Air transportation safety investigation A18O0096

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 07 January 2019.

Table of contents

Impact with terrain

Bellanca 8KCAB, C-GDLP
Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , a privately-registered Bellanca 8KCAB was conducting a flight from the Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport. Shortly after takeoff, the pilot declared a Mayday, and the aircraft entered a right-hand turn. The turn then steepened and the aircraft entered a nose-down attitude before colliding with the ground in a field approximately 500 feet west of the departure end of Runway 15. The aircraft was destroyed by a post-impact fire and the single occupant was fatally injured.


Media materials

News release

2019-01-07

Investigation report: July 2018 collision with terrain near Deer Lake, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-07-12

TSB deploys a team of investigators to an aircraft accident at Toronto/Buttonville Municipal Airport, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to West Nipissing, ON, following the collision with terrain of a private aircraft yesterday. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Ken Webster

Ken Webster joined the TSB team in 2005, and works as a Regional Senior Investigator (Air) out of the Ontario office. Mr. Webster has been investigator-in-charge in numerous TSB investigations, and assisted in several others, involving airplane, helicopter and air traffic control.

Prior to the TSB he worked in civil aviation for 20 years, in several different capacities. As a pilot, Mr. Webster has flown numerous aircraft types throughout Canada and the US.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18O0096

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 07 janvier 2019.

Table des matières

Impact avec le relief

Bellanca 8KCAB (C-GDLP)
Aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef privé Bellanca 8KCAB effectuait un vol à partir de l'aéroport municipal de Buttonville, près de Toronto. Peu de temps après le décollage, le pilote a déclaré un état d’urgence et l'avion a amorcé un virage à droite. Ensuite, le virage s'est accentué et l'avion a piqué avant de heurter le sol dans un champ à environ 500 pieds à l'ouest de l'extrémité de départ de la piste 15. L'avion a été détruit par un incendie après l’impact, et son occupant a été mortellement blessé.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-01-07

Rapport d’enquête : impact avec le relief près de l’aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (Ontario) en juillet 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-07-12

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un accident d'avion à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville (Ontario)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un accident d'avion survenu à l'aéroport municipal de Toronto/Buttonville, en Ontario. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ken Webster

Ken Webster s’est joint à l'équipe du BST en 2005 et travaille comme enquêteur principal régional (Air) au sein du bureau régional de l'Ontario. M. Webster a été enquêteur désigné dans de nombreuses enquêtes du BST, et a participé à plusieurs autres enquêtes touchant des avions, des hélicoptères et le contrôle de la circulation aérienne. Avant le BST, il assumé plusieurs fonctions en aviation civile pendant 20 ans. En tant que pilote, M. Webster a piloté de nombreuses types d'aéronefs partout au Canada et aux États-Unis.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: