Marine investigation M16P0062

Grounding

The occurrence

On 02 March 2016, the tug H.M. Scout lost its tow when the tow line parted 0.4 nautical miles south of Victoria, British Columbia. The barges H.M. Tacoma and H.M. Blue Horizon, subsequently went aground on the south coast of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. The broken tow line fouled the tug’s propeller and the tug returned to Victoria at slow speed. There were no reported injuries or pollution.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ramanbir Mangat

Ramanbir Mangat started his career as a cadet with Stolt Tankers and has held several positions with them, both seagoing and shore based. He has over 25 years of experience in the shipping industry that encompasses work with oil and chemical tankers in commercial operations, technical ship management, environmental management systems, and ship vetting.

Ramanbir received a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Middlesex University in London, England, a Higher National Diploma in Nautical Science from Warsash Maritime Academy in Southampton, and a Certificate in Project Management from University of British Columbia in Vancouver. He holds a certificate of competency as Master Mariner from Canada and the U.K.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

Report

2017-05-10

Marine Investigation Report M16P0062
Grounding of barges
Tug H.M. Scout towing barges HM Blue Horizon
and HM Tacoma
Victoria, British Columbia
02 March 2016

Media

News release
 
2016-05-10

Poor risk management led to March 2016 grounding of two barges near Victoria, British Columbia
Read the news release

Deployment notices
 
2016-03-04

TSB deploys a team to Victoria, British Columbia, following grounding of two barges under tow
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M16P0062

Échouement

L'événement

Le 2 mars 2016, le remorqueur H.M. Scout a perdu sa remorque lorsque le câble de remorque s’est rompu, 0,4 miles marins au sud de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique. Les barges H.M. Tacoma et H.M. Blue Horizon se sont échouées par la suite sur la côte sud de l'île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Le câble de remorquage cassé a nui à l'hélice du remorqueur, et le remorqueur est revenu à Victoria à faible vitesse. Aucune pollution ni aucun blessé n’a été signalé.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ramanbir Mangat

Ramanbir a commencé sa carrière en tant que cadet avec Stolt Tankers, où il a occupé plusieurs postes de service en mer et à terre. Il a plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie du transport maritime et a travaillé avec des pétroliers/chimiquiers dans des opérations commerciales, la gestion technique des navires, les systèmes de gestion environnementale et l'évaluation des navires.

Ramanbir a obtenu une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université Middlesex à Londres, un diplôme national supérieur en sciences nautiques de la Warsash Maritime Academy à Southampton et un certificat en gestion de projets de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver. Il est titulaire d'un certificat de capacité de capitaine au long cours du Canada et du Royaume-Uni.

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Rapport

2017-05-10

Rapport d'enquête maritime M16P0062
Échouement de chalands
Remorqueur H.M. Scout remorquant les chalands
HM Blue Horizon et HM Tacoma
Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
le 2 mars 2016

Media

Communique
 
2017-05-10

Une gestion inadéquate des risques a entraîné l’échouement de deux barges près de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) en mars 2016
Lire le communique

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-03-04

Le BST envoie une équipe à Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) suite à l’échouement de deux chalands lors du remorquage
Lire l'avis de déploiement