Marine investigation M16C0005

Grounding

The occurrence

On 22 January 2016, the container vessel MSC MONICA ran aground 1 nautical mile NNE of Deschaillons-sur-Saint-Laurent, Quebec. The vessel was refloated the following day, with the assistance of three tugs, and escorted to Québec City, Quebec, to undergo the necessary inspections. No injuries or pollution were reported but the vessel sustained minor damage to the hull and the propeller sustained major damage.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of François Dumont

François Dumont has been an investigator with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada since 2013. Before joining the TSB, Mr. Dumont sailed for 12 years in the merchant navy aboard bulk carriers, tankers, tugs, general cargo ships and icebreakers. He also was a Marine Safety Inspector with Transport Canada for 3 years. Mr. Dumont holds a diploma from the Institut Maritime du Québec in Marine Mechanical Engineering Techniques, a First Class Marine Engineer’s Certificate for motor vessels, and a Fourth Class Marine Engineer’s Certificate for steam vessels.

Photos

Click on the images to see them in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2016-01-22

TSB deploys a team to the grounding of a container ship near Deschaillons-sur-Saint-Laurent, Quebec
Read the deployment notice

Enquête maritime M16C0005

Échouement

L'événement

Le 22 janvier 2016, le navire porte-conteneurs MSC MONICA s’est échoué 1 mile nautique nord-nord-est de Deschaillons-sur-Saint-Laurent (Québec). Le navire a été renfloué le lendemain, avec l'aide de trois remorqueurs, et escorté jusqu'à Québec (Québec) pour être soumis aux inspections nécessaires. Aucun blessé ni aucune pollution n’ont été signalés, mais le navire a subi des dommages mineurs à la coque et l'hélice a subi des dommages majeurs.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de François Dumont

François Dumont est un employé du Bureau de la sécurité des transports depuis 2013. Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Dumont a navigué pendant 12 ans dans la marine marchande à bord de vraquiers, pétroliers, remorqueurs, navires de cargaisons générales et brise-glaces. Il a également été inspecteur de la Sécurité Maritime, Transports Canada, pendant trois ans. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en techniques de génie mécanique de marine de l’Institut maritime du Québec et possède un brevet d’officier mécanicien de première classe, navires à moteur et de quatrième classe, navires à vapeur.

Photos

Cliquez sur les images pour les voir en taille complet.

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Media

Avis de déploiement
 
2016-01-22

Le BST envoie une équipe suite à l’échouement d’un navire de porte-conteneurs près de Deschaillons-sur-Saint-Laurent (Québec)
Lire l'avis de déploiement