News release

TSB’s 2014 Watchlist highlights eight significant transportation safety issues

Gatineau, Quebec, 26 November 2014 – Through its updated Watchlist for 2014, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is once again raising awareness about the safety issues that pose the greatest risk to Canada’s marine, rail, and air transportation sectors.

“Our role at the TSB is to shine a spotlight on the areas where strong action must be taken by the regulator and transportation industry officials, and our evidence is found in hundreds of accident investigations, thousands of hours of research, and dozens of TSB recommendations,” said Kathy Fox, Chair of the TSB.

On this Watchlist, the one multi-modal issue is safety management and Transport Canada (TC) oversight. While all federally-regulated rail companies are required to have safety management systems (SMS), not all operators in the marine and air industry are required to have formal safety management processes to manage their risks. The TSB is therefore asking TC to require all companies to implement some formalized process to proactively identify and reduce risk.

In addition, in recent investigations, including the one into the tragic accident in Lac-Mégantic, the TSB has identified problems with TC oversight, including a failure to identify companies' ineffective processes, and an imbalance between auditing processes versus traditional inspections.

“An SMS on its own is not enough,” added Ms Fox. “That's why we are also calling on TC to regularly oversee all safety management systems and processes to ensure they are effective. And when transportation companies are unable to effectively manage safety, TC must intervene in a way that succeeds in changing unsafe operating practices.”

Furthermore, the TSB is calling on TC to ensure flammable liquids are safely transported by rail by requiring railway companies to properly classify these products, ship them in containers of the safest design, and conduct a route risk assessment to proactively mitigate risks.

Despite some progress on issues included on previous Watchlists—there are still persistent risks in all modes. On our waterways, too many Canadian fishermen are still losing their lives each year. In rail, the number of collisions with vehicles at railway crossings remains high; the problem of railway signal indications not being recognized and followed continues; and there is still no requirement for on-board locomotive video and voice recorders. And in the air industry, approach-and-landing accidents continue to occur; and there is still an ongoing risk of aircraft colliding with vehicles or other aircraft at airports.

“For each of the issues identified on our Watchlist—issues supported by our science, and our thorough examination of the facts and findings in every accident we investigate—we believe actions taken to date are insufficient,” added Ms Fox. “We expect Transport Canada and the transportation industry to take concrete steps to eliminate those identified risks. Canadians deserve no less than the safest possible transportation system.”



Safety management and oversight


Loss of life on fishing vessels


Following railway signal indications
On-board video and voice recorders
Railway crossing safety
Transportation of flammable liquids by rail


Approach-and-landing accidents
Risk of collisions on runways

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053

Communiqué de presse

La Liste de surveillance 2014 du BST fait ressortir huit importants enjeux de sécurité des transports

Gatineau (Québec), le 26 novembre 2014 – Avec sa Liste de surveillance mise à jour pour 2014, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) fait à nouveau connaître les enjeux de sécurité qui présentent les risques les plus sérieux pour les secteurs du transport maritime, ferroviaire et aérien au Canada.

« Notre rôle au BST est de mettre en lumière les domaines nécessitant une intervention énergique de l'organisme de réglementation et de l'industrie du transport. Ce choix est étayé par les preuves recueillies au cours de centaines d'enquêtes sur des accidents, de milliers d'heures de recherche et par des douzaines de recommandations du BST », a déclaré Kathy Fox, présidente du BST.

Un seul des enjeux de cette liste touche différents modes de transport : la gestion de la sécurité et la surveillance de Transports Canada (TC). Bien que toutes les sociétés ferroviaires sous réglementation fédérale soient tenues d'avoir des systèmes de gestion de la sécurité (SGS), les exploitants des secteurs aérien et maritime ne sont pas tous tenus d'avoir des processus de gestion de la sécurité officiels pour gérer leurs risques. Le BST demande donc à TC d'obliger toutes les entreprises à se doter d'un processus structuré pour détecter et atténuer les risques de manière proactive.

En outre, lors d'enquêtes récentes, dont celle sur la tragédie de Lac-Mégantic, le BST a relevé des problèmes dans la surveillance de TC, notamment l'incapacité du Ministère à déterminer les processus inefficaces des entreprises et le manque d'équilibre entre les processus de vérification et les inspections classiques.

« Il ne suffit pas d'avoir un SGS, a ajouté Mme Fox. C'est pourquoi nous demandons aussi à TC de vérifier régulièrement que tous les processus et les systèmes de gestion de la sécurité sont efficaces. De plus, si des entreprises de transport ne peuvent assurer efficacement la gestion de la sécurité, TC doit intervenir de façon à corriger les pratiques d'exploitation jugées non sécuritaires. »

Le BST demande également à TC de veiller à la sécurité du transport par rail des liquides inflammables en exigeant des sociétés ferroviaires qu'elles classifient correctement ces produits, qu'elles les transportent dans les contenants les plus sûrs et qu'elles effectuent une évaluation des risques associés aux itinéraires afin d'atténuer proactivement les risques.

En dépit des progrès réalisés sur certaines questions ciblées par les listes de surveillance antérieures, des risques persistent dans tous les modes de transport. Sur nos voies navigables, il y a encore trop de pêcheurs canadiens qui perdent la vie chaque année. Dans les chemins de fer, le nombre de collisions de trains avec des véhicules aux passages à niveau demeure élevé, le problème de la méconnaissance et du non-respect de la signalisation persiste, et il n'y a toujours aucune disposition exigeant la présence d'enregistreurs vidéo et de la parole à bord des locomotives. Dans l'industrie du transport aérien, des accidents surviennent encore pendant les phases d'approche et d'atterrissage, et il existe un risque persistant de collision d'aéronefs avec des véhicules ou d'autres aéronefs aux aéroports.

« Pour chacun des enjeux inscrits sur notre Liste de surveillance – une inscription étayée par nos études scientifiques et notre examen exhaustif des faits et conclusions de chaque accident sur lequel nous enquêtons –, nous estimons que les mesures prises à ce jour sont insuffisantes, a soutenu Mme Fox. Nous nous attendons à ce que Transports Canada et l'industrie du transport prennent des mesures concrètes pour éliminer ces risques. Les Canadiens ne méritent rien de moins que le système de transport le plus sécuritaire possible. »

Enjeux de la Liste de surveillance 2014

Multimodal

Gestion de la sécurité et surveillance

Marine

Pertes de vie à bord de bateaux de pêche

Rail

Respecter les indications des signaux ferroviaires
Enregistreurs vidéo ou de la parole à bord
Sécurité aux passages à niveau ferroviaires
Transport de liquides inflammables par rail

Air

Accidents à l'approche et à l'atterrissage
Risque de collision sur les pistes


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca