Marine transportation safety investigation M18P0144

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 20 November 2018.

Table of contents

Uncontrolled fall of rescue boat

Spirit of Vancouver Island rescue boat No. 3
Swartz Bay, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

View final report

The occurrence

On 20 June 2018, the passenger ferry Spirit of Vancouver Island, with 7 people on board, reported that its No. 3 rescue boat, with no one on it, slipped off the hook during hoisting after completion of a repair on its davit. The rescue boat fell into the water near the No. 1 dock at BC Ferries Swartz Bay Terminal, British Columbia. Damage to the rescue boat and its davit hook were reported. The damaged rescue boat was replaced with a loaner boat and the damaged hook was replaced with a new spare. No injuries were reported.


Media materials

News release

2018-11-20

Investigation report: June 2018 uncontrolled fall of rescue boat at Swartz Bay Terminal, British Columbia
Read the news release


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman began his career as an engineering cadet and currently holds a Transport Canada Class-1 (Motor) Certificate of Competency. In his 25 years of experience as an engineer, he has held several positions both sea-going and shore-based, with such companies and organizations as: Neptune Orient Lines (now American President Lines); Mediterranean Shipping Company; Barber Ship Management; and BC Ferries. His experience includes work with tankers, chemical tankers, bulk carriers, container ships, and roll-on-roll-off passenger ferries.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M18P0144

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 20 novembre 2018.

Table des matières

Chute accidentelle d’une embarcation de sauvetage

Spirit of Vancouver Island, embarcation de sauvetage no 3
Baie Swartz, île de Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 20 juin 2018, le traversier à passagers Spirit of Vancouver Island, qui comptait sept personnes à bord, a signalé que son bateau de sauvetage no 3 (qui n’avait personne à bord) s'est détaché du crochet pendant le hissage après une opération de réparation du bossoir. Le bateau de sauvetage est tombé dans l'eau près du quai no 1 du terminal Swartz Bay de BC Ferries, en Colombie-Britannique. On a signalé des dommages au bateau de sauvetage et au crochet du bossoir. Le bateau de sauvetage endommagé a été remplacé par un bateau prêté, et le crochet endommagé a été remplacé par une nouvelle pièce de rechange. Aucune blessure n'a été signalée.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués

2018-11-20

Rapport d’enquête : chute d’une embarcation de sauvetage à Swartz Bay, île de Vancouver (C.-B.), juin 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’élève ingénieur et est détenteur d’un certificat de mécanicien de première classe de Transports Canada. Au fil de ses 25 années d'expérience en tant qu’ingénieur, il a occupé plusieurs postes à la fois en mer et à terre, au sein d’entreprises et d’organisations telles que Neptune Orient Lines (maintenant American President Lines), Mediterranian Shipping Company, Barber Ship Management et BC Ferries. Il possède de l’expérience de travail relative aux pétroliers, aux chimiquiers, aux vraquiers, aux porte-conteneurs et aux transbordeurs rouliers de passagers.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :