Railway Investigation R16E0051

Table of contents

Main-track train collision

The occurrence

On 04 June 2016, at about 0748 Mountain Daylight Time, Canadian National Railway Company freight train Q11251-03 was proceeding eastward on the Edson Subdivision when it collided at 18 mph with the tail end of train M30251-02 at Mile 34.9 near Carvel, Alberta. No cars derailed as a result of the collision. There was minor damage to 1 empty hopper car on train M30251-02. There were no injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Greg Cronkright

Greg Cronkright joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) as an investigator in 2014 after a career with Canadian National (CN) spanning five decades.

He held various union and management positions in the transportation department of the railway in Western Canada for most of his career. Prior to his retirement from CN, Mr. Cronkright worked in the Rules and Training group.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.


Report

2017-12-05

Railway Investigation Report R16E0051
Main-track train collision
Canadian National Railway Company
Freight trains Q11251-03 and M30251-02
Mile 34.9, Edson Subdivision
Carvel, Alberta
04 June 2016


Media materials

News releases

2017-12-05

2016 train collision near Carvel, Alberta, highlights TSB's calls for physical defences to ensure railway signals are followed
Read the news release

Deployment notices

2016-06-08

TSB launches an investigation into a two-train collision near Carvel, Alberta
Read the deployment notice

Enquête ferroviaire R16E0051

Table des matières

Collision de trains en voie principale

L'événement

Le 4 juin 2016, à environ 7 h 48 (heure avancée des Rocheuses), le train Q11251-03 de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada circulant vers l'est a heurté la queue du train M30251-02 à 18 mi/h, au point milliaire 34,9 de la subdivision d'Edson, près de Carvel (Alberta). La collision n'a pas causé de déraillement. Un wagon-trémie du train M30251-02 a subi des dommages mineurs. Il n'y a pas eu de blessés.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Image de Greg Cronkright

Greg Cronkright s’est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) comme enquêteur en 2014 après une carrière avec le Canadien National (CN) s’étendant sur cinq décennies.

Il a occupé divers postes syndicaux et patronaux dans le département de transport du chemin de fer dans l'Ouest canadien pour la plupart de sa carrière. Avant sa retraite du CN, M. Cronkright travaillé dans le groupe des règles et de la formation.

Processus d'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau considère toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.


Rapport

2017-12-05

Rapport d'enquête ferroviaire R16E0051
Collision de trains en voie principale
Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada
Trains de marchandises Q11251-03 et M30251-02
Point milliaire 34,9, subdivision d'Edson
Carvel (Alberta)
4 juin 2016


Médias

Communiqués

2017-12-058

Une collision ferroviaire en 2016 près de Carvel (Alberta) renforce les appels du BST pour des défenses physiques incitant au respect des signaux ferroviaires
Lire le communiqué

Avis de déploiement

2016-06-08

Le BST ouvre une enquête sur une collision mettant en cause deux trains près de Carvel (Alberta)
Lire l'avis de déploiement