News release

TSB modernizes transportation safety regulations

Gatineau, Quebec, 12 March 2014 – The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) today announced modernized regulations governing the reporting and investigation of occurrences in Canada's transportation sector. The Transportation Safety Board Regulations, published today in the Canada Gazette, Part II, are clearer and easier to understand.

TSB factsheets

“The transportation industry and its legislation have evolved a great deal since the Regulations were first introduced 22 years ago,” explained Wendy Tadros, Chair of the TSB. “The changes announced today bring the Regulations up-to-date and take better advantage of electronic information sharing.”

The Regulations strengthen the rules governing accident reporting in Canada, introducing additional requirements for railways, the release of dangerous goods, and lighter aircraft. Among key changes are measures to:

  • Re-organize the Regulations from six sections to two;
  • Modernize and introduce definitions that are harmonized with other federal legislation, international agreements and standards;
  • Clarify provisions that had been subject to misinterpretation;
  • Formalize existing investigation policies and procedures; and
  • Allow witnesses to be accompanied by one representative of their choice during TSB interviews.

In developing these Regulations, the TSB consultedwith the public, regulators, provincial governments, industry associatio ns and transportation companies. Part I, which addresses accident reporting, comes into effect on 1 July 2014. Part II of the Regulations takes immediate effect.

Consult TSB factsheets for further details about the Transportation Safety Board Regulations.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Communiqué de presse

Le BST actualise son règlement sur la sécurité des transports

Gatineau (Québec), le 12 mars 2014 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a annoncé aujourd'hui l'actualisation du règlement qui gouverne le signalement et les enquêtes d'événements dans le secteur des transports au Canada. Le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports, qui est publié aujourd'hui dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, sera plus clair et plus facile à comprendre.

Fiches d'information du BST

« Le secteur des transports et les lois qui le régissent ont énormément changé depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la réglementation, il y a 22 ans, explique Wendy Tadros, présidente du BST. Les changements que nous annonçons aujourd’hui mettent à jour cette réglementation et exploitent mieux le partage de l’information par voie électronique. »

Le Règlement renforce les règles qui gouvernent le signalement d’accidents au Canada, et présente des exigences additionnelles à l’égard des chemins de fer, des déversements de matières dangereuses et des aéronefs plus légers. Les principaux changements comprennent des mesures visant à :

  • réorganiser le règlement pour passer de six sections à deux;
  • moderniser les définitions et en ajouter de nouvelles, par souci d’harmonisation avec d’autres lois fédérales ainsi qu’avec les normes et les accords internationaux;
  • clarifier certaines dispositions qui prêtaient à mauvaise interprétation;
  • officialiser les politiques et les procédures actuelles relatives aux enquêtes;
  • permettre l’accompagnement des témoins par un représentant de leur choix durant les entrevues menées par le BST.

Le BST a consulté le public,les organismes de réglementation, les gouvernements provinciaux, les associations sectorielles et les entreprises de transport pour élaborer le Règlement. La Partie 1, qui porte sur le signalement des accidents, entrera en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014. La Partie 2 du règlement entre en vigueur immédiatement.

Consultez les fiches d'information pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca