Air transportation safety investigation A18O0093

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 04 December 18.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Champion 7GCAA, C-FXTJ
Deer Lake, West Nipissing, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On , a privately owned float-equipped Champion 7GC46.4981416 aircraft took off from Deer Lake, West Nipissing, Ontario with two persons on board. The aircraft was observed to be following the perimeter of the lake at low altitude when it pitched nose up and the wing dropped. The aircraft entered into a spin and impacted wooded terrain in a steep nose-down attitude. A fire erupted after the impact and both occupants were fatally injured.


Media materials

News release

2018-12-04

Investigation report: July 2018 collision with terrain near Deer Lake, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-07-09

TSB deploys a team of investigators to Lake Nipissing following a collision with terrain of a private light aircraft

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to West Nipissing, ON, following the collision with terrain of a private aircraft yesterday. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Peter Machete

Peter Machete began in aviation in 1977, joining the Canadian Aviation Safety Board, the precursor to the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB), in November 1985.

Mr. Machete left the TSB in May 1996 to go back to the airline industry, and returned to the TSB in May 2003. During his time away, Peter performed maintenance audits on airlines and did insurance surveyor work. He undertook various familiarization courses on several aircraft types and he has numerous license endorsements. Peter also completed courses in safety management systems for airlines, aircraft retrieval, aircraft performance and structures, and advanced rotary wing investigations.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18O0093

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 4 décembre 2018.

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief

Champion 7GCAA, C-FXTJ
Lac Deer, Nipissing Ouest (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef privé Champion 7GCAA muni de flotteurs a décollé du lac Deer, à West Nipissing (Ontario), avec deux personnes à bord. On a observé que l'avion volait le long du périmètre du lac à basse altitude lorsqu’il s’est mis en cabré et que l'aile s’est enfoncée. L'avion est entré en vrille et a percuté un terrain boisé dans un piqué prononcé. Un incendie s’est déclaré après l'impact, et les deux occupants ont été mortellement blessés.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-12-04

Rapport d’enquête : collision avec relief près du lac Deer (Ontario), juillet 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-07-09

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs au Lac Nipissing, suite à la collision avec le relief d’un aéronef léger

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à Nipissing Ouest, en Ontario, suite à la collision avec le relief d’un aéronef léger privé survenue hier. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Peter Machete

Peter Machete a fait ses débuts dans l’aviation en 1977 et il s’est joint au Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne (organisme précurseur du BST) en novembre 1985.

Il a quitté le BST en mai 1996 pour revenir à l’aviation commerciale, mais a réintégré le BST en mai 2003. Au cours de cette absence, il a réalisé des vérifications de la maintenance à titre d’expert pour des sociétés aériennes ou des assureurs. Il a suivi divers cours pour se familiariser avec plusieurs types d’avions et a ajouté de nombreuses qualifications à ses licences.

Il a également suivi des cours sur les systèmes de gestion de la sécurité pour les sociétés aériennes, la récupération d’aéronef, les performances et structures des appareils ainsi que les enquêtes poussées sur les accidents d’aéronef à voilure tournante.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: