Air transportation safety investigation A15O0188

Update: The TSB has completed this investigation. The report was published on 12 July 2017.

Table of contents

Collision with terrain

Cessna 182H, C-GKNZ
Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport, Ontario

View final report

The occurrence

On 09 November 2015, a privately registered Cessna 182H (registration C-GKNZ, serial number 182-56161) with 1 pilot and 1 passenger on board, departed from the Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport, Ontario, at 1917 Eastern Standard Time under night visual flight rules for a flight to Tillsonburg Airport, Ontario. Once airborne, the aircraft immediately started a right climbing turn for approximately 90° of heading, and then continued its turn for an additional 180° while descending before colliding with the terrain. The aircraft clipped trees in a nose-down attitude with a significant angle of bank to the right before striking the ground on a rocky downward slope. The 2 occupants were fatally injured and a post-impact fire destroyed most of the aircraft. The aircraft was equipped with an emergency locator transmitter, but it was not activated by impact forces. The accident occurred during the hours of darkness.

Media materials

News release

2017-07-12

Risks of night flying in areas with limited lighting highlighted in November 2015 fatal collision with terrain near Parry Sound, Ontario
Read the news release

Deployment notice

2015-11-10

TSB deploys a team of investigators to the site of an aircraft accident near the Parry Sound airport, Ontario

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is deploying a team of investigators to the site of an accident involving a Cessna 182 near the Parry Sound airport, Ontario. The TSB will gather information and assess the occurrence.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence

Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Mario Boulet

IIC name Mario Boulet has over 30 years of civil aviation experience. He joined the TSB in 2015 and is now a Regional Senior Investigator based out of Dorval, Quebec.

Before joining the TSB, Mr. Boulet worked during 8 years for Transport Canada as a civil aviation safety inspector after a career in the private sector for various approved maintenance organizations, aircraft manufacturers and airlines where he occupied positions from aircraft maintenance engineer to Person Responsible for Maintenance (PRM), including Minister Delegate for a major aircraft manufacturer.

Since 2006, Mr. Boulet also became an expert in the manufacturing and operation of Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS).

Mr. Boulet holds an aircraft maintenance engineer license from Transport Canada and a private pilot license.


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport aérien A15O0188

Mise à jour : Le BST a terminé cette enquête. Le rapport a été publié le 12 juillet 2017.

Table des matiéres

Collision avec le relief

Cessna 182H, C-GKNZ
Aéroport municipal de la région de Parry Sound (Ontario)

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , un aéronef Cessna 182H privé (immatriculé C-GKNZ et portant le numéro de série 182-56161) a décollé de l'aéroport municipal de la région de Parry Sound (Ontario) à 19 h 17, heure normale de l'Est, avec un pilote et un passager à son bord, pour effectuer un vol de nuit selon les règles de vol à vue en direction de l'aéroport de Tillsonburg (Ontario). Immédiatement après le décollage, l'aéronef a amorcé un virage vers la droite en montée qui a produit un changement de cap d'environ 90°, puis a poursuivi le virage sur 180° de plus en descente avant d'entrer en collision avec le relief. L'aéronef a fauché des arbres en piqué avec un angle élevé d'inclinaison vers la droite avant de percuter le sol sur une pente descendante rocheuse. Les 2 occupants ont été mortellement blessés et un feu qui s'est déclaré après la collision a détruit la plus grande partie de l'aéronef. L'aéronef était doté d'une radiobalise de repérage d'urgence qui n'a pas été activée par les forces d'impact. L'accident est survenu pendant les heures d'obscurité.

Ressources pour les médias

Communiqué de presse

2017-07-12

Une collision mortelle avec le relief survenue en novembre 2015 près de Parry Sound (Ontario) fait ressortir les risques liés aux vols de nuit en région peu éclairée
Lire le communiqué de presse

Avis de déploiement

2015-11-10

Le BST envoie une équipe d'enquêteurs sur le site d'un accident aéronautique survenu près de l'aéroport de Parry Sound (Ontario)

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) envoie une équipe d’enquêteurs sur le site d’un accident impliquant un appareil de type Cessna 182 survenu près de de l’aéroport de Parry Sound (Ontario). Le BST recueillera des informations et évaluera l’événement.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Mario Boulet

Mario Boulet cumule plus de 30 années d'expérience en aviation civile. Il s'est joint au BST en 2015 et occupe maintenant le poste d'enquêteur principal régional à Dorval (Québec).

Avant de se joindre au BST, M. Boulet a travaillé pendant 8 ans pour Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, après avoir fait carrière au sein de différents organismes de maintenance agréés, de constructeurs aéronautiques et de lignes aériennes, où il a occupé divers postes, tels que ceux de technicien en entretien d'aéronefs, de personne responsable de la maintenance (PRM) et de représentant du Ministre pour un grand manufacturier aéronautique.

Depuis 2006, M. Boulet a également acquis une expertise dans la fabrication et l'exploitation de systèmes aériens sans pilotes (UAS).

M. Boulet est titulaire d'une licence de technicien d'entretien aéronautique de Transports Canada, ainsi que d'une licence de pilote privé.


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Ceci est une enquête de catégorie 3. Ces enquêtes sont des études d’un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité et sont parfois accompagnées de recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification: