Rail transportation safety investigation R18W0133

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 26 October 2018.

Table of contents

Main-track train derailment

Canadian Pacific Railway
Freight train 112-27
Mile 13.4, Carberry Subdivision
Rosser, Manitoba

View final report

The occurrence

On 29 May 2018, a Canadian Pacific train proceeding east on the Carberry Subdivison near Winnipeg, Manitoba, derailed 13 intermodal cars, consisting of 25 platforms and 49 containers. One of those cars was transporting 3 containers loaded with fireworks. At the time of the occurrence, the wind was blowing at 90km/h. No injuries were reported. The TSB is investigating.


Media materials

News release

2018-10-26

Investigation report: May 2018 main-track derailment near Winnipeg, Manitoba
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-05-29

TSB deploys investigators to a derailment west of Winnipeg, Manitoba

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying investigators to the site of a Canadian Pacific Railway derailment that occurred west of Winnipeg, Manitoba. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Jerry Berriault

Jerry Berriault has been with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2007. He is a senior regional investigator, Central Region, based out of the Winnipeg, Manitoba, office.

Among other responsibilities, he has been the Investigator-in-Charge of eight rail accident investigations and served as a team member in a number of other investigations throughout Canada providing operational and technical expertise.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Berriault held numerous positions with Canadian National Railway (CN) from 1980 until 2007 including superintendent of operations. While at CN he gained extensive knowledge of all aspects of train operations, including both the mechanical and engineering functions.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaires R18W0133

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 26 octobre 2018.

Table des matières

Déraillement en voie principale

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Train de marchandises 112-27
Point milliaire 13,4, subdivision de Carberry
Rosser (Manitoba)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 29 mai 2018, un train du Canadien Pacifique qui se déplaçait en direction est le long de la subdivision de Carberry près de Winnipeg, au Manitoba, a déraillé 13 wagons intermodaux, comportant 25 plateformes et 49 conteneurs. L’un des wagons en questions transportait 3 conteneurs de feux d’artifices. Au moment de l’événement, le vent soufflait à 90 km/h. Il n’y a eu aucun blessé. Le BST mène une enquête.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-10-26

Rapport d’enquête : déraillement sur la voie principale près de Winnipeg (Manitoba) en mai 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-01-06

Le BST envoie des enquêteurs sur les lieux d’un déraillement à l’ouest de Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie des enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un déraillement impliquant le chemin de fer Canadian Pacifique à l'ouest de Winnipeg (Manitoba). Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Jerry Berriault

Jerry Berriault est à l’emploi du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2007. Il occupe un poste d’enquêteur principal régional au bureau de Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Parmi ses responsabilités, il a tenu le rôle d’enquêteur désigné dans huit enquêtes ferroviaires et a fait partie d’autres équipes responsables d’enquêtes, dans l’ensemble du Canada, fournissant une expertise opérationnelle et technique.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Berriault a occupé, de 1980 à 2007, plusieurs postes pour la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada (CN), notamment celui de surintendant des opérations. Cette expérience lui a permis d’acquérir une connaissance approfondie de tous les aspects de l’exploitation ferroviaire, y compris au chapitre des fonctions mécaniques et techniques.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: