Marine transportation safety investigation M17P0406

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 26 June 2018

Table of contents

Collision between barge and dredger

Dredger FRPD 309
Fraser River, British Columbia

View final report

The occurrence

On 5 December 2017, the dredger FRPD 309 lost propulsion and collided with the barge EVCO 60 which was under tow by the tug Storm Wave along the Fraser River in British Columbia. The dredger and barge sustained damage.


Media materials

News release

2018-06-26

Investigation report: Collision of a dredger with a barge, December 2017, BC
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-12-05

TSB deploys a team following a collision between a dredger and a barge in the South Arm of the Fraser River, British Columbia
5 December 2017 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators following a collision between a dredger and a barge in the South Arm of the Fraser River, British Columbia. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Clinton Rebeiro

Clinton Rebeiro started his career as a Deck Officer and currently holds a Transport Canada Master Mariner Certificate of Competency. In his 25 years of experience in the marine industry, Mr. Rebeiro has worked in several positions, both sea-going and shore bases, with ExxonMobil, Shell, and BC Ferries. His experience includes working with tankers, LNG carriers, and Ro-Ro passenger ferries, as well as piloting, commercial operations and ship vetting.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M17P0406

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 6 juin 2018.

Table des matières

Collision entre une barge et une drague

Drague FRPD 309
Fleuve Fraser (Colombie-Britannique)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 5 décembre 2017, la drague FRPD 309 a perdu sa propulsion et est entrée en collision avec la barge EVCO 60, qui était remorquée par le remorqueur Storm Wave sur le fleuve Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. La drague et la barge ont subi des dommages. Le BST a ouvert une enquête sur l'accident.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués

2018-06-26

Rapport d'enquête : Collision d'une drague contre un chaland, décembre 2017 (C.-B.)
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2017-12-05

Le BST envoie une équipe suite à une collision entre une drague et une barge dans le bras Sud du fleuve Fraser (Colombie-Britannique)
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), le 5 décembre 2017 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs suite à une collision entre une drague et une barge dans le bras Sud du fleuve Fraser (Colombie-Britannique). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Clinton Rebeiro

Clinton Rebeiro a commencé sa carrière comme officier de pont et est titulaire d'un certificat de capacité de capitaine au long cours de Transports Canada. Au cours de ses 25 ans dans le secteur maritime, M. Rebeiro a occupé plusieurs postes, à la fois en mer et à terre, avec ExxonMobil, Shell et BC Ferries. Il a travaillé, entre autres, sur des navires-citernes, des méthaniers et des traversiers rouliers pour passagers, et a de l'expérience en pilotage, en navigation commerciale et en évaluation des navires.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :