Marine transportation safety investigation M16P0378

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 31 May 2018.

Table of contents

Grounding and subsequent sinking

Grounding and subsequent sinking
Articulated tug-barge Tug Nathan E. Stewart and tank barge DBL 55
Seaforth Channel, 10 nm west of
Bella Bella, British Columbia

View final report

The occurrence

On 13 October 2016, shortly after 0100 Pacific Daylight Time, the articulated tug-barge composed of the tug Nathan E. Stewart and the tank barge DBL 55 went aground on Edge Reef near Athlone Island, at the entrance to Seaforth Channel, approximately 10 nautical miles west of Bella Bella, British Columbia. The tug's hull was eventually breached and approximately 110 000 L of diesel oil were released into the environment. The tug subsequently sank and separated from the barge. The tug was removed from the environment 33 days after the occurrence. Seven 208 L drums of diesel oil–soiled absorbent pads were collected from the site.


Safety communications

Recommendations

2018-05-31

TSB Recommendation M18-01: the Department of Transport require that watchkeepers whose work and rest periods are regulated by the Marine Personnel Regulations receive practical fatigue education and awareness training in order to help identify and prevent the risks of fatigue

TSB Recommendation M18-02: the Department of Transport require vessel owners whose watchkeepers' work and rest periods are regulated by the Marine Personnel Regulations to implement a comprehensive fatigue management plan tailored specifically for their operation, to reduce the risk of fatigue.

All marine recommendations

Media materials

News release

2018-05-31

TSB issues new recommendations to reduce the risk of fatigue in the marine industry
Read the news release

Backgrounders

2018-05-31

Investigation findings (M16P0378) 2016 grounding and sinking of the Nathan E. Stewart
Read the backgrounder

2018-05-31

Response to the grounding and sinking of the Nathan E. Stewart – Roles and responsibilities (M16P0378)
Read the backgrounder

2018-05-31

Fatigue in the marine industry: risk factors, mitigation strategies and fatigue management
Read the backgrounder

2018-05-31

New and previous TSB recommendations to address the risk of fatigue in the marine sector
Read the backgrounder

Speeches

2018-05-31

News conference forthe release of the Marine Investigation Report M16P0378 (Nathan E. Stewart) – Opening remarks
Read the speech
Kathy Fox, TSB Chair

Media advisory

2018-05-29

TSB to hold a news conference to release its investigation report into the October 2016 grounding and subsequent sinking of the tug Nathan E. Stewart near Bella Bella, British Columbia
Read the media advisory

Deployment notice

2016-10-24

TSB launches investigation into the grounding of the tug Nathan E. Stewart and tanker barge DBL 55 in Seaforth Channel, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia, 24 October 2016 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) has launched an investigation into the grounding of the tug Nathan E. Stewart while pushing the barge DBL 55 in Seaforth Channel, British Columbia that occurred on October 13.

2016-10-17

TSB looks into the grounding of the tug Nathan E. Stewart
Richmond, British Columbia, 17 October 2016 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is following up on the grounding of the Nathan E. Stewart in Seaforth Channel, British Columbia. The TSB is gathering information and will conduct interviews with the crew of the vessel as it continues to assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Glenn Budden

Glenn Budden has been a Senior Marine Investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada since 2007.

Prior to joining the TSB, Mr. Budden owned and operated a commercial fishing business. He has 35 years' experience in the fishing industry, operating, managing and advising on several types of fishing vessels and fisheries on both coasts. In his later years, in the fishing industry, he facilitated the first industry led stability education program (Fishsafe) to fishermen in British Columbia.

Mr. Budden holds a Fishing Masters II certificate, and his last vessel was the seiner Ocean Venture.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 2 investigation. These investigations are complex and involve several safety issues requiring in-depth analysis. Class 2 investigations, which frequently result in recommendations, are generally completed within 600 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M16P0378

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 31 mai 2018.

Table des matières

Échouement et naufrage subséquent

Remorqueur-chaland articulé
Remorqueur Nathan E. Stewart et chaland-citerne DBL 55
Passage Seaforth, 10 nm à l'ouest de
Bella Bella (Colombie-Britannique)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 13 octobre 2016, peu après 1 h (heure avancée du Pacifique), l'ensemble remorqueur-chaland articulé composé du remorqueur Nathan E. Stewart et du chaland-citerne DBL 55 s'est échoué sur le récif Edge, près de l'île Athlone, à l'entrée du passage Seaforth, à environ 10 milles marins à l'ouest de Bella Bella (Colombie-Britannique). Une brèche s'est ouverte dans la coque du remorqueur et a laissé fuir quelque 110 000 L de carburant diesel dans l'environnement. Ensuite, le remorqueur a coulé et s'est séparé du chaland. On a retiré le remorqueur de l'eau 33 jours après l'événement à l'étude. On a récupéré du site 7 barils de 208 L de coussins absorbants imbibés de carburant diesel.


Communications en matière de sécurité

Recommandations

2018-05-31

Recommandation M18-01 du BST : le ministère des Transports exige que les officiers de quart dont les périodes de travail et de repos sont régies par le Règlement sur le personnel maritime participent à un cours pratique sur la fatigue et une formation en sensibilisation pour les aider à reconnaître et à atténuer les risques de fatigue.

Recommandation M18-02 du BST : le ministère des Transports oblige les exploitants de navires qui emploient des officiers de quart dont les périodes de travail et de repos sont régies par le Règlement sur le personnel maritime à mettre en œuvre un programme de gestion de la fatigue complet et adapté à leurs activités, et ce, pour réduire les risques de fatigue.

Toutes les recommandations maritime


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-05-31

Le BST émet de nouvelles recommandations pour réduire les risques de fatigue dans le secteur maritime
Lire le communiqué de presse

Documents d'information

2018-05-31

Faits établis de l'enquête (M16P0378) échouement et naufrage du Nathan E. Stewart en 2016
Lire le documents d'information

2018-05-31

Intervention à la suite de l'échouement et du naufrage du Nathan E. Stewart – Rôles et responsabilités (M16P0378)
Lire le documents d'information

2018-05-31

Fatigue dans le secteur maritime : facteurs de risque, stratégies d'atténuation et gestion de la fatigue
Lire le documents d'information

2018-05-31

Nouvelles et anciennes recommandations du BST sur les risques liés à la fatigue dans le secteur maritime
Lire le documents d'information

Discours

2018-05-31

Publication du rapport d'enquête maritime M16P0378 (Nathan E. Stewart) : Mot d'ouverture
Lire le discour

Avis aux médias

2018-05-29

Le BST tiendra une conférence de presse pour rendre public son rapport d'enquête sur l'échouement et naufrage subséquent du remorqueur Nathan E. Stewart près de Bella Bella (Colombie-Britannique) en octobre 2016
Lire l'avis aux médias

Avis de déploiement

2016-10-24

Le BST lance une enquête sur l’échouement du remorqueur Nathan E. Stewart et le pétrolier DBL 55 dans le chenal Seaforth (Colombie-Britannique)
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 24 octobre 2016 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a lancé une enquête sur l’échouement du Nathan E. Stewart alors qu’il poussait le pétrolier DBL 55 dans le chenal Seaforth (Colombie-Britannique) le 13 octobre dernier.

2016-10-17

Le BST examine l’échouement du remorqueur Nathan E. Stewart
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 24 octobre 2016 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a lancé une enquête sur l’échouement du Nathan E. Stewart alors qu’il poussait le pétrolier DBL 55 dans le chenal Seaforth (Colombie-Britannique) le 13 octobre dernier.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Glenn Budden

Glenn Budden est un enquêteur maritime principal au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada depuis 2007.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Budden possédait et exploitait une entreprise de pêche commerciale. Il possède 35 ans d'expérience au sein de l'industrie de la pêche en exploitation, en gestion et en services-conseils concernant plusieurs types de bateaux de pêche et les pêches sur les deux côtes. Dans ses dernières années au sein de l'industrie de la pêche, il a animé le premier programme d'éducation sur la stabilité des bateaux de pêche (Fishsafe/Pêcher en toute sécurité) pour des pêcheurs de la Colombie-Britannique.

M. Budden détient un brevet de capitaine de pêche, deuxième classe et son dernier bateau était le senneur « Ocean Venture ».


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :