Aviation Investigation A17F0052

Table of contents

Missed approach

The occurrence

On 7 March 2017, a Boeing 737-800 aircraft operated by WestJet was conducting flight WJA2652 from Lester B. Pearson Airport in Toronto, Ontario, to Princess Juliana Airport (TNCM), in Saint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles. During the final approach to Runway 10 at TNCM, the aircraft descended too low and the flight crew executed a missed approach. A second approach was conducted and the aircraft landed without further event. No injuries were reported. The TSB is investigating.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Nora Vallée

Nora Vallée is a Senior Investigator with the International Operations and Major Investigations-Air division. Nora has more than 30 years of experience in aviation. A graduate in aviation at the College de Chicoutimi (CQFA), her career began in northern Quebec as a professional helicopter pilot. She then left the helicopters to pursue her career on airplanes by doing charter flights on different types of small multi-engines. She later became an instructor at Chicoutimi College. Passionate about aviation safety, she accepts the responsibilities of chief instructor and the safety program of the College.

In 2003, she joins Transport Canada (TC) where she held various positions throughout the years, such as Enforcement Investigator, Air Crew Examination Specialist and finally Minister's Observer and Technical Advisor on aircraft occurrence investigations.


Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.


Report

Final report

2018-06-04

Aviation Investigation Report A17F0052
Risk of collision with terrain
WestJet
Boeing 737-800, C-GWSV
Princess Juliana International Airport, Sint Maarten
07 March 2017


Media materials

News release

2018-06-04

Misidentification of runway in reduced visibility contributed to the March 2017 risk of collision with terrain of a WestJet flight in Sint Maarten
Read the news release

Enquête aéronautique A17F0052

Approche interrompue

L'événement

Le 7 mars 2017, un Boeing 737-800, exploité par WestJet, effectuait le vol WJA2652 de l'aéroport Lester B. Pearson de Toronto (Ontario) à l'aéroport Princess Juliana (TNCM) à Saint-Martin (Antilles néerlandaises). Lors de l'approche finale de la piste 10 à TNCM, l'avion est descendu trop bas et l'équipage de conduite a exécuté une approche interrompue. Une deuxième approche a été effectuée et l'avion a atterri sans autre événement. Aucune blessure n'a été signalée. Le BST mène une enquête.

Carte de la région

Enquêteure designée

Photo de Nora Vallée

Nora Vallée est enquêteure principale au sein de la Division des Opérations internationales et enquêtes majeures, Air. Nora a plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans l'aviation. Diplômée en aviation au Collège de Chicoutimi (CQFA), sa carrière débute dans le nord du Québec comme pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère. Elle a ensuite délaissé les hélicoptères pour poursuivre sa carrière sur les avions en effectuant des vols nolisés sur différents types de multi moteurs légers. Plus tard, elle devient instructeure au Collège de Chicoutimi (CQFA). Passionnée par la sécurité aérienne, elle accepte les responsabilités de chef instructeure ainsi que du programme de sécurité du Collège.

En 2003, elle rejoint Transports Canada (TC) où elle occupera divers postes au cours des années, comme enquêteure en matière d'application de la loi, spécialiste des examens des membres d'équipage de conduite et enfin comme conseiller technique et observateur ministériel lors des enquêtes sur les occurrences aéronautiques.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.