Air transportation safety investigation A18W0052

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 19 October 2018.

Table of contents

Loss of nose wheel on touchdown

Air Georgian Ltd.
Beechcraft 1900D, C-GZGA
Calgary International Airport, Alberta

View final report

The occurrence

On , a Beechcraft 1900D aircraft operated by Air Georgian Ltd. was conducting Air Canada Express flight 7228 from Cranbrook, British Columbia to Calgary, Alberta with two crew members and nine passengers. Upon landing in Calgary, the aircraft lost its nose wheel just after touchdown. The aircraft then slid on the axle and lower nose gear casting for some 1200 feet down the runway before stopping. The tower controller noticed the shower of sparks and dispatched the airport rescue and firefighting services. Once the aircraft came to rest on the runway, the flight crew evacuated the passengers. No injuries were reported. The aircraft was subsequently towed to the hangar. The TSB is investigating.


Media materials

News release

2018-10-22

Investigation report: April 2018 loss of nose wheel on touchdown at Calgary International Airport, Alberta
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-04-10

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a landing incident at the Calgary International Airport, Alberta

Edmonton, Alberta, 10 April 2018 - The Transportation Safety Board is deploying a team of investigators to a landing incident that occurred last night involving an Air Georgian Ltd. aircraft operating as an Air Canada Express flight at the Calgary International Airport, Alberta. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Gerrit B. Vermeer

Gerrit B. Vermeer started his professional aviation career by joining the Mission Aviation Fellowship and moving to Southern Africa. During his time there, he served as a line pilot and acted as chief pilot and operations manager. Upon returning to Canada, Mr. Vermeer flew for a charter operator out of the Edmonton International Airport, serving the oil and gas industry. In 2008, he joined Transport Canada (TC) and, for five and a half years, worked as an inspector in the Enforcement Branch. He then transferred to the Operations Division of the Prairie and Northern Region and, for the next year, served as a principal operations inspector for a number of northern operators.

Mr. Vermeer has a Bachelor's degree in Mission Aviation Technology and currently holds a fixed wing airline transport pilot licence with approximately 6400 hours of flight time. He also holds a Canadian aircraft maintenance engineer license, as well as an airframe and power plant technician license issued by the USA's Federal Aviation Administration.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18W0052

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 17 octobre 2018.

Table des matières

Perte de roue avant à l’atterrissage

Perte de la roue avant à l’atterrissage
Air Georgian Ltd.
Beechcraft 1900D (C-GZGA)
Aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef Beechcraft 1900D d'Air Georgian effectuait le vol 7228 d'Air Canada Express depuis Cranbrook, en Colombie-Britannique, jusqu'à Calgary, en Alberta, avec deux membres d'équipage et neuf passagers à bord. En arrivant à Calgary, l'appareil a perdu sa roue avant tout juste après l'atterrissage. Il a ensuite glissé sur l'essieu et la partie inférieure du train avant sur quelque 1200 pieds de la piste avant de s'arrêter. Le contrôleur aérien a remarqué une pluie d'étincelles et a fait appel aux services de sauvetage et de lutte contre les incendies de l'aéroport. Une fois l'appareil immobilisé sur la piste, l'équipage a évacué les passagers. Aucune blessure n'a été signalée. L'appareil a été remorqué vers les hangars.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-10-22

Rapport d’enquête : perte de la roue avant à l’atterrissage à l’aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta) en avril 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-04-10

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un incident à l'atterrissage à l’aéroport international de Calgary (Alberta)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un incident à l'atterrissage qui est survenu hier soir à l'aéroport international de Calgary en Alberta, impliquant un appareil d'Air Georgian Ltd. exploité comme un vol d'Air Canada Express. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Gerrit B. Vermeer

Gerrit B. Vermeer a commencé sa carrière dans l'aviation professionnelle en se joignant à la Mission Aviation Fellowship et en déménageant en Afrique australe. Il a alors travaillé en tant que pilote de ligne, ainsi qu’à titre de chef pilote intérimaire et directeur des opérations intérimaires. De retour au Canada, M. Vermeer a travaillé comme pilote pour un exploitant de vols d'affrètement de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière, à l'aéroport international d'Edmonton. En 2008, il s’est joint à Transports Canada (TC) et, pendant cinq ans et demi, a travaillé comme inspecteur au sein de la direction responsable de la mise en application des lois. Il s’est ensuite joint à la division des Opérations de la Région des Prairies et du Nord et, dans l'année qui a suivi, il a servi à titre d’inspecteur principal des opérations pour plusieurs exploitants du Nord.

M. Vermeer est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en technologie de l’aviation des missions. En outre, il détient une licence de pilote de ligne et compte environ 6400 heures de vol sur des appareils à voilure fixe. Il est également titulaire d’un brevet canadien de technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs, ainsi que d’une licence de technicien de cellules d'aéronef et de groupes motopropulseurs délivrée par la Federal Aviation Administration des États-Unis.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: