Aviation Investigation A17P0007

Table of contents

Collision with power lines

The occurrence

On 19 January 2017, a Victoria Flying Club Cessna 172 was conducting a training flight departing from Victoria Airport, British Columbia, with one student pilot and one instructor on board. During the flight, the aircraft struck power lines and crashed off the north end of Runway 31 at Duncan Airport, British Columbia. The instructor sustained serious injuries and the student pilot sustained minor injuries.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Travis Shelongosky

Travis Shelongosky has been involved in aviation since childhood. The son of a Canadian Forces fighter pilot, he was building and flying model aircraft before he was a teenager, and hang gliding by age 15. Mr. Shelongosky is a licensed pilot and a graduate of the British Columbia Institute of Technology's Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) program. After receiving his AME licence, he worked for Central Mountain Air and Harbour Air maintaining a variety of aircraft, including the Beech 1900, Douglas DC-3, de Havilland DHC-2 and DHC-3, and Cessna 180 and 185. He also built, flies and maintains an amateur-built aeroplane.

Mr. Shelongosky joined the TSB as a technical investigator in 1998 and became a senior investigator in 2001. He has participated in over 70 class 2 or 3 investigations, 15 of them as investigator-in-charge. During his tenure with the TSB, his aviation education has continued with on-the-job learning as well as numerous courses ranging from material failure analysis to investigative interviewing.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Link to the TSB Flickr page

See more high resolution pictures on the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Report

2018-02-13

Aviation Investigation Report A17P0007
Collision with trees and power lines after rejected landing
Victoria Flying Club
Cessna 172, C-GZXB
Duncan Aerodrome, British Columbia
19 January 2017


Media materials

News release

 
2018-02-13

Operational factors and pilot decision-making contributed to 2017 collision with trees and power lines at Duncan Aerodrome, British Columbia
Read the news release

Deployment notices

 
2017-01-19

TSB is deploying a team to the site of an aircraft accident in Duncan, British Columbia
Read the deployment notice

Enquête aéronautique A17P0007

Collision avec des lignes électriques

L'événement

Le 19 janvier 2017, un Cessna 172 du Victoria Flying Club effectuait un vol d'entraînement à partir de l'aéroport de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), avec un élève-pilote et un instructeur à bord. Pendant le vol, l'aéronef a percuté des lignes électriques et s'est écrasé à l'extrémité nord de la piste 31 de l'aéroport de Duncan (Colombie-Britannique). L'instructeur a été grièvement blessé et l'élève-pilote a subi des blessures mineures.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Travis Shelongosky

Travis Shelongosky s'intéresse à l'aviation depuis son enfance. Fils d'un pilote de chasse des Forces canadiennes, il construisait et faisait voler des modèles réduits d'avions avant même d'être adolescent, et à l'âge de 15 ans, il pilotait déjà un deltaplane. Il est un pilote breveté et un diplômé du programme de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef de l'Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique. Après avoir obtenu sa licence de technicien d'entretien d'aéronef, il a travaillé pour Central Mountain Air et Harbour Air, où il était responsable de la maintenance d'une variété d'aéronefs, y compris le Beech 1900, le Douglas DC-3, le de Havilland DHC-2 et DHC-3 et le Cessna 180 et 185. De plus, il pilote et assure la maintenance d'un avion de construction amateur qu'il a lui-même construit.

M. Shelongosky s'est joint au BST à Collision avec des lignes électriques d'enquêteur technique en 1998 et est devenu enquêteur principal en 2001. Il a participé à plus de 70 enquêtes de catégorie 2 ou 3, et à Collision avec des lignes électriques d'enquêteur désigné pour 15 de ces enquêtes. Dans le cadre de sa carrière au BST, sa formation en aviation se poursuit par l'apprentissage en milieu de travail ainsi qu'une variété de cours, de l'analyse des défaillances matérielles à l'entrevue d'enquête.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.


Médias

Avis de déploiement
 
2017-01-19

Le BST enverra une équipe sur le site d'un accident d'avion à Duncan (Colombie-Britannique)
Lire l'avis de déploiement