Air transportation safety investigation A18P0091

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 09 January 2019.

Table of contents

Collision with trees after takeoff

Piper PA-28-140, C-GVZP
Sechelt Aerodrome, British Columbia

View final report

The occurrence

On , a privately operated Piper PA-28-140 departed Runway 29 at the Sechelt Aerodrome, British Columbia, on a local sightseeing flight with the pilot and three passengers on board. Wind was predominately from the west but was variable and gusty. The aircraft's rate of climb immediately after take-off was low, and as the aircraft overflew the Chapman Creek ravine off the departure end of the runway, the aircraft stopped climbing and flew into trees on the far side of the ravine. The pilot was fatally injured and the three passengers received minor injuries.


Media materials

News release

2019-01-09

Investigation report: July 2018 collision with trees after takeoff near Sechelt Aerodrome, British Columbia
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-07-06

TSB deploys an investigator following a collision with terrain of a private light aircraft in Sechelt, BC

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying an investigator to Sechelt, BC, following the collision with terrain of a private aircraft during take-off. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Travis Shelongosky

Travis Shelongosky has been involved in aviation since childhood. The son of a Canadian Forces fighter pilot, he was building and flying model aircraft before he was a teenager, and hang gliding by age 15. Mr. Shelongosky is a licensed pilot and a graduate of the British Columbia Institute of Technology's Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) program. After receiving his AME licence, he worked for Central Mountain Air and Harbour Air maintaining a variety of aircraft, including the Beech 1900, Douglas DC-3, de Havilland DHC-2 and DHC-3, and Cessna 180 and 185. He also built, flies and maintains an amateur-built aeroplane.

Mr. Shelongosky joined the TSB as a technical investigator in 1998 and became a senior investigator in 2001. During his tenure with the TSB, his aviation education has continued with on-the-job learning as well as numerous courses ranging from material failure analysis to investigative interviewing.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18P0091

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 09 janvier 2019.

Table des matières

Collision avec des arbres après le décollage

Piper PA-28-140, C-GVZP
Aérodrome de Sechelt (Colombie-Britannique)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef privé Piper PA-28-140 a décollé de la piste 29 à l’aérodrome de Sechelt, en Colombie-Britannique, pour un vol touristique local. Le pilote et trois passagers étaient à bord. Le vent, variable et en rafales, soufflait principalement de l’ouest. Le taux de montée de l’aéronef était faible immédiatement après le décollage. Alors que l’aéronef survolait le ravin du crique Chapman au-delà de l’extrémité de départ de la piste, l’aéronef a cessé de monter et a percuté des arbres de l’autre côté du ravin. Le pilote a été mortellement blessé, et les trois passagers ont subi des blessures mineures.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-01-09

Rapport d’enquête : collision avec des arbres après le décollage près de l’aérodrome de Sechelt (C.-B.) en juillet 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-07-06

Le BST envoie un enquêteur à Sechelt, Colombie-Britannique, suite à la collision avec le relief d’un aéronef léger privé

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie un enquêteur à Sechelt, en Colombie-Britannique, suite à la collision avec le relief d’un aéronef léger privé lors de son décollage. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Travis Shelongosky

Travis Shelongosky s'intéresse à l'aviation depuis son enfance. Fils d'un pilote de chasse des Forces canadiennes, il construisait et faisait voler des modèles réduits d'avions avant même d'être adolescent, et à l'âge de 15 ans, il pilotait déjà un deltaplane. Il est un pilote breveté et un diplômé du programme de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef de l'Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique. Après avoir obtenu sa licence de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef, il a travaillé pour Central Mountain Air et Harbour Air, où il était responsable de la maintenance d'une variété d'aéronefs, y compris le Beech 1900, le Douglas DC-3, les de Havilland DHC-2 et DHC-3, et les Cessna 180 et 185. De plus, il pilote et assure la maintenance d'un avion de construction amateur qu'il a lui-même construit.

M. Shelongosky s'est joint au BST à titre d'enquêteur technique en 1998 et est devenu enquêteur principal en 2001. Dans le cadre de sa carrière au BST, sa formation en aviation se poursuit par l'apprentissage en milieu de travail et grâce à une variété de cours, allant de l'analyse des défaillances matérielles aux entrevues d'enquête.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: