Air transportation safety investigation A18W0111

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 04 January 2019.

Table of contents

Collision with obstacle on takeoff

Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II, C-GVZJ
Black Diamond, Alberta

View final report

The occurrence

On , a privately operated Piper PA28-161 Warrior II aircraft was departing a cut hay field near Black Diamond, Alberta. During the take-off, the aircraft collided with hay bales and was destroyed by a post-impact fire. There were two people on board; one received fatal injuries and the other one was seriously injured.


Media materials

News release

2019-01-04

Investigation report: July 2018 collision with obstacle on takeoff near Black Diamond, Alberta
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2018-07-30

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a small aircraft accident near Black Diamond, Alberta

Edmonton, Alberta, 30 July 2018 - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to an air accident involving a Piper PA-28-161 near Black Diamond, Alberta. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Jeremy Warkentin joined the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) in 2017 as a Regional Senior Technical Investigator, in the Aviation Investigations Branch, at the regional office in Edmonton, Alberta.

Mr. Warkentin is a graduate of the British Columbia Institute of Technology’s Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) program and has more than 20 years of aviation experience working for several fixed wing operations as a licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, Quality Assurance Manager and Base/Production Manager. He holds both an M1 and M2 license, and has experience on aircraft ranging in size from the Cessna 152 to the Airbus A321.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 4 investigation. These are limited-scope investigations that may contain limited analysis, but do not include findings or recommendations. Class 4 investigations are generally completed within 200 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A18W0111

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 4 janvier 2019.

Table des matières

Collision avec le relief après le décollage

Piper PA-28-161 Warrior II (C-GVZJ)
Black Diamond (Alberta)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef privé Piper PA28-161 Warrior II a décollé d'un champ de foin coupé près de Black Diamond, en Alberta, lorsqu’il est entré en collision avec des balles de foin. L’aéronef a été détruit par un incendie après l’impact. Il y avait deux personnes à bord; l’une d’entre elles a été mortellement blessée et l’autre, grièvement blessée. Le BST mène une enquête.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2019-01-04

Rapport d’enquête : collision avec un obstacle au décollage près de Black Diamond (Alberta)
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2018-07-30

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un accident d’un petit aéronef près de Black Diamond (Alberta)

Edmonton (Alberta), le 30 juillet 2018 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur les lieux d'un accident aéronautique mettant en cause un Piper PA-28-161 près de Black Diamond, en Alberta. Le BST ira recueillir des informations et évaluer l'événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Jeremy Warkentin s'est joint à la Direction des enquêtes aéronautiques du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) en 2017 à titre d'enquêteur technique principal, au bureau régional d’Edmonton en Alberta.

M. Warkentin est diplômé du programme de technique d’entretien d'aéronefs du British Columbia Institute of Technology et compte plus de 20 ans d’expérience comme technicien d'entretien d'aéronefs, de gestionnaire de l'assurance de la qualité et gestionnaire de base / activités pour plusieurs exploitants d'aéronefs à voilure fixe. Il détient les licences en maintenance M1 et M2, et a travaillé avec des appareils de taille diverse d’une taille allant du Cessna 152 au Airbus A321.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 4. Ces enquêtes d’une portée limitée peuvent contenir une courte analyse, mais ne contiennent pas de faits établis ni de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 4 se concluent généralement en 200 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: