Marine transportation safety investigation M16C0014

This investigation has been completed. The report was released on 21 June 2017.

Table of contents

Capsizing

Fishing vessel Bessie E.
Mamainse Harbour, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On 17 February 2016, the fishing vessel Bessie E, with 5 people on board, experienced a propulsion failure, while returning to Mamainse Harbour, Lake Superior, Ontario. The 5 crew members jumped to shore before the vessel capsized. There were no reported injuries. The vessel was a total constructive loss.


Media materials

Deployment notice

2016-02-17

TSB deploys a team to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, to assess an occurrence involving the fishing vessel Bessie E
Québec, Quebec, 17 February 2016 — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, following the capsizing and sinking of the fishing vessel Bessie. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Luc Charbonneau

Luc Charbonneau has been a senior marine investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) since 2010.

Prior to joining the TSB, M Charbonneau worked at Transport Canada, Marine safety, as Canadian vessel inspector, port state control inspector, pollution prevention officer and examiner in the Quebec region.

He has 20 years sailing experience on several types of foreign going ships and coastal trading vessels. He holds a certificate of first class marine engineering.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquêtes et rapports d’enquête sur la sécurité du transport maritime M16C0014

Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le juin 2017.

Table des matières

Chavirement

Bateau de pêche Bessie E.
Port de Mamainse (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 17 février 2016, le bateau de pêche Bessie E, avec 5 personnes à bord, a subi une panne de propulsion à son retour au port de Mamainse, lac Supérieur (Ontario). Les 5 membres de l’équipage ont pu sauter à terre avant que le bateau chavire. Personne n’a été blessé. Le navire est une perte réputée totale.

Ressources pour les médias

Avis de déploiement

2016-02-17

Le BST envoie une équipe à Sault-Ste-Marie (Ontario) pour évaluer un incident impliquant le bateau de pêche Bessie E
Québec (Québec) le 17 février 2016 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs à Sault-Ste-Marie (Ontario) suite au chavirement et naufrage du bateau de pêche Bessie. Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Luc Charbonneau

Luc Charbonneau est enquêteur principal dans le domaine maritime au Bureau de la sécurité transports du Canada (BST) depuis le début de 2010.

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Charbonneau a travaillé à Transports Canada, Sécurité maritime, à titre d’inspecteur de navires canadiens, d’inspecteur du contrôle par l’état du port, d’officier de prévention de pollution et d’examinateur dans la région de Québec.

Il compte 20 ans d’expérience de navigation avec divers types de navires au long cours et côtiers. Il est titulaire d’un brevet de première classe en mécanique marine.

Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :