Air transportation safety investigation A18W0081

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 18 January 2019.

Table of contents

Baggage compartment fire

WestJet
Boeing 737-700, C-GWJT
Calgary, Alberta

View final report

The occurrence

On , a Boeing 737-700 aircraft operated by WestJet, was conducting flight WJA113 from Calgary, Alberta, to Vancouver, British Columbia, with 53 passengers and 5 crew members on board. While climbing through 9000 feet after departure, the flight crew received a cargo fire warning. An emergency was declared and a return to Calgary was requested. After landing, the cargo hold was inspected and evidence was found of a fire in passenger baggage.


Media materials

News release

2018-01-18

Investigation report: Baggage compartment fire on WestJet flight 113, June 2018
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-06-14

TSB deploys a team of investigators to Calgary International Airport, Alberta

Edmonton, Alberta, 14 June 2018 - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to Calgary International Airport, Alberta, following a cargo compartment fire aboard a Boeing 737 operated by Westjet. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Mike Adam

Mike Adam joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in early 2014, bringing with him extensive experience in aviation line maintenance and quality assurance for transport category air carriers. Mr. Adam also has experience with various single and twin engine aircraft, both piston and turbine powered, as well as amateur-built aircraft.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These investigations are limited in scope, and while the final reports may contain limited analysis, they do not contain findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 220 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18W0081

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 18 janvier 2019.

Table des matières

Incendie de soute à bagages

WestJet
Boeing 737-700 (C-GWJT)
Calgary (Alberta)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le 14 juin 2018, un avion Boeing 737-700 exploité par WestJet effectuait le vol WJA113 de Calgary (Alberta) à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) avec 53 passagers et 5 membres d’équipage à bord. Pendant que l’avion montait à 9 000 pieds après le décollage, l’équipage de conduite a reçu un avertissement d’incendie dans la soute. Une situation d’urgence a été déclarée, et on a demandé de retourner à Calgary. Après l’atterrissage, la soute a été inspectée; on a trouvé des preuves d’un incendie dans les bagages des passagers.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-01-18

Rapport d’enquête : Incendie de soute à bagages à bord du vol 113 de WestJet, juin 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-06-14

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à l’aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta)

Edmonton (Alberta), le 14 juin 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs à l’aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta) suite à un incendie dans la soute d’un Boeing 737 exploité par Westjet. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mike Adam

Mike Adam s’est joint au Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) au début de 2014, fort d’une vaste expérience en maintenance aéronautique en piste et dans le domaine de l'assurance de la qualité pour les transporteurs aériens qui exploitent des avions de transport. M. Adam a aussi de l'expérience avec différents avions monomoteurs et bimoteurs -- à pistons ou à turbine -- et avec des avions de construction amateur.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: