Marine transportation safety investigation M17C0232

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 02 November 2018.

Table of contents

Person overboard and subsequent loss of life

General cargo vessel Amazoneborg
Trois-Rivières, Quebec

View final report

The occurrence

On , the general cargo vessel Amazoneborg was docked at Section 19 in the Port of Trois-Rivières, Quebec. The third officer was assigned to take the vessel’s draft measurements. Some time after 2210 Eastern Daylight Time, the third officer went to read the amidships draft marks on the vessel’s seaward side; he was later reported missing. Search and rescue authorities were notified of the situation and conducted a search of the area without success. The third officer’s body was recovered on 07 October 2017 near Champlain, Quebec.


Media materials

News release

2018-11-02

Unsuitable equipment, inadequate work procedures led to 2017 person overboard and loss of life on the vessel Amazoneborg in Trois-Rivières, Quebec
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-09-30

TSB deploys a team to the Port of Trois-Rivières, Québec, following an occurrence involving the cargo ship Amazoneborg
Québec, Quebec, 30 September 2017 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the Port of Trois-Rivières, Québec, following an accident involving the cargo ship Amazoneborg. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Mélissa St-Jean

Mélissa St-Jean has been a senior marine investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2016.

Prior to joining the TSB, Mélissa has worked at the Canadian Coast Guard for 10 years in various positions and recently as acting Regional Supervisor in Search and Rescue. She also worked for 4 years as Marine Safety Coordinator for the Société des traversiers du Québec.

In addition to being a certified ship's navigation officer, Ms. St-Jean has a college degree in navigation from the Marine Institute of Quebec and a Bachelor of Maritime Studies from Memorial University of Newfoundland.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M17C0232

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 2 novembre 2018.

Table des matières

Personne à la mer et perte de vie subséquente

Navire de marchandises diverses Amazoneborg
Trois-Rivières (Québec)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 29 septembre 2017, le navire de marchandises diverses Amazoneborg était amarré à la section 19 du port de Trois-Rivières (Québec). Le troisième officier a reçu l’ordre de vérifier le tirant d’eau du navire. Quelque temps après 22 h 10, heure avancée de l’Est, le troisième officier s’est rendu au milieu du navire pour aller relever les marques de tirant d’eau du côté mer; il a plus tard été porté disparu. On a avisé les autorités de recherche et sauvetage, et celles-ci ont effectué une recherche dans le secteur, mais en vain. Le corps du troisième officier a été retrouvé le 7 octobre 2017 près de Champlain (Québec).


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqués

2018-11-02

De l’équipement et des procédures de travail inadéquats ont mené à la chute par-dessus bord et à la mort d’une personne sur le navire Amazoneborg à Trois-Rivières (Québec) en 2017
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2017-09-30

Le BST envoie une équipe au port de Trois-Rivières (Québec) suite à un accident impliquant le navire Amazoneborg
Québec (Québec), le 30 septembre 2017 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs au port de Trois-Rivières (Québec) suite à un événement impliquant le navire de charge "Amazoneborg". Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mélissa St-Jean

Mélissa St-Jean est enquêtrice maritime principale au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) depuis 2016.

Avant de se joindre au BST, Mélissa a travaillé 10 ans à la Garde côtière canadienne dans divers postes et récemment, comme superviseure régionale intérimaire en recherche et sauvetage. Elle a aussi travaillé 4 ans comme coordonnatrice en sécurité maritime pour la Société des traversiers du Québec.

En plus d'être une officière de navigation brevetée, Mme St-Jean a un diplôme d'études collégiales en technique de navigation de l'Institut maritime du Québec ainsi qu'un baccalauréat en études maritimes de l'Université Mémorial de St. John's à Terre-Neuve.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :