Rail transportation safety investigation R18D0067

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 29 March 2019.

Table of contents

Main-track derailment

Canadian Pacific Railway
Mile 35.83, Adirondack Subdivision
Delson, Quebec

View final report

The occurrence

On , a Canadian Pacific (CP) train, while exiting northward the siding track at Mile 35.87 of the Adirondack Subdivision, derailed 5 loaded cars near Delson, Quebec. Approximately 300 feet of track was damaged. The train conductor was injured.


Media materials

News releases

2019-03-29

Investigation report: July 2018 main-track derailment near Delson, Quebec
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-07-10

SB deploys an investigator to a derailment in Delson, Quebec

Montréal, Quebec, 10 July 2018 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying an investigator to the site of a Canadian Pacific Railway derailment in Delson, Quebec. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Guy Laporte

Guy Laporte joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada in 2006. He had previously acquired valuable experience in the rail industry over a 27-year career at CN in Montréal, where he held various technician positions in Technical Services and supervisory positions with the railway's Buildings and Bridges and Structures departments.

Since joining the TSB, Mr. Laporte has taken part in numerous rail accident investigations in Eastern Canada.

Mr. Laporte earned a diploma in Civil Engineering Technology from Montréal's Collège Ahuntsic in 1978.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These investigations are limited in scope, and while the final reports may contain limited analysis, they do not contain findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 220 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Rapport d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport ferroviaire R18D0067

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 29 mars 2019.

Table des matières

Déraillement en voie principale

Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique
Point milliaire 35,83, subdivision d’Adirondack
Delson (Québec)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , alors qu’il sortait de la voie d’évitement en direction nord au point milliaire 35,87 de la subdivision Adirondack, un train du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique (CP) a déraillé 5 wagons chargés près de Delson (Québec). La voie ferrée a été détruite sur une distance d’environ 300 pieds. Le chef de train a subi des blessures.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-03-29

Rapport d’enquête : déraillement en voie principale près de Delson (Québec) en juillet 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-07-10

Le BST envoie un enquêteur sur les lieux d’un déraillement à Delson (Québec)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie un enquêteur sur les lieux d’un déraillement impliquant le Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique à Delson (Québec). Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Guy Laporte

Guy Laporte s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 2006. Avant cela, il a acquis une expérience considérable du secteur ferroviaire en occupant différents postes de technicien aux Services techniques et de supervision aux Ponts & Bâtiments et aux Structures, au cours d'une carrière de plus de 27 ans au CN, à Montréal.

M. Laporte a participé aux enquêtes sur plusieurs accidents ferroviaires dans l'est du Canada, depuis qu'il s'est joint au BST.

M. Laporte a obtenu un diplôme en technique du génie civil, au Collège Ahuntsic de Montréal, en 1978.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: