Rail transportation safety investigation R18T0032

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 11 September 2018.

Table of contents

Crossing accident

VIA Rail Canada Inc.
Passenger train No. 85
Mile 57, Guelph Subdivision
Breslau, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , a VIA Rail passenger train struck a delivery truck at a public crossing at Mile 57 on the Guelph Subdivison near the city of Breslau, Ontario. The lone occupant of the truck was fatally injured.

Media materials

News releases

2018-09-11

Investigation report: February 2018 crossing accident in Breslau, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-02-08

TSB deploys an investigator to a railway crossing accident in Kitchener, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying an investigator to a crossing accident involving a Via Rail passenger train in Kitchener, Ontario. The TSB is gathering information and assessing the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Robert Bruder

Robert Bruder joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) in September 2013 as a Regional Senior Investigator for Rail and Pipeline at the Toronto office. Mr. Bruder has an extensive background in railway operations and risk management garnered over a 36-year career with the Canadian National (CN). He managed CN's Risk Management Department for Eastern Canada from 2004 to 2013, and was extensively involved in the development and implementation of CN's safety management system, accident/injury investigation, analysis and cause-finding processes, as well as derailment emergency response and mitigation.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaires R18T0032

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 11 septembre 2018.

Table des matières

Accident à un passage à niveau

VIA Rail Canada inc.
Train de voyageurs no 85
Point milliaire 57, subdivision de Guelph
Breslau (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un train de passagers VIA Rail a heurté un camion de livraison à un passage à niveau au point milliaire 57 de la subdivision de Guelph, dans la ville de Breslau (Ontario). Le seul occupant du camion a été mortellement blessé.

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-09-11

Rapport d’enquête : collision à un passage à niveau à Breslau (Ontario), en février 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-02-08

Le BST envoie un enquêteur sur les lieux d'un accident à un passage à niveau ferroviaire survenu à Kitchener (Ontario)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie un enquêteur sur les lieux d'un accident à un passage à niveau ferroviaire impliquant un train de passagers Via Rail survenu à Kitchener (Ontario). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Robert Bruder

Robert Bruder s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) en septembre 2013 à titre d'enquêteur régional principal, Rail et Pipeline, au bureau régional de Toronto. M. Bruder possède une solide expérience dans les domaines ferroviaire et de la gestion du risque, qu'il a acquise au cours d'une carrière de 36 ans pour le Canadien National (CN). Il a géré le département de la gestion du risque du CN pour l'Est du Canada de 2004 à 2013, et a largement contribué à l'élaboration et à la mise en place du système de gestion de la sécurité du CN, ainsi que des processus d'enquête sur les accidents et les blessures, des processus d'analyse et de détermination des causes, et des processus d'intervention d'urgence et d'atténuation en cas de déraillement.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: