Marine investigation M16P0162

Collision with vessel and sinking

The occurrence

On 24 May 2016, the tug Albern, with 2 people on board, reported being struck by the tug C.T. Titan. The tug Albern subsequently sank in Northumberland Channel, British Columbia. The tug C.T. Titan recovered the 2 crewmembers of the tug Albern from the water. Approximately 800 litres of diesel fuel and 200 litres of hydraulic oil were reported to be on board of the tug Albern.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman began his career as an engineering cadet and currently holds a Transport Canada Class-1 (Motor) Certificate of Competency. In his 25 years of experience as an engineer, he has held several positions both sea-going and shore-based, with such companies and organizations as: Neptune Orient Lines (now American President Lines); Mediterranean Shipping Company; Barber Ship Management; and BC Ferries. His experience includes work with tankers, chemical tankers, bulk carriers, container ships, and roll-on-roll-off passenger ferries.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2016-05-26

TSB deploys a team to Nanaimo, British Columbia, following a collision between two tug boats
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M16P0162

Collision avec navire et naufrage

L'événement

Le 24 mai 2016, le remorqueur Albern, avec 2 personnes à bord, a déclaré avoir été frappé par le remorqueur C.T. Titan. Le remorqueur Albern a coulé dans le passage Northumberland (Colombie-Britannique). Le remorqueur C.T. Titan a repêché les 2 membres de l'équipage du remorqueur Albern de l'eau. Il a été signalé qu'environ 800 litres de carburant diesel et 200 litres de huile hydraulique étaient à bord du remorqueur Albern.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’élève ingénieur, et est détenteur d’un certificat de mécanicien de première classe de Transports Canada. Au fil de ses 25 années d'expérience en tant qu’ingénieur, il a occupé plusieurs postes à la fois en mer et à terre, au sein d’entreprises et d’organisations telles que : Neptune Orient Lines (maintenant American President Lines); Mediterranian Shipping Company; Barber Ship Management et BC Ferries. Il possède de l’expérience de travail relative aux pétroliers, chimiquiers, vraquiers, porte-conteneurs et transbordeurs rouliers de passagers.

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Media

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-05-26

Le BST envoie une équipe à Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique) suite à une collision entre deux bateaux remorqueurs
Lire l'avis de déploiement