gatineau, Quebec, 05 September 2012 — Citing engine failure as the cause of a Robinson R22 helicopter crash in November of 2011, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today released its report (A11O0222) on the accident near the Region of Waterloo International Airport, in Waterloo, Ontario.

"Environmental conditions were conducive to serious carburetor icing," said Ewan Tasker, Investigator-in-Charge. "There were no pre-impact mechanical failures or system malfunctions that would have contributed to this accident, so the ice accumulation likely led to engine failure."

On 28 November 2011, the helicopter was departing the Region of Waterloo International Airport, Ontario, for a local training flight with a student and instructor on board. Approximately 1 minute after take-off, the helicopter crashed in a drainage swamp on airport property, fatally injuring the instructor and seriously injuring the student.

Following a series of accidents and incidents, the Robinson Helicopter Company issued safety notices to its operators to reduce the likelihood of carburetor icing. These are published on its website and at the back of the pilot's operating handbook.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqués 2012

Le givrage du carburateur a probablement causé l'écrasement d'un hélicoptère à Waterloo, en novembre 2011

Gatineau (Québec) le 5 septembre 2012 – Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié aujourd'hui son rapport d'enquête (A11O0222) portant sur l'écrasement d'un hélicoptère Robinson R22 près de l'aéroport international de la Région de Waterloo, en Ontario, en novembre 2011, selon lequel une panne-moteur serait à l'origine de cet accident.

« Les conditions météorologiques étaient propices à un important givrage du carburateur », a indiqué Ewan Tasker, enquêteur désigné. « Il n'y a eu aucune défaillance mécanique, aucun mauvais fonctionnement du système avant l'impact pour entraîner cet accident, c'est donc probablement l'accumulation de givre qui a causé la panne-moteur ».

Le 28 novembre 2011, l'hélicoptère en cause a décollé de l'aéroport international de la Région de Waterloo, en Ontario, pour effectuer un vol local d'entraînement avec un élève et un instructeur à bord. Environ une minute après le décollage, l'hélicoptère s'est écrasé dans un bassin de drainage sur la propriété de l'aéroport, infligeant des blessures mortelles à l'instructeur et de graves blessures à l'élève.

Comme suite à plusieurs accidents et incidents, l'entreprise Robinson Helicopter a émis des avis de sécurité à l'intention des exploitants de ces appareils en vue d'atténuer les risques de givrage des carburateurs. Ces avis sont publiés sur le site Internet de l'entreprise et à la fin du manuel d'utilisation de l'appareil.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca