Aviation Investigation A16P0161

Collision with terrain

The occurrence

On 2 September 2016, a Bell 206B helicopter operated by Far West Helicopters was operating in support of a remote mining operation, approximately 58 nautical miles east of Williams Lake, British Columbia. On final approach to the camp helipad, the helicopter experienced a loss of engine power and came to rest in a narrow creek bed adjacent to the landing pad. The pilot suffered serious injuries and the aircraft sustained significant damage.

Map of the area

Investigator-in-Charge

Photo of Jason Kobi

Jason Kobi, Regional Senior Investigator, Operations (Air), has 24 years of experience in civil aviation. He recently joined the TSB after a period of 5 years as a civil aviation inspector with Transport Canada. Before that, Mr. Kobi spent 12 years as a pilot, flying a number of types of aircraft including Bombardier CRJ, Dash 8 and British Aerospace Bae-146 aircraft. In addition to working as a line pilot, he was a line-training captain for the Dash 8 and was a ground-training instructor for the Bombardier CRJ.

Prior to his airline experience, Mr. Kobi flew extensively in British Columbia (BC) as a courier pilot on various types of aircraft. He also owned and operated a small charter company and flight school in BC where he held the position of chief pilot and chief flight instructor. Mr. Kobi holds an airline transport pilot licence with approximately 9,900 hours’ flight time, and acquired his commercial helicopter license in May 2015.

Photos

Select image to see it in full size.

Download high resolution copies of these pictures from the TSB Flickr page.

Transportation Safety Board investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation:

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

Enquête aéronautique A16P0161

Collision avec le relief

L'événement

Le 2 septembre 2016, un hélicoptère Bell 206B exploité par Far West Helicopters était en service à l’appui d’une exploitation minière dans une région isolée, à environ 58 miles nautiques à l’est de Williams Lake (Colombie-Britannique). Alors qu’il était en approche finale de l’hélisurface du camp, l’hélicoptère a subi une perte de puissance moteur, et s’est immobilisé dans un lit de ruisseau étroit, adjacent à l’aire d’atterrissage. Le pilote a été grièvement blessé, et l’aéronef a subi des dommages importants.

Carte de la région

Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Jason Kobi

M. Kobi, enquêteur principal régional, Opérations (Air), possède 24 années d’expérience en aviation civile. Il s’est joint récemment au BST après avoir travaillé cinq ans en qualité d’inspecteur de l’aviation civile à Transports Canada. Auparavant, M. Kobi a été pilote pendant douze ans. Au cours de cette période, il a pris les commandes de divers types d’avions, dont des CRJ et Dash 8 de Bombardier et des BAe-146 de British Aerospace. En plus d’avoir été pilote de ligne, il a été commandant de bord pour la formation en ligne du Dash 8 et instructeur pour la formation au sol du CRJ de Bombardier.

Avant cela, M. Kobi a acquis une expérience appréciable de vol à bord de divers types d’avions dans le cadre de son poste de pilote au sein d’un service de messagerie en Colombie-Britannique. Il a aussi été propriétaire et exploitant d’un affréteur et d’une école de pilotage en Colombie-Britannique, où il occupait les fonctions de pilote en chef et d’instructeur de vol en chef. M. Kobi détient une licence de pilote de ligne et cumule environ 9 900 heures de temps de vol et, en mai 2015, il a reçu sa licence de pilote professionnel d'hélicoptère.

Photos

Icone du site Flickr

Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.