Air transportation safety investigation A18A0018

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 19 October 2018.

Table of contents

In-flight electrical arcing

Porter Airlines Inc.
Bombardier DHC-8-402, C-GLQG
Fredericton, New Brunswick, 45 nm SW

View final report

The occurrence

On , a Bombardier DHC-8-400 aircraft operated by Porter Airlines, was conducting a flight from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Montreal, Quebec with 72 passengers and 4 crew members on board. At about 45 nautical miles southwest of the Fredericton International Airport, New Brunswick, passengers alerted the cabin crew of a burning odour and sparks emanating from behind an overhead bin. The crew informed the pilots and inspected the overhead bin area. The odour began to dissipate, and no further sign of fire was apparent. Still, the pilots declared a MAYDAY and initiated a diversion to the Fredericton Airport. The crew conducted a rapid deplaning immediately after landing. No injuries were reported and passengers were transported to the terminal. The TSB is investigating.


Media materials

News release

2018-10-19

Investigation report: March 2018 in-flight electrical arcing near Fredericton Airport, New Brunswick
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-03-10

TSB deploys a team of investigators the Fredericton Airport, New Brunswick, following an aircraft incident

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, 10 March 2018 - The Transportation Safety Board is deploying a team of investigators following a diversion to the Fredericton Airport, New Brunswick, due to an electrical fire aboard an aircraft operated by Porter Airlines. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm joined the TSB in 2010 as a Regional Senior Technical Investigator in the Air Investigations Branch at the Dartmouth office, Nova Scotia. Prior to that, he worked as a contracted employee for the 3 Canadian Forces Flying Training School (3 CFFTS) at the Southport Aerospace Centre located near Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, and held the position of Fixed Wing Chief Engineer.

Mr. Hamm has more than 25 years of aviation experience working for several fixed wing and rotary wing operations as a licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer. He has also enjoyed recreational flying as a private pilot, and as a glider student pilot.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête sur la sécurité du transport aérien A18A0018

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 19 octobre 2018.

Table des matières

Production d’arc électrique en vol

Porter Airlines Inc.
Bombardier DHC-8-402 (C-GLQG)
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick), 45 nm SW

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un avion Bombardier DHC-8-400 exploité par Porter Airlines effectuait un vol entre Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) et Montréal (Québec) avec à son bord 72 passagers et 4 membres d'équipage. À environ 45 milles marins au sud-ouest de l'aéroport international de Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick), les passagers ont avisé l'équipage de cabine d'une odeur de brûlé et des étincelles qui émanaient de l'arrière d'un compartiment de rangement supérieur. L'équipage a informé les pilotes et a inspecté la zone autour du compartiment de rangement. L'odeur a commencé à se dissiper, et aucun autre signe d'incendie n'était présent. Malgré tout, les pilotes ont lancé un appel MAYDAY et amorcé un déroutement vers l'aéroport de Fredericton. L'équipage a effectué un débarquement rapide immédiatement après l'atterrissage. Aucune blessure n'a été signalée et les passagers ont été transportés au terminal.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-10-19

Rapport d’enquête : arc électrique en vol près de l’aéroport de Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) en mars 2018
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-03-10

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à l’aéroport de Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick), suite à un incident d’aéronef

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), le 10 mars 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs à l'aéroport de Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) suite au déroutement d'un aéronef exploité par Porter Airlines à cause d'un incendie électrique. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Murray Hamm

Murray Hamm s’est joint à la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques du BST en 2010 à titre d’enquêteur technique principal régional au bureau de Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Auparavant, il travaillait comme employé contracuel à la 3e École de pilotage des Forces canadiennes (3 EPFC) au Southport Aerospace Centre, situé près de Portage La Prairie, au Manitoba, où il occupait le poste de chef mécanicien des aéronefs à voilure fixe.

M. Hamm a plus de 25 ans d’expérience en aviation comme technicien breveté d’entretien d’aéronefs à voilure fixe et à voilure tournante. Il s’est également adonné aux vols récréatifs comme pilote privé et comme élève-pilote de planeur.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: