Aviation Investigation A16P0230

Difficulty controlling helicopter

The occurrence

On 30 December 2016, an Airbus AS355N operated by Blackcomb Helicopters LP, was on a flight that had originated from Squamish Airport (CYSE) in British Columbia with one pilot and one passenger on board. After climbing above the freezing level, the pilot experienced difficulty in controlling the helicopter. The pilot was able to steer the aircraft back to CYSE, and control returned to normal when the helicopter was on final approach and below the freezing level. The pilot was able to land the helicopter without further issues.‎ Preliminary examination did not reveal any damage or anomalies.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Bill Yearwood

Bill Yearwood got his first flying lessons on fixed-wing aircraft at 13 and was flying helicopters by the time he was 20. He holds an Airline Transport license, and has accumulated more than 10,000 flight hours in a wide variety of operations across Canada and in South America. These include: heli-logging, medevac, Arctic and offshore exploration, flight training and certification flight testing.

After 18 years of commercial flying, Mr. Yearwood joined Transport Canada in the Pacific region, where he worked as an Air Carrier Inspector and then as the Regional Manager of System Safety. During his time at Transport Canada he was a check pilot, helped draft the Canadian Aviation Regulations and helped perform audits of operations around the world.

Mr. Yearwood joined the TSB in 1999 as the Regional Manager and has worked as the Investigator-in-Charge on several aviation occurrences. He has worked diligently to improve safety in aviation, and is well known in the West Coast aviation community.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

Enquête aéronautique A16P0230

Problème de maîtrise d’un hélicoptère

L'événement

Le 30 décembre 2016, un hélicoptère Airbus AS355N exploité par Blackcomb Helicopters LP effectuait un vol à partir de l’aéroport de Squamish (CYSE)(Colombie-Britannique) avec à son bord un pilote et un passager. Une fois que l’hélicoptère est monté au-dessus du niveau de congélation, le pilote a éprouvé des difficultés à maîtriser l’appareil. Le pilote a réussi à ramener l’aéronef à CYSE, et la commande de l’aéronef est revenue à la normale alors que celui-ci se trouvait en approche finale et au-dessous du niveau de congélation. Le pilote a pu atterrir sans autre incident. Aucun dommage ni aucune anomalie n’ont été décelés lors de l’examen préliminaire.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Bill Yearwood

Bill Yearwood a suivi ses premiers cours de pilotage d'aéronefs à voilure fixe à l'âge de 13 ans et il pilotait des hélicoptères dès l'âge de 20 ans. Il est titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne et il totalise plus de 10 000 heures de vol effectuées un peu partout au Canada et en Amérique du Sud. Il a entre autres participé à des opérations d'hélidébardage, d'évacuation sanitaire et d'exploration en Arctique et au large des côtes, effectué de la formation en vol et mené des essais en vol de certification.

Après 18 années de pilotage commercial, M. Yearwood s'est joint à Transports Canada dans la région du Pacifique où il a occupé les postes d'inspecteur des transporteurs aériens puis de gestionnaire régional de la Sécurité du système. Alors qu'il était à l'emploi de Transports Canada, il a exercé les fonctions de pilote examinateur, aidé à la rédaction du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et participé à des vérifications opérationnelles partout dans le monde.

M. Yearwood est entré au BST en 1999 en tant que gestionnaire régional, et il a été l'enquêteur désigné dans le cadre de plusieurs enquêtes aéronautiques. Il a toujours travaillé activement pour améliorer la sécurité en aviation et il est bien connu du milieu aéronautique dans l'Ouest du pays.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.