Railway Investigation R15E0173

Non main-track derailment

The occurrence

On 08 December 2015, a derailment occurred at Canadian Pacific's (CP) Scotford Yard, about 50 km northeast of Edmonton, during the performance of a switching movement. Four cars loaded with Styrene monomer, stabilized (UN2055) derailed, one of which spilled most of its contents. The other three derailed cars did not spill any product. No injuries were reported.

Map of the area

Scotford Yard, about 50 km northeast of Edmonton, Alberta

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Investigator-in-charge Greg Cronkright

Greg Cronkright joined the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) as an investigator in 2014 after a career with Canadian National (CN) spanning five decades.

He held various union and management positions in the transportation department of the railway in Western Canada for most of his career. Prior to his retirement from CN, Mr. Cronkright worked in the Rules and Training group.

Photos

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.


Media

Deployment notices

2015-12-08

TSB deploys investigator to a derailment involving a Canadian Pacific train in Edmonton, Alberta
Read the deployment notice

Enquête ferroviaire R15E0173

Déraillement en voie non principale

L'événement

Le 8 décembre 2015, un déraillement est survenu à la gare de triage Scotford du Canadien Pacifique (CP), à environ 50 km au nord-est d'Edmonton, pendant une manœuvre de triage. Quatre wagons chargés de styrène monomère stabilisé (UN2055) ont déraillé, dont un wagon qui a déversé presque tout son contenu. Les trois autres wagons déraillés n'ont pas déversé de produit. Aucun blessé n'a été signalé.

Carte de la région

Triage Scotford, environ 50 km au nord-est d'Edmonton (Alberta)

Enquêteur désigné

Image de Greg Cronkright

Greg Cronkright s'est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) comme enquêteur en 2014 après une carrière avec le Canadien National (CN) s'étendant sur cinq décennies.

Il a occupé divers postes syndicaux et patronaux dans le département de transport du chemin de fer dans l'Ouest canadien pour la plupart de sa carrière. Avant sa retraite du CN, M. Cronkright travaillé dans le groupe des règles et de la formation.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau considère toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipeline, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.


Média

Avis de déploiement

2015-12-08

Le BST envoie un enquêteur sur les lieux d'un déraillement impliquant un train exploité par Canadien Pacifique à Edmonton (Alberta)
Lire l'avis de déploiement