Aviation Investigation A17Q0030

Mid-air collision

The occurrence

On March 17, 2017, two Cessna 152 from Cargair Flying School, with a pilot on board each aircraft, were operating training flights from the St-Hubert airport, Quebec. During the flight, both aircraft collided and crashed at the shopping mall in St-Bruno, Quebec. One pilot suffered fatal injuries and the other pilot was seriously injured.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Isabelle Langevin

Isabelle Langevin joined the Air Investigation Branch at the TSB regional office in Dorval, Quebec as an Investigator Operations (Air) in September 2015. During her career, Isabelle worked as a flight instructor before working as a pilot mainly in Nunavik (Northern Quebec) flying DHC- 6, King Air and Dash 8. In 2006, she joined Nav Canada as an instrument procedures design specialist and as principal analyst. Since 2008, she held various positions at Transport Canada including that of Technical Team Lead, Flight Operations. Isabelle has a Bachelors degree in Political Science.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Link to the TSB Flickr page

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Media

Deployment notices
 
2017-03-17

TSB deploys a team of investigators to Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville, Quebec, following mid-air collision between two aircraft
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A17Q0030

Collision en vol

L'événement

Le 17 mars 2017, deux Cessna 152 de l’école de pilotage Cargair, ayant chacun un pilote à bord, effectuaient des vols d’entraînement à partir de l’aéroport de St-Hubert (Québec). Pendant le vol, les deux appareils sont entrés en collision et se sont écrasés au centre commercial de St-Bruno (Québec). Un des pilotes a subi des blessures mortelles et l’autre pilote a été grièvement blessé.

Carte de la région

Enquêteure designée

Photo de Isabelle Langevin

Isabelle Langevin s’est jointe à l’équipe de la Direction des Enquêtes (Air) au bureau régional du BST à Dorval (Québec) en septembre 2015 à titre d’enquêteur Opérations (Air). Au cours de sa carrière, Isabelle a travaillé comme instructeur de vol, avant de travailler à titre de pilote sur le DHC-6, King Air et Dash 8, principalement dans le Nunavik (Nord du Québec). En 2006, elle s’est jointe à Nav Canada à titre de spécialiste à la conception des procédures aux instruments et analyste principale. Depuis 2008, elle a occupé différents postes au sein de Transports Canada dont celui de Chef d’équipe technique, Opérations aériennes. Isabelle détient un Baccalauréat en Science politique.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2017-03-17

Le BST envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs à Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville (Québec) suite à une collision en vol entre deux aéronefs
Lire l'avis de déploiement