TSB Laboratory Report LP007/2014

Tear Down of Hand Brakes - Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway, Train MMA-002

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Project Summary

On 06 July 2013 Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA) freight train MMA-002, en route from Montréal, Quebec, to Saint John, New Brunswick, was stopped at Nantes, Quebec (Mile 7.40 of the Sherbrooke Subdivision). The train, consisting of 5 head-end locomotives, 1 VB car (special purpose caboose), 1 box car, and 72 Class 111 tank cars carrying flammable liquids (petroleum crude oil, UN 1267, Class 3), was secured on the main track on a descending grade. Shortly before 0100 on 06 July 2013, the train started to move and gathered speed as it rolled uncontrolled down the descending grade into the town of Lac-Mégantic, Quebec, 7.4 miles southeast of Nantes. While travelling at well in excess of the authorized speed, the train derailed near the centre of Lac-Mégantic. Numerous tank cars ruptured and a fire ensued.

Handbrakes from the first three derailed tank cars were removed and forwarded to the Engineering Laboratory of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada for examination.

Handbrake Car Position in consist Handbrake manufacturer Date of manufacture
1 TILX 316547 3 Klassing 1700 08/11
2 WFIX 130608 4 Klassing 1700 07/11
3 TILX 316359 5 Klassing 1700 06/11

The three handbrakes were photographed as received before examination (Figure 1). The handwheels from handbrakes 1 and 2 had been previously removed prior to shipping to the TSB laboratory but were temporarily replaced for the photographs. It is not known whether the handbrakes had been operated following the occurrence. The three handbrakes were in the released position with the upper chain attachment point clearly visible. White paint residue was visible at the upper chain attachment point on all the handbrakes although mostly removed due to fire damage on number one (Figure 2). The back plate of handbrake number 1 showed deformation (Figure 3) whereas the other two did not. The handwheel and release handle were removed from each handbrake. The nut used to secure the release handle had been welded to its shaft in each case and had to be cut before removal. The heads of the solid rivets used to join the front housing to the back plate were cut using an abrasive disc and the housing was lifted off (Figure 4).

The pitch of the smaller (pinion) gear and the larger (ring) gear of each handbrake was visually examined. There was no sign of gear damage on any of the handbrakes that would indicate that they had been in the applied position at the time of the occurrence (Figures 5 and 6).

This lab report is part of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada's investigation report R13D0054.

Rapport de laboratoire d'ingénierie du BST (LP007/2014)

Démontage des freins à main, Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway, Train MMA-002

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Résumé du projet

Le 6 juillet 2013, le train de marchandises MMA-002 de la Montreal, Maine & Atlantic Railway (MMA) en route de Montréal (Québec) à Saint-Jean (Nouveau-Brunswick), est arrêté à Nantes (Québec) au point milliaire 7,40 de la subdivision de Sherbrooke. Le train, formé de 5 locomotives en tête, de 1 fourgon VB (fourgon de queue spécial), de 1 wagon-couvert et de 72 wagons-citernes de la classe 111 transportant des liquides inflammables (pétrole brut, UN 1267), est immobilisé sur la voie principale, dans une pente. Peu après 1 h le 6 juillet 2013, le train se met en mouvement et gagne de la vitesse en dérivant dans la pente jusque dans la ville de Lac-Mégantic (Québec), 7,4 milles au sud-est de Nantes. Roulant à une vitesse bien supérieure à la vitesse autorisée, le train déraille près du centre de Lac-Mégantic. De nombreux wagons-citernes se rompent et un incendie s'ensuit.

Les freins à main des trois premiers wagons-citernes déraillés sont retirés et expédiés en vue d'un examen au Laboratoire d'ingénierie du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST).

Frein à main Wagon Position dans le train Fabricant du frein à main Date de fabrication
1 TILX 316547 3 Klassing 1700 8/11
2 WFIX 130608 4 Klassing 1700 7/11
3 TILX 316359 5 Klassing 1700 6/11

Les trois freins à main ont été photographiés à leur réception, avant l'examen (figure 1). Le volant des freins à main 1 et 2 avait été enlevé avant l'expédition au laboratoire du BST, mais on l'a remis en place provisoirement pour les photographies.  On ne sait pas si les freins à main avaient été manœuvrés après l'événement. Les trois freins à main se trouvaient dans la position de desserrage, le point d'attache supérieur de la chaîne étant clairement visible.  Au niveau de ce point d'attache, tous les freins à main comportaient visiblement des résidus de peinture blanche, que les dommages causés par le feu avaient cependant effacés en grande part sur le frein numéro 1 (figure 2). La plaque arrière du frein à main 1 montrait une certaine déformation (figure 3), mais non les deux autres. Le volant et le levier de desserrage ont été enlevés de chaque frein à main. Dans chaque cas, l'écrou utilisé pour fixer le levier de desserrage avait été soudé à l'arbre de celui-ci et avait dû être coupé avant la dépose. On s'est servi d'un disque abrasif pour couper les têtes des rivets pleins joignant le carter avant à la plaque arrière, ce qui a permis de soulever et d'enlever le carter (figure 4).

Sur chaque frein à main, on a examiné visuellement le pas de la denture de la petite roue (le pignon) et celui de la grande roue (la couronne). Aucun engrenage des freins à main ne présentait des signes de dommage qui indiqueraient que ces freins se trouvaient dans la position de serrage au moment de l'événement (figures 5 et 6).

Ce rapport de laboratoire fait partie du rapport d'enquête R13D0054 du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada.