Air transportation safety investigation A17O0025

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 23 April 2018.

Table of contents

Runway excursion

Air Canada
Airbus Industrie A320-211, C-FDRP
Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On 25 February 2017, an Air Canada Airbus Industrie A320-211 (registration C-FDRP, serial number 122), operating as flight AC623, was on a scheduled flight from Halifax/Stanfield International Airport, Nova Scotia, to Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport, Ontario.

During the approach to Runway 15R, just prior to touchdown, the aircraft began to deviate to the right of the centreline. At 0002 Eastern Standard Time, shortly after touching down near the right edge of the runway surface, the aircraft deviated further to the right and entered the grassy area to the west of the runway. It travelled approximately 2390 feet through the grass and parallel to the runway before returning to the pavement. During the excursion, the aircraft struck 5 runway edge lights, causing minor damage to the left outboard wheel and the left engine cowling. There were no reported injuries. The event occurred during the hours of darkness.


Media materials

News release

2018-04-25

Poor visibility and limited visual cues contributed to February 2017 runway excursion at Toronto/Lester B. Pearson International Airport
Read the news release

2017-02-25

Runway excursion involving an Air Canada Airbus A320 at Toronto Pearson International Airport, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2017-02-25

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a landing incident at the Toronto Pearson International Airport, Ontario

Richmond Hill, Ontario, 25 February 2017 - The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ) to assess a landing incident. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of

Ewan Tasker has over 20 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in 2008, and is now a regional senior investigator based out of Richmond Hill, Ontario. Since joining the TSB, he has been the investigator-in-charge of more than 250 occurrences, including 11 major investigations.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Tasker flew commercially throughout North and South America, accrued over 7000 hours of flight time, and obtained airline transport pilot licences from 3 different regulatory bodies. During his “from-the-ground-up” career, he has worked every position, from baggage handler to chief pilot. Mr. Tasker is also a Transport Canada–licensed air traffic controller.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A17O0025

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 25 avril 2018.

Table des matiéres

Sortie de piste

Air Canada
Airbus Industrie A320-211 (C-FDRP)
Aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un Airbus Industrie A320-211 (immatriculé C-FDRP, numéro de série 122) exploité par Air Canada effectuait le vol régulier AC623 en partance de l'aéroport international Stanfield de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) à destination de l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario).

Durant l'approche vers la piste 15R, juste avant le toucher des roues, l'aéronef a commencé à dévier à la droite de l'axe de piste. À 0 h 02, heure normale de l'Est, peu après le toucher des roues près du bord de piste droit, l'aéronef a dévié encore plus vers la droite avant de s'engager sur la surface gazonnée à l'ouest de la piste. L'aéronef a parcouru environ 2390 pieds sur le gazon, parallèlement à la piste d'atterrissage, avant de remonter sur le revêtement htmlhalté. Durant la sortie de piste, l'aéronef a percuté 5 feux de bord de piste, ce qui a causé des dommages mineurs à la roue extérieure gauche et au capotage du moteur gauche. Personne n'a été blessé. L'événement est survenu à la noirceur.


Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2018-04-25

Une mauvaise visibilité et des repères visuels insuffisants ont contribué à une sortie de piste en février 2017 à l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto
Lire le communiqué de presse

2017-02-25

Sortie de piste à l'aéroport international Pearson de Toronto (Ontario) mettant en cause un Airbus A320 exploité par Air Canada
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2017-02-25

TSB deploys a team of investigators to a landing incident at the Toronto Pearson International Airport, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ) to assess a landing incident. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Ewan Tasker

Ewan Tasker possède plus de 20 ans d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en 2008 et occupe maintenant le poste d’enquêteur principal régional à Richmond Hill (Ontario). Depuis qu'il s’est joint au BST, il a été l'enquêteur désigné pour plus de 250 événements, dont 11 enquêtes majeures.

Avant de faire partie du BST, M. Tasker a fait du pilotage commercial en Amérique du Nord et du Sud, a accumulé plus de 7000 heures de vol et a obtenu des licences de pilote de ligne de 3 organismes de réglementation différents. Au cours de sa carrière qui l'a menée du sol jusque dans les airs, il a occupé tous les postes, de bagagiste à chef pilote. M. Tasker est également contrôleur de la circulation aérienne titulaire d'un permis de Transports Canada.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: